We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be booking again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welcome Family Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Will be booking again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just got back from a mon-fri break at Welcome Holiday Park in Dawlish Warren. Superb accommodation, clean and comfortable, plenty of room and we took the dog! As soon as I've finished this review I shall be on their web-site to book for next year. This time there was myself and my husband and the dog, next time we are taking our grandchildren, because there was so much for them to do, and their mum. Location couldn't be better and all the facilities are nearby.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the lodges, a little more expensive but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
And why shouldn’t your doggie have a holiday too?! We have many guests who don’t want to leave their much loved pet at home so we have a wide range of pet friendly accommodation to treat all the family – including our luxury Casamigo lodges!

We very much look forward to seeing the whole family (including Woofy of course), next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    210
    99
    32
    26
See reviews for
536
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth, devon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We enjoyed 2 weeks at Welcome family Holiday in september this year. The staff were friendly and were quick to sort out any problems that we had. We stayed in number 23 lodge and it was great. Only one drawback was it is suppose to sleep 4 - 6, the sleeping bit was ok but if there was 3 people the seating area only catered for 4, the other 2 had to use the dinning table area. We would love to go back again and will book the same type that we had this year. Well done to all ground staff as well for keeping the park looking lovely and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieh08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are proud of our whopping 70% (plus!) guests returning to us each year but it’s always especially nice to hear “first timers” wanting to come back.

Sorry to hear your extra guests had to use the dining area – we hope this wasn’t too uncomfortable for them. We may have been able to help with additional seating although generally the overall layout of each holiday home will dictate the size of the seating arrangements.

It’s very kind of you to make a special mention to our wonderful gardening team who put a great deal of effort into making sure our grounds are litter free, clean and attractive. They work extremely hard in all weathers so they will be very pleased to hear your appreciation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at welcome family holiday park during the kids holidays.

The park is well kept and the staff are great, all the gardeners talk to you, entertainment staff are great and the location is perfect (although the weather did also help). There was enough to do for all the family and we are looking forward to retuning next year. GREAT PLACE.

my only issue was although not being a pet lover i except others people are and this is a pet friendly site. we stayed in a caravan by the 2nd block of flats (white building) with a central courtyard were every morning people who brought dogs with them allowed there dogs to roam the central courtyard without a lead on. we enjoyed using this area as its a perfect sun trap but being nervous around dogs felt it was out of bounds. when i spoke to one of the dog owners they had not been made aware of the park rules and that his accommodation was privately owned. if this is the case i think maybe all guests regardless if they book private accommodation or welcomes should be issued with the same booklet about the park rules.

see you all next year and hopefully my small but somewhat valid point might have been addressed

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddsmith1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
It sounds like we made you feel very welcome – from our talented Entertainers to the hardworking Gardeners, although you seemed surprised? We’re a friendly bunch in Devon you know!

Yes, we are a pet friendly park, but we realise this doesn’t suit everyone. We split our accommodation into 2 categories – pet friendly and pet free, so you can choose which best suits you, along with your preferred location, subject to availability of course.

We have rules in place to keep Welcome Family safe, happy and hygienic. One of the rules is for pets to remain on leads at all times to protect the many small children playing in the gardens. We hand out the booklet you mentioned to ALL of our guests, whether they are Welcome guests or guests who have booked private holiday accommodation. These rules are also on our website, meaning anybody staying on the park must agree to abide by them.

Please always let us know if you feel other guests are being inconsiderate - we will always step in to protect our family market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed in a dog friendly caravan the last week of September and the 1st week of October. Must admit we were a bit worried about what state it would be in but was surprised at how clean it was. My only complaint is the lack of toaster and size of the water tank but that's caravan life you cant have everything. (maybe give a hire option for toaster). As for the blue coats cant rate them any higher, they did a fantastic job. Swimming pool is great and the kids certainly made use of it.Plenty of choice in the cruisers club for food and drink the only complaint as far as the bar goes is i had to take back a few pints of Guinness because i only got 2/3rds of a pint each my wife went up and the barman that poured the drink was quite abrupt about me asking him to top it up.
In all had a great 2 week holiday and will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebritsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We’re so pleased you had a FAB holiday.

Toasters are provided in our bungalows and lodges but not in caravans, however we do actually hire them out for just £2.00 per week! This information is in our booklet we hand out on arrival.

Yes, most caravans have much smaller water tanks, certainly nothing like the ones we have at home – but it sounds like you really embraced the fun caravan experience!

We’re so sorry a member of staff didn’t treat you the way we normally do – there is no excuse for bad manners. We will feed this back to the Department Manager.

We look forward to seeing you next year – you can book right now you know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We first went to welcome in 2003 for two weeks and loved the park, the kids were 4 years, to 12 years old and it had everything for all of us.we didnt go back there until 2012 because of health reasons, but we loved it all over again , even the kids who are now nearly fourteen loved it, and we came back again this stayed in the casafina, which is so nice. As usuall the entertainment is brilliant and staff so friendly. Im sure we will come back again in 2014.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a caravan not under a tree not much sun, and always ask if its used for pets in case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4922468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We’re so pleased you gave us another try after so many years away and even more pleased we lived up to your memories.

We hope to see you again next year to exceed your expectations once more …
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I first came here when i was about 5, and we returned every year until my teenage years.
Then i have took my children back.
Some things have changed, some are how i remember. All of it is fantastic.

Throw yourself into the activities, have fun with your kids, look a fool, meet new ones etc. Its worth it. Your kids will love it.
Good nightly entertainment and cabaret. Close to attractions, you can walk to the beach. We had cause to visit the doctors while we were there, and that is 2 minutes down the road.

We stayed in a caravan which was clean, basic but perfect for our family of 2 adults, 3 small children and my mother.
We will try a chalet next time

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewcaseuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
It’s great to hear that you brought your children to a place you visited as a child – this can sometimes be disappointing but it sounds like they were just as impressed as you were!

We hope you and your children will continue to return and perhaps you’ll be bringing the Grandchildren along in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We spent a week at Welcome on 21/09/2013, this was our first visit to the park and I have to say everything was absolutely fantastic, especially the reps and the entertainment everything was family focused.

We stayed in a Moonlight caravan as we had a dog, the van was basic but more than ample for our needs, it's just somewhere to sleep at the end of the day. It was clean and no issues.
For what we paid it was excellent value if you include use of the pool and entertainment.

Our 2yr old daughter had the time of her life and I can honestly say it it the best family holiday we have had to date (including holidays abroad ), so much so we immediately book (a private chalet in the site) to return next year, when we sadly had to return home. We do not usually return to the same place as we like to try new places but a return was a must after seeing my daughter smiling and laughing all week. If she's happy we are happy. She has even roped the grandparents into coming next year!.

Our daughter has not stopped talking about Myrtle the Turtle and Dougie the Dog and she is already excited about seeing them next Year.

I have never written a review before but thought that Welcome warranted my time in doing do as we enjoyed it so much and it exceeded expectations, everyone was great from check-in to check-out.

We have two holidays booked for next year - Majorca and Welcome Family Park. After the experience we had in September we are all honestly looking forward to the Welcome holiday more than Majorca. Think that speaks volumes!

Try it, if you have kids you cannot go wrong.

Once again a massive Thankyou to everyone at the site for an amazing experience. See you next year!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GJohnson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Wow, your very first review and definitely one which will take some beating!

We agree … Happy Kids = Happy Parents so it sounds like you had an amazing family holiday, one we hope you will never forget.

By the way, tell your Daughter – Myrtle and Dougie say “Hi” and they can’t wait to see her again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
9.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
2.6 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Family Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Family Holiday Park

Property: Welcome Family Holiday Park
Address: Dawlish Warren Road, Dawlish EX7 0PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Family Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Family Holiday Park in Dawlish Warren, Devon is a friendly, independent, family run park with a genuine customer focus, offering all you need to make your holiday in Devon a wonderful and memorable experience. Located just a few minutes level walk from a Blue Flag beach, and close to many tourist attractions makes Welcome the ideal location for a family holiday. On park there is range of holiday homes, caravans and lodges to suit all tastes and budgets; we really have something for everyone, including fabulous nightly entertainment from Easter to October, fantastic indoor swimming complex, free crazy golf and Wi-Fi; - Its no surprise that so many of our customers return every year. Welcome Family - Where the fun always shines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Welcome Family Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Family Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Welcome Family Holiday Park Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing