We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Sands”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had visited this park previously and went again on the Sun vouchers. We had booked a bronze standard caravan (2 bed rooms) and found that they had upgraded us to silver with no extra charge which was a nice way to start. The caravan itself was very nice and looked like it had been well kept. The location of the site was very good for walking down to the centre of Dawlish. The site was very well kept but we found that the entertainment was not the best and we felt mocked when the staff used lines such' Bet you didn't think you'd get this with your vouchers' ! Even though the staff were very good with children. The site itself was fine and I hope the entertainment staff change seasonally. We are going back again in September.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank TrueTravelChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us, and am sorry to read the you found the entertainment was not the best. I am at a loss why staff would mock guests and use such lines as you describe as they would have no way of knowing how our guests book their holidays. The majority of our guests during non peak times do book using sun vouchers and the entertainment during these times would be no different to during peak times. Sometimes we change staff seasonally although it is favoured by most our guests to see familiar faces within the ents team when visiting year after year. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in September

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Booked a gold+ caravan (93) for end of July / beginning of August 2 weeks prior to going for a reduced price. It was our first caravan holiday with our two girls (1 & 5) and we had no idea what to expect. Checked in at 2:15pm with no problems and then my wife and I were pleasantly surprised by the how clean the caravan was (nice job Becca) and its' layout (similar to a small flat).
We used the indoor swimming pool every day, it was always busy but not overly crowded and the staff were always present and friendly. The onsite shop is slightly expensive, but there are local shops / supermarkets close to the site. We did not use the onsite the entertainment venue or food facilities as we were out and about most of the day.
The location in South Devon is great with local access to beaches, ferries and trains to reach other locations.
We would definitely consider coming again (but not at full price).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vashtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your review, Its lovely to read that you had a nice holiday. As an exsisting customer you will now be able to take advantage of our book again discounts and special offers. Please call the park to find out more. we look forward to welcoming you back to the park in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Had a last minute caravan holiday at Dawlish Sands and could not have picked a better week for the weather, Glorious!
Our gold caravan was spacious and well laid out, but the position on the site (next to the pools) meant that we had a constant stream of people wandering past our caravan door all day long. I know that privacy is not expected at at caravan park, but some people are just ignorant as they pass you whilst you are eating etc......
Park in general was fine, only (major) problem we had was that within the first 5 minutes of sitting down in the clubhouse with a drink we were asked for ID for my son and his girlfriend.(who are both old enough to drink and have never been asked for ID before) Unfortunately, his girlfriend had not brought hers as she didn't think it would be needed and we were told in no uncertain terms that we would be removed should we be seen purchasing drinks for her. I completely understand the need to control alcohol on these sites, but the manner in which we were told was very rude, so we took our business elsewhere for the rest of the week. This is a real shame as we enjoy the shows on these sites, but we were not willing to spend our money somewhere that we were made to feel so unwelcome.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Thebellsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

I am glad that the weather was good during your stay as this seems to be a rarity at the moment! I am sorry to read that the staff were rude in the complex and can assure you this is not the norm. I will be speaking to them to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Dawlish Sands ROCKS!! if you want a great british holiday, with fun entertainment, good food and great bar staff .....then this is for you...After reading some bad reviews we had to tell you that we had a bronze plus 3 birth for 4 nights and it was fine it may not have all the bells and whistles of a gold but it was great if you want a nice cheap holiday...The staff are great and helpful and its location is the best you could ask for.....So if you want a fun holiday and a nice time make sure you book soon......we have...see you in 2013.....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable holiday and look forward to seeing you in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We booked a Silver Caravan for 3 nights (4 adults with a 10 year old boy). There were 3 bedrooms. One with nice double bed and 2 with super small twin beds which were very uncomfortable for adults. Might be fine with small kids. Nice lounge with flat TV, big sofa, dining table, kitchen with oven, fridge, glasses, cups, plates, spoons, knifes, forks, hot water machine, toaster, microwave ect. but u gotta bring your own dishwasher gel and stuff to clean the plates if u wanna cook yourself. U could go buy all stuff u need incld cash machine at a supermarket nearby, only 5 mins walk. The toilet was separate from bathroom. Not too small and clean. We got a tissue roll in there. Free wifi, even the signal is not really good but it's alright. Many TV channels (no signal sometimes). There were free outdoor and indoor swimming pool with lifeguards. The bad points in my caravan were blood spots on the duvet, broken light in the shower room, smelly water and the late night entertainment. I saw kids enjoyed performance on the stage incld my son (as it's a family place). Will be a nightmare for teenagers or young travelers. They have bingo night and games for adults, activities and shows for kids. Bar staff were not quite friendly but Receptionists were polite. Ok place for summer in the UK :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rooftop_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Dawlish Sands. It is always nice to read that our guests had an enjoyable time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

except for the trains but I didn't mind that and you got used to that very quickly. Caravan clean, everything worked fine, it was a sun holiday so exceptional value. The linen was spotless, the mattresses brilliant (an excellent sleep, which is rare for me)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skynrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Its lovely to read that you had a nice holiday. It is always nice to read that our guests had an enjoyable time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our family holiday to park holiday's Dawlish Sands was gorgeous.
Although reading a lot of bad reviews about Dawlish sands we began to loose hope in having a nice holiday-BUT we were very surprised at how beautiful our caravan was-So what the toilet seat was a tad wobbly we can live with that-The facilities were lovely-like the pool,very clean,and warm too so there's no fear of jumping into a bowl of ice!
The entertainment did exactly what it's called-entertained us there was a talent competition and they made a show called mama's dirty greasy hair-a mixture of mamma mia,dirty dancing,grease and hairspray-so funny! and amusing! This holiday was one of the best with two corresponding parks,Golden sands and Peppermint close by and because you book a holiday at dawlish you automatically have free access to their facilities-GREAT DEAL.
The children park counted as a facility is not of such a high standard but on the other hand everything was perfect-Except the weather Britain there is no way you can guarantee the weather!
We enjoyed the holiday hope any readers have just as much luck:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank -888budgie-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Its lovely to read that you had a nice holiday. It is always nice to read that our guests had an enjoyable time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.6 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
743 reviews
14.6 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
904 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 26 in Paignton
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Warren Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Dawlish
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gently sloping golden sands of Dawlish Warren stretch out for more than 2 miles, providing an idyllic and safe haven for splashing about. Dawlish Sands is all about enjoying your holiday the way you want to. The entertainment is fantastic and you won’t need to drive anywhere in the evenings when wining and dining with your family. It’s all here in the perfect holiday hotspot! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dawlish Sands Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing