We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely short stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lyme Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lyme Bay House
Ranked #4 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“lovely short stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Smashing stay, comfortable, spotlessly clean room and very pleasant and well kept overall. Nicki and Ian are very welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts are amazing, so forget the diet! Cereals, fresh fruit salad and freshly cooked to order full breakfasts, with plentiful tea and coffee. Nice location, just a short walk up the hill from Dawlish, with a coastal walk nearby. We didn't realise that free WiFi was available, which would have been helpful. We would certainly return here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Jayne & John, thank you very much for your compliments we really appreciate it. We did not realise that you were not aware that we have Free WiFi for guests. In future we need to make it clearer to guests and advise them of the password at Check-In. You are right about our location. We are very lucky to be so centrally situated and in an ideal place for exploring the area by walking, cycling, by car, by bus or by train. The railway journeys from Dawlish to Dawlish Warren, Starcross and Exeter in one direction and to Teignmouth and Newton Abbot in the other are particularly special. Dawlish railway station is only a 5 minutes walk away. There is also the ferry from Starcross to Exmouth to enjoy which makes a great day out. Thanks again for staying at Lyme Bay House. We hope to see you again sometime. Regards Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    41
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
39
142
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Nicki welcomed me and partner at short notice, lovely clean room,(comfiest bed!) had all that you would need and more.

Superb breakfast. Offering wide range of cereals, fresh fruit salad, and hearty cooked. Could actually taste the flavour, wasn't drenched in grease like some places.

Short walk into dawlish, and even not far by foot to the lovely dawlish warren if weather allowes.

Will defiantly return!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kateruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks very much for your very kinds compliments. We cook all breakfasts fresh to order to ensure that the quality and presentation is as good as it possibly can be. We are very centrally situated and only a few minutes walk from the town centre of Dawlish and as you say a pleasant walk to Dawlish Warren. Lyme Bay House is an ideal base for walking and cycling or using buses and trains to explore the area. We hope to see you again soon hopefully for a little longer the next time. Regards Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our third stay at Lyme Bay seeing family and it will not be our last. We have stayed in other places in Dawlish but none compare to here. On arrival Nikki was warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Both Ian and Nikki are extremely hospitable hosts. The breakfast is quite a feast. The rooms are comfortable and the location is perfect for what we needed. Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiewhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much Jackie. We are always so pleased when regular customers come back. We really do appreciate your kind compliments and glad that you enjoyed your stay once again. Regards Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very friendly welcome from Nikki+Ian, Nice room overlooking the sea, Breakfast was lovely, very filling each morning , spotlessly clean, met some lovely people who became friends very quickly. Great base to visit the surrounding area. nothing negative to say.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Lisa & Steve, thanks for spending time with us at Lyme Bay House. You were both great company and got on so well with our other guests. You really did pack a lot into the week and made the most of visiting the many places there are to explore in the local area. We hope to see you again sometime, regards Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our first holiday in so many years and we booked it without really knowing what to expect we can honestly say we were not disappointed and the lovely warm welcome when we arrived was second to none!! Our room was extremely clean and had everything we needed. Our breakfast each morning was superb along with the service. I cannot fault this bed and breakfast at all.

Room Tip: Definitely go for this one very welcoming!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Julia & Alan, thanks so much for a thoroughly entertaining week and many thanks for your valued compliments. We really appreciate it.

We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your long overdue holiday with us.

It was lovely to see all of our guests getting on so well together. Please do stay in touch and come and see us again, Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just arrived back in Shropshire after a wonderful sunny week in Devon. Nikki and Ian were very accommodating and such fun. Breakfast was really very good, which was all cooked beautifully and plenty of it. Our room was large with a sea view and very clean with all amenities . Lyme Bay House is also located conveniently for exploring south Devon. We would highly recommend Lyme Bay House and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeandcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jane and Charles, thank you so much for your very kind comments.

You are absolutely right, Lyme Bay House, Dawlish is an ideal place to explore Exeter, South Devon, the English Riviera and Dartmoor.

Being so close to the railway station – only a few hundred yards – you can start by experiencing the wonderful coastal railway line built by Brunel and featured on the BCC TV program Coast.

There are fantastic sea and river views to Exeter one way and Newton Abbot the other.

It is also very worthwhile getting the train to Paignton and then the steam from there to Kinswear and Dartmouth.

We hope to see you again sometime, regards Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Thank you Nikki and Ian for a lovely stay especially the breakfasts which were enormous with fresh good quality products cooked well. Our room was spacious and clean with a double and single bed,room4.Ian was helpful suggesting restaurants etc. Nikki was great fun and friendly especially when she accidently gave me the wrong breakfast (Where are my sausages lol) .It is better to book directly with Lime Bay for best rates

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffeetot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Barbara and Dave, many thanks for your company we really enjoyed your time with us. Also, thank you very much for your very kind comments – we really do appreciate it. See you again soon. Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lammas Park House
Lammas Park House
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyme Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyme Bay House

Property: Lyme Bay House
Address: 34 West Cliff, Dawlish EX7 9DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyme Bay House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyme Bay House is quality family run Bed and Breakfast. It is a 4 Star Visit England Guest House located in the picturesque South Devon resort of Dawlish. We are renowned for our hospitality and sumptuous freshly cooked breakfasts, tastefully appointed spotlessly clean rooms and extremely comfortable beds.All rooms are En-Suite and have Flat Screen TVs with Freeview. Lyme Bay House is situated within a very short walk to Dawlish Town Centre, Dawlish Railway Station, a National Express bus stop and Stagecoach bus stops. We are within a few minutes walk from Dawlish Beach, Brunel’s famous sea-front railway viaduct, the Black Swans of Dawlish and The Lawn & Gardens. The same Dawlish that was much loved by amongst others, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie and the poet John Keats. Just a short stroll away there are shops, Tea Rooms, Coffee Shops, the famous Gay’s Creamery and several pubs. Lyme Bay House is an ideal location for train-spotting, golf, cycling, walking and bird watching. It is also very central for exploring the area by car, train or bus including Exeter, Powderham, Starcross, Cockwood, Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, Holcombe, Teignmouth, Shaldon, Newton Abbot, The Teign Valley and Dartmoor. Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains.Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains. We are only 25 minutes by car and even less by train from Exeter. If you want to simply get away for a while and relax Lyme Bay House has a comfortable Lounge and Reception area where you are welcome to relax and read or watch the 42” Flat Screen TV. We also have a Fully Licensed Bar. Lyme Bay House has its own on-site Car Park with a space for every room at no additional charge. We also offer free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lyme Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyme Bay House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing