We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return”
Review of Dunluce House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunluce House
Ranked #3 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Would definitely return”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We rented all three rooms recently when attending a family wedding. Bob and Josie were lovely hosts - including providing a lift to the wedding when they realised we were going to have to make two trips. The rooms are all well appointed and extremely comfortable and all have proper bathrooms with baths, as opposed to cupboards with showers. The breakfasts were all freshly prepared with plenty of everything, and it was nice not to be restricted to an 8 am breakfast time. Parking is tight and headroom is room 1 is restricted in parts but these were a small price to pay for such a lovely house & hosts. We would all definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoiraWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
113
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked this B&B for a weekend cycling and what a great find. The hosts, Josie and Robert were extremely accommodating and couldn't do enough for us, even suggesting ways of getting to Exeter for an evening out without having to take our cars (the trains are brilliant). The rooms were large, clean and tastefully decorated, the beds were lovely and comfortable. Great views from the front bedrooms. The breakfasts were excellent and you could choose from full English, smoked haddock, cereals, fresh fruit and yogurt or a combination of everything!! The list was endless and beautifully cooked. We were also greeted on arrival with a warm scone cream tea which hit the spot after a long drive down. Overall this is an excellent B&B and one I would highly recommend. We will certainly use them again should be down in Dawlish again.

Room Tip: Go for the two front bedrooms, they have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend recently. When we arrived we were offered tea & cake, and shown to our room by Sue. Room 1 is a great seaside room with a lovely view out to sea, beware of the low headroom in here and be sure to duck!

They have everything you need for a pleasent stay in Dawlish so i would happily recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room 1 comes with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Recently had a 3 night stay at Dunluce House. The en-suite room was excellent, clean and spacious. Bob and Josie were wonderful hosts. We arrived early but was still offered coffee on arrival even although Josie was cooking breakfast for other guests and cream tea in the afternoon when we had checked into our room. The breakfast was great too with cereal, fruit and full Engish. A jug of iced water was made available in the evening. Recommendations for eating places and travel timetables for local train service were made available which was very useful for getting about. Would definately stay at Dunluce House again - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Recently had the pleasure of staying at Dunluce House B&B for a couple of nights. What a find! A lovely comfortable, beautifully decorated, and exceptionally clean home where we were welcomed and treated well. We had the top bedroom on the 3rd floor but it was worth the climb to a very large airy ensuite room with a sea view.
Our hosts, Bob and Josie, have had many years experience in the hospitality business and it showed. From little touches such as the welcome Devon cream tea, the jug of iced water left on the hall table for us to bring to our room at night and a well laid out tea making tray in our room, including a petite biscuit tin of biscuits. Breakfast had many choices from fresh fruit, an array of cereals and juices and the full English was beautifully cooked and to finish there was lemon and lime curd to die for! All in all a lovely couple of days in an outstanding B&B. Thank you Bob and Josie.

Room Tip: Dawlish is a great base to park the car up and explore the nearby town by train. We went by train t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat_Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at Dunluce House for two nights in mid-July as we were attending a wedding. Our en-suite attic room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with bright and tasteful decor. The whole house is lovely, typically Georgian, and well-positioned to give fabulous views of the coast. The hosts were very friendly, warmly welcoming and relaxed. They evidently enjoy meeting people and being hospitable. Breakfast was fantastic, with plenty of choice including smoked salmon and deliciously fresh fruit salad. I would recommend it without hesitation, although a very tall person might be happier in one of the other rooms as there are some low beams in the attic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Dunluce House for 2 nights in July 2012. We received a very warm welcome from the hosts Bob and Josie and the room we had up in the attic was just beautiful, very tastefully decorated and with the best view of the town and water. The breakfast each morning was yummy, with lots of choice of cereals, fruit etc. I can recommend the salmon and scrambled eggs--to die for!!! Will stay again, when back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
674 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#4 of 12 in Dawlish
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lammas Park House
Lammas Park House
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunluce House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunluce House

Property: Dunluce House
Address: Dunluce Priory Road, Dawlish EX7 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunluce House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovingly restored four storey Georgian house with modern en-suite bathrooms in each room. Rooms 1 & 2 have lovely sea views. Five minutes from Dawlish town centre and the mainline railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunluce House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunluce House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing