We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The making of a perfect holiday”
Review of Dunluce House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunluce House
Ranked #3 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The making of a perfect holiday”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed at Dunluce House last year and enjoyed it so much that we returned again this year for a week and took friends with us.
Bob & Josie go that extra mile to make your stay so enjoyable. Their advice on places of interest to visit, local retaurants and local travel was excellent.
The rooms are well presented, clean and comfortable and there is a good and varied choice for breakfast to suit all tastes.
We have already booked to go back again.

David & Elaine S.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
113
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Selected Dunluce House purely by chance - we were going to a family christening in Teignmouth and, coming from London and not knowing the area, decided on Dawlish to stay overnight for 2 nights. What a fantastic result we had with Dunluce House! Josie and Bob were excellent hosts, our room was clean and comfortable, en-suite well equipped - and what a power shower! Also, how refreshing to be asked 'what time would you like breakfast? instead of the usual comment that 'breakfast is between 7.30 and 9.00a.m.! And what a breakfast it was too. Would definitely recommend this - we are also thinking about another visit to Dawlish just to stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are the largest with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bessiesnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Easy to find, off road secure parking, warm welcome, offered Cream Tea on arrival after seeing the room, comfortable bed, sea view room, very clean, well equiped rooms, tea & coffee making facilities in room, given a front door key so that you can come and go at your leisure, selection of cooked breakfast, variety of other food instead of or with cooked breakfast i.e. cereal, fruit, fruit juice, toast. Close to town centre and railway station. Great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvinjck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Coming from Exeter, we travelled to Dawlish by train and walked the mere 3 minutes up the hill to Dunluce House. On arrival, we were welcomed with a smile and given time to settle into our room before being provided with a lovely afternoon tea. After exploring the humble delights of Dawlish, we hopped on a 5-minute train to Teignmouth for dinner (though there are many other options close by).

After a very comfortable and warm night's sleep, we awoke for a delicious but relaxed breakfast, despite us getting downstairs later than we'd agreed! Bob and Josie are wonderfully friendly hosts who offer everything one could possibly need. I only wish we could've stayed longer to really make the most of it!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpy289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Found this place on trip advisor and as usual it wasn't lying. Never stayed at a B&B or hotel where you get a cream tea on arrival, my Mrs was very pleased. Owners were more than brilliant, made us feel right at home. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jez34140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

My wife and stayed for three nights as a long weekend break. We picked Dunluce as it was the highest rated B&B on Tripadvisor and we believe the rating is well-deserved.

Dawlish is a quiet town awaiting gentrification with patience. Dunluce sets a marker for what Dawlish could be; with its good transport links, amazing seawall and wonderful locality, Dawlish could be a diamond on the English Riviera. It just needs one restaurant with a decent reputation for the PadStein effect to kick off.

Bob and Josie were attentive and considerate hosts. They provided good food and facilities and we were content to spend long periods gazing at the view of the sea from our room. Everything was spotlessly clean and everything worked which is all you can ask for from a B&B.

We intend to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenGarside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Excellent room, excellent (and friendly!) service, excellent breakfast . . . . need I say more?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
659 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
220 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#4 of 12 in Dawlish
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunluce House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunluce House

Property: Dunluce House
Address: Dunluce Priory Road, Dawlish EX7 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunluce House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovingly restored four storey Georgian house with modern en-suite bathrooms in each room. Rooms 1 & 2 have lovely sea views. Five minutes from Dawlish town centre and the mainline railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunluce House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunluce House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing