We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant holiday again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Again a lovely weeks holiday. This time with our grandson. He loved the JRC, the swimming and the arcade. The entertainers were also really good with him.

The accommodation was lovely, clean and comfortable. Perhaps a little more storage space could have been welcome. Also proper instructions to use the oven. But then I am old-fashioned so this new-fangled technology was above me.

The park itself was lovely, clean and tidy The staff from maintenance, reception, entertainers and bar staff were really good and helpful, but then I would not have expected anything less.

A slight niggle though, I feel that the quality in The Welcome Bite has deteriorated slightly. I don't know if there is new management but was disappointed that they no longer do their sunday roasts or have their specials board.

Overall just the holiday we expected and knew we would get.

Will be back again. You can't keep us away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your review as we do try to take on-board all our customer comments. We appreciate your recognition of the helpfulness of all the staff and do try a provide all our customers old and new, with the highest level of customer service. I also appreciate your comments on the cleanliness of your accommodation and the site itself. I'm sorry you were a little disappointed with the food selection of the Welcome Bite. It has been under new management for the past two years (this is their 3rd year) and do amend the menu selection based on customer feedback. I will pass your comments to them.
I'm very glad had such a great time and that you will be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed a week here and was very please with the site, good pool's, and evening entrainment.
We dont usualy do these sort of holidays as normally go to places in the middle of know here to get away from it all.

However herein Dawlish it's quite easy to still get away from it all.

Site foods were ok and not expensive, and the evening events were very well done. Although we only stayed twice for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we do take all customer comments seriously. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities, entertainment and the area to your liking. I hope that since you normally do not take this type of holiday that you may come back and stay with us again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The facilities and location of the holiday is spot on. The club entertainment is amazing and throughly enjoyed by all of us (my husband & our 2 daughters)and catered for ALL ages. Fantastic holiday. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meldenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am very happy you found everything to your satisfaction and will be returning. I will pass your comments onto the hard working entertainment team. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a private apartment so cannot comment on accomadition . But the park itself was very clean with lovely night time lit gardens . I did think thier would be more in site it only had pool golf park and the club so you will probably travel out for days out esp if weather not up to much ! We did however love the cruisers club entertainment was very good very safe for the children also . We didn't eat in thier so can't comment on food but thier isn't a resturant as stated the resturant is actully in the club and not much choice it's only like a little snack bar . Oh one thing that was annoying you had to que separate for everything !!! Bingo alchol and children's drinks so we would all go up in each que . Luckily we went with 2 other families so we didn't have time to get bored . Don't stay near the club as walkin home with the 2 other families or chattin outside caravan ppl would get rather annoyed and bang on thier caravans oops :/ . We visited the beach not at all like the pictures shown it was not very nice brown sea water and rubbish . Day out I recommended is woodlands . Pricy at 60 pounds family of 4 but very worth it you do get a 15 percent discount though from reception. Fun day for all make sure you leave early as takes 1hour 20 min get thier . I guarantee you won't be disappointed . I enjoyed it here but not sure I would return .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad your overall experience was good. I'm sorry the beach wasn't up to expectation but it will take a little longer to return it to how it was before the huge storm/flooding in Dawlish. The Welcome Bite does provide a wide range of food from snacks, baguettes, pizza, burgers, chilli, curry and fish n chips etc. I'm very pleased you were happy with the cruisers club and entertainment. We do try to take all guest comments on board and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This review is a little late.. My husband and I took out two your granddaughters for a week at easter, they are aged 5 & 6. After a few awful experiences with Park Holidays we vowed never to go for a caravan holiday again. However we came across the Welcome park and after checking trip advisor, decided to give it one last go. We were very pleased we did. We were in a Coral Reef caravan as all the cassita lodges had been taken. It was quite roomy, overall we were very happy with it although we had a few cleanliness issues, bits of rubbish under the beds and oven wasn't very clean.Our daughter and son in law joined us after four days so an additional toilet would have been handy. All that said we had a fabulous week, the children thoroughly enjoyed it. The pools were great and the entertainment faultless and very professional. We were impressed by the security in the main entertainment room during the evenings, very safe and children couldn't get out. The staff from check in at reception to leaving were polite and pleasant. The site itself including play area was very clean and tidy, a massive improvement on anywhere we have previously been. We had a problem with the TV not working and asked for someone to sort it out, this was done with 15 minutes, excellent service. We shall almost certainly return if we decide on another caravan type holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all comments seriously both positive and negative. I am sorry you had some slight cleanliness issues and will relay this to the teams manager. I am pleased you found the facilities excellent and that all areas of customer service were responsive and efficient. I am glad you will definitely consider returning and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have been coming to Welcome for the past 4 years and was there 2 weeks ago for a week staying in the casafina, entertainment good as ever but lacked the usual comedy, chitty and 90's reunion was good, but missed the Mr cup of tea man and Andy pandy, all singing week just lacked a little something, terry, Kellie Tara and Kieran I think are well missed, Casafina was awful, so many problems, not cleaned properly was in a dirty state and had to clean myself, front door lock broke, mattress had to be changed after springs started protruding through, reported to reception and maintenance were on it quick as a flash , no faulting them, however on the last night before end of holiday smoke alarm kept going off and no number to call maintenance as couldn't find the booklet couldn't find the fuse box and clubhouse was closed, so made a decision to drive home to Gloucestershire at 1.30am or put up with staying awake all night due to faulty smoke alarm...however despite all of these complaints I will hopefully return next year because they are the best holiday park to stay at hence why I keep coming back .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandb100871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry that you had some issues that impacted on your stay. We do try and take all review comments onboard and I will be sharing your comments with our Houskeeping and Site Managers. I do apologise for the inconvenienced caused by the smoke alarm and that you left in the early hours of the morning. I would also like to thank you for your positive comments and we do hope that you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week while we were on business in the area.
Although we didn't use any of the facilities,such as the pool,club house etc,this park offers extremely good value.
The Premier Inn Paignton wanted £76 per night for a double room & I think we paid around £300 for week-and the room would have housed four people.
Good kitchen facilites,plenty of hot water and heating.
Immaculate gardens and surprisingly quiet.
Walking distance to four pubs/restaurants,fish & chip shops,bakers,mini markets,Chinese takeaway and even a launderete.
Families on a budget would find it very difficult to find a better value holiday than this.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigworldsmallwallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you found the accommodation, the site and location to your liking. Although, you didn't use the facilities I am very pleased that you found everything we have to offer, as good value for money. We hope to see you again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Beaches Bungalow
#12 of 13 in Dawlish
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
123 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 25 in Paignton
639 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#5 of 12 in Dawlish
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Family Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Family Holiday Park

Address: Dawlish Warren Road, Dawlish EX7 0PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range: £38 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Family Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Family Holiday Park in Dawlish Warren, Devon is a friendly, independent, family run park with a genuine customer focus, offering all you need to make your holiday in Devon a wonderful and memorable experience. Located just a few minutes level walk from a Blue Flag beach, and close to many tourist attractions makes Welcome the ideal location for a family holiday. On park there is range of holiday homes, caravans and lodges to suit all tastes and budgets; we really have something for everyone, including fabulous nightly entertainment from Easter to October, fantastic indoor swimming complex, free crazy golf and Wi-Fi; - Its no surprise that so many of our customers return every year. Welcome Family - Where the fun always shines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Welcome Family Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Family Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Welcome Family Holiday Park Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing