We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!”
Review of The Witches Bowl - CLOSED

The Witches Bowl
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Witches Bowl is run by Husband and Wife team, Arthur and Sue, with their Daughter Gilly. Originally from Essex and with over 25 years of collective experience in catering, they decided to move to the beautiful town of Dawlish to fulfil their ambition of running their own restaurant. Front of House is where you'll normally find Arthur and Sue offering warm welcomes and friendly service and behind the scenes in the kitchen is where you'll find Gilly, preparing and cooking meals fresh to order.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I took my family here on Saturday evening, and I have to say, the food and service were outstanding! The Lamb Shank just fell off the bone, Cajun chicken was spiced to perfection, not overpowering, and well presented, the gammon was huge and the Devon Burgers where home made, not like the muck you get from fast food restaurants....and served on a lovely rustic bread roll. All of us were very impressed and stated how nice it was to eat traditional home cooked food.....I live local, but my Son lives in the Midlands, and he said he hadn't had food like it, when eating out, in a long time............can't wait to try the breakfasts! Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leela20102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    18
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burton-on-Trent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Distinctly lacking ...”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Whilst staying in Dawlish on holiday, I popped in for a coffee with my husband mid morning and waited for some time for machine coffee to be served by an elderly gentleman. We enquired about cakes and were told there weren't any! It seemed to be a meeting place for the elderly and was lacking in atmosphere (not that I've anything against the elderly!). Basic food and drink, and a pleasant little place to look at, though we won't be bothering again ...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lovely restaurant hidden away from town”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I ate in this lovely restaurant whilst on holiday in Dawlish, the food was outstanding and cooked to the ultimate perfection and outstanding order by the lovely owners who were friendly and run their restaurant with great pride and go out of their way to be friendly and did the best they possibly could to help me in whatever way they could.
I had the steak and chips and I took the chance by asking if they served fried onions with their meals only to be told no but the owner took the opportunity to fry me a few anyway which was a nice surprise and above all they were friendly like I said before and we talked also which was the makings of a pleasant evening for me.
10-10 all the way from me and I hope to eat in your restaurant again one day, keep up the good work guys.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jozk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“friendly”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Friendly staff always very welcoming, lovely breakfasts which is well cooked. variety of food on menu, reasonably priced, with plenty on your plate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosemary6152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Evening”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Had a Lovely Evening Here on Friday, The food was Great, I had Mullet Fillet with a ginger chilli and lime butter, first time i tried mullet and i loved it friends all loved there food, mussels were lovely to . The service was great nothing was to much trouble really friendly people. will go again when in area next.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Witches Bowl also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing