We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home from home”
Review of Lyme Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lyme Bay House
Ranked #6 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

In need of a decent nights sleep and a hot shower after a weeks camping with 11 kids we were passing Lyme Bay and spotted a vacancy sign. We were greeted with a warm smile by Nikki who made us feel very welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable with all the little touches you appreciate - tea, coffee, toiletries. Feeling almost human again breakfast the next day was leisurely, plentiful and delicious. Thanks for a lovely stay Nikki. We will definitely see you again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joleighton1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

We can imagine how you must have felt after camping for a week with all those children and are pleased that you found comfort during your stay at Lyme Bay House.

Hopefully, you will be able to stay a little longer next time. We offer a “3 for 2” Special offer Rate from October up to New Year’s Eve.

Thank you for your compliments!

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Lyme Bay House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great stay only stayed for a night Nikki and Ian are very kind rooms are clean and tidy just the best b&b ever defiantly stay again thanks Nikki and Ian for a wonderful time at this lovely B&B i just wished the room was available for longer

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Nathan, thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that we were fully booked for the next few nights and we could not accommodate you for your entire stay in Dawlish.

We are pleased that you managed to find accommodation with our friends in Dawlish. Next time, please book earlier, especially in July and August. We would love to have had you and your family with us for longer.

We heard that you did do the Paignton – Dartmouth- Totnes Steam Train & River Boat Round Robin after all which must have brilliant with weather being so good.

We hope to see you next year!

Thanks again

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here as part of a whirlwind trip to the UK.
Nikki and Ian were simply amazing - absolutely nothing was too much trouble and they really are committed hosts. The breakfasts were fantastic and they made our trip to Dawlish very special. So glad we stayed here - was a taste of real Devon hospitality. Ian recommended Cary Arms in Torquay which was a truly memorable meal out. He even wrote down all the train times to get there and back!
Thank you both - us Kiwis loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tania_raumati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Tania

Thank you so much for your really kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Even more so, that you found our advice and recommendations helpful. There are plenty of great places to go in and around Dawlish itself but for those that want to explore just a little further afield there are many more.

Babbacombe is only 10 miles away and apart from the wonderful Cary Arms (ask for the outside Captain’s Table at no extra charge), there is Babbacombe Model Village, The Downs, Babbacombe Theatre, Bygones and of course the award winning Hanbury’s Fish Restaurant.
Lyme Bay House is ideally situated to explore the whole of South Devon including Torquay, Plymouth, Dartmoor, The South Hams, Teignmouth, Dawlish Warren, Exeter and Exmouth by car, bus or train.

In and around Dawlish, there are some lovely cycle rides and of course the South West Coastal Path for walkers.

Thanks again for staying with us on your whirlwind UK trip – we hope to see you again sometime.

Regards

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here from Monday to Friday in early August. Nikki and Ian were very welcoming and made us feel at home. The room was very comfortable with all en suite facilities. The breakfasts served were excellent and met all our needs with such a varied menu from fresh fruit/cereals to wonderful full english breakfasts. We used the bar on one of the nights and we were treated as old friends by Nikki and Ian - this just added to our enjoyment. Their recommendations for local eating establishments was faultless and we enjoyed all our meals. Undoubtedly we will return in future as we now feel that Nikki and Ian are our distant friends. Thank you to Ian and Nikki. x

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear David & Ann

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very satisfying to know that you found our advice and recommendations helpful. We want our guests to have an exceptional time when visiting Dawlish and the surrounding area so we feel that it important that they know the best places to go especially for evening meals.

Some guests prefer to do their own research or take “pot luck” and find places for themselves.
That is of course fine with us. However, the vast majority welcome a few suggestions which we are always pleased to offer.

Upon check-in all guests are offered a Dawlish Map showing the location of Lyme Bay House and other local amenities. This is quite helpful for locating some of the places just outside the main areas around The Lawn.

Thank you for your compliments about our breakfasts and Nikki’s Fresh Fruit Salad – melon, pineapple, grapes, strawberries et al – she really appreciates it.

We look forward to seeing you both again sometime.

Regards

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

It is situated close to the centre of Dawlish with great off street parking, the owners are attentive and helpful to your needs which for us was finding somewhere for 10 of us to eat on a Friday night!!
Breakfast is superb with plenty of choice and all hand cooked to order

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarrob28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Sarah & Simon, thank you for choosing Lyme Bay House for your recent stay in Dawlish, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

We understand that you all had a fantastic time at the Wedding. Hopefully, we will see you here again in Dawlish sometime.

Regards Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at Lyme Bay House Dawlish, from Sunday to wednesday and have had a great time. The double en-suite room was very nice,clean and comfortable. We had a very warm friendly welcome from Ian who was very helpful giving us advice on places to eat and places to see. Breakfast was outstanding it set us up for the rest of the day. Nikki is a very bubbly lady and an excellent hostess, nothing was to much trouble for Ian & nikki, we would highly recommend a stay here just a short stroll down the hill to the beach, restaurants, bars and train station. We will definitely stay there again. Chris & jackie,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Jackie & Chris

Thank you very much we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes we are ideally situated for getting around the area by both bus and train. Bus stops are right outside our entrance for trips in both the Starcross & Exeter direction one way and Teignmouth & Newton Abbot the other.

Also, the railway station is only 5 minutes walk for train travel to Exeter, Barnstaple (the Tarka Line), Exmouth, Teignmouth, Newton Abbot, Torquay, Totnes, Plymouth and Penzance. If you feel like a scenic train ride followed by some exploration of other nearby towns then we offer a good base to do so. There is a passenger ferry from Teignmouth back-beach to Shaldon. There is also the passenger ferry from near Starcross railway station to Exmouth. During the summer there are regular boat trips from Dawlish sea front breakwater.

Many of our guests travel around quite a lot once they are with us, often leaving their car in the Car Park and using local transport.

We have several good places to eat within a few minutes walk and more a short journey away some in the countryside. We are always pleased to offer advice on good places to eat - so please ask if this helps. During the summer season, to avoid disappointment, it is often worthwhile to book a restaurant at the same time as booking your stay at Lyme Bay House. If required, we can do this for you.

Thank you both again.

Regards Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely bed breakfast, we stayed in the four poster room, large room with very good en-suite, friendly hosts, quiet but within walking distance to station and Dawlish, big delicious breakfast, easy parking, 10\10. Thanks Ian and nikki.

Room Tip: Four poster is best
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Michelle & Michael, thanks you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you found us having not been here again since before we arrived over 8 years ago. As you say, we have made some changes and improvements during our time here. Glad you enjoyed your romantic weekend away! Kind regards Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
710 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
248 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyme Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyme Bay House

Address: 34 West Cliff, Dawlish EX7 9DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range: £70 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyme Bay House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyme Bay House is quality family run Bed and Breakfast. It is a 4 Star Visit England Guest House located in the picturesque South Devon resort of Dawlish. We are renowned for our hospitality and sumptuous freshly cooked breakfasts, tastefully appointed spotlessly clean rooms and extremely comfortable beds.All rooms are En-Suite and have Flat Screen TVs with Freeview. Lyme Bay House is situated within a very short walk to Dawlish Town Centre, Dawlish Railway Station, a National Express bus stop and Stagecoach bus stops. We are within a few minutes walk from Dawlish Beach, Brunel’s famous sea-front railway viaduct, the Black Swans of Dawlish and The Lawn & Gardens. The same Dawlish that was much loved by amongst others, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie and the poet John Keats. Just a short stroll away there are shops, Tea Rooms, Coffee Shops, the famous Gay’s Creamery and several pubs. Lyme Bay House is an ideal location for train-spotting, golf, cycling, walking and bird watching. It is also very central for exploring the area by car, train or bus including Exeter, Powderham, Starcross, Cockwood, Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, Holcombe, Teignmouth, Shaldon, Newton Abbot, The Teign Valley and Dartmoor. Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains.Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains. We are only 25 minutes by car and even less by train from Exeter. If you want to simply get away for a while and relax Lyme Bay House has a comfortable Lounge and Reception area where you are welcome to relax and read or watch the 42” Flat Screen TV. We also have a Fully Licensed Bar. Lyme Bay House has its own on-site Car Park with a space for every room at no additional charge. We also offer free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Lyme Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyme Bay House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing