We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb b & b.”
Review of Dunluce House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunluce House
Ranked #6 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2011

my wife and i stayed here with our 6 year old son. from our first contact with bob and josie we found them to be very helpful and accomodating. we stayed in the room at the top of the house which had a very comfortable double bed and the room was spacious enough to have a fold down bed in and it still had plenty of room for all of us to move around in. beautiful bathroom with a great in bath shower and fantastic views. breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, cereals, full english or fish if ordered the night before. we sneaked a look at the twin room on the floor below which was equally as nice. i have family in dawlish so only need to stay in a b&b occasionally, but when i do i will always try and book myself in here, worth every penny, superb.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wol42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

Always read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking and Dunluce House lived up to all expectations! On arrival the excellent hosts Bob and Josie offer you a cream tea at whatever time suits you. We had ours at 4pm in the garden and it was delicious!
We booked room 1 in the attic and it was big and beautiful. It had fantastic views across Dawlish to the sea and also inland to the countryside. The seaside theme of the room was done well in a lovely blue and white and the bed was so soft we just sunk into it. Bathroom great but with an attic room you might have to watch your head at times!
Breakfast was at what time you requested and was delicious! Fry up great and I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for first time which I recommend. Bowl of fresh chopped fruit as well was lovely. Bob even asked how strong we wanted our coffee!
There's an Indian and Chinese restaurant in Dawlish and quite a few pubs nearby which also serve food. Also for more choice Teignmouth is only a 5 minute train ride away. After our meal out the iced water jug in our room on return was a godsend!
Josie will sort you out with any local info needed including local walks. Would recommend coastal walk to Teignmouth (3 miles) with a 'challenging' hill in the middle!
Bob and Josie have a terrific B&B going here and we hope to return one day. They feel like old friends already!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank thinwhiteduke_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We booked this B&B because of the reviews on this website. It really is a super B&B and we totally agree with the other guests. Dunluce is beautifully decorated, very clean and the owners are very kind and considerate hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them including having iced water ready and waiting for us on returning from a night out. We felt very spoilt throughout the stay. Our room, the blue room, is just lovely. We will return to Dawlish and to this B&B. Next visit will include a bike ride and a walk to Teignmouth - perhaps even a shopping trip to Exeter - by train.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plainlazyportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed at Dunluce House last year and enjoyed it so much that we returned again this year for a week and took friends with us.
Bob & Josie go that extra mile to make your stay so enjoyable. Their advice on places of interest to visit, local retaurants and local travel was excellent.
The rooms are well presented, clean and comfortable and there is a good and varied choice for breakfast to suit all tastes.
We have already booked to go back again.

David & Elaine S.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Selected Dunluce House purely by chance - we were going to a family christening in Teignmouth and, coming from London and not knowing the area, decided on Dawlish to stay overnight for 2 nights. What a fantastic result we had with Dunluce House! Josie and Bob were excellent hosts, our room was clean and comfortable, en-suite well equipped - and what a power shower! Also, how refreshing to be asked 'what time would you like breakfast? instead of the usual comment that 'breakfast is between 7.30 and 9.00a.m.! And what a breakfast it was too. Would definitely recommend this - we are also thinking about another visit to Dawlish just to stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are the largest with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bessiesnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Easy to find, off road secure parking, warm welcome, offered Cream Tea on arrival after seeing the room, comfortable bed, sea view room, very clean, well equiped rooms, tea & coffee making facilities in room, given a front door key so that you can come and go at your leisure, selection of cooked breakfast, variety of other food instead of or with cooked breakfast i.e. cereal, fruit, fruit juice, toast. Close to town centre and railway station. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelvinjck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Coming from Exeter, we travelled to Dawlish by train and walked the mere 3 minutes up the hill to Dunluce House. On arrival, we were welcomed with a smile and given time to settle into our room before being provided with a lovely afternoon tea. After exploring the humble delights of Dawlish, we hopped on a 5-minute train to Teignmouth for dinner (though there are many other options close by).

After a very comfortable and warm night's sleep, we awoke for a delicious but relaxed breakfast, despite us getting downstairs later than we'd agreed! Bob and Josie are wonderfully friendly hosts who offer everything one could possibly need. I only wish we could've stayed longer to really make the most of it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpy289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dawlish hotels
1.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
727 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Beaches Bungalow
#12 of 13 in Dawlish
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#5 of 12 in Dawlish
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coombe Brook
Coombe Brook
#7 of 12 in Dawlish
26 reviews
1.5 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunluce House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunluce House

Address: Dunluce Priory Road, Dawlish EX7 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range: £65 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunluce House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovingly restored four storey Georgian house with modern en-suite bathrooms in each room. Rooms 1 & 2 have lovely sea views. Five minutes from Dawlish town centre and the mainline railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dunluce House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunluce House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing