We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Break”
Review of Dunluce House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunluce House
Ranked #6 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Found Dunluce House on line. Read recent reviews, sounded just what we were looking for,and we were not disappointed. Thoroughly enjoyed a very peaceful four day break in Dawlish. Our hosts Bob and Josie could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable, lovely large ensuite room with fantastic views,very comfortable bed ,spacious bathroom. Bob met us from the train,and a very nice afternoon cream tea and home made scones and cake were set out in their attractive diningroom for us to enjoy after we had unpacked and rested. The breakfasts were superb and plenty of choices, I particularily enjoyed Josies fruit salad! My husband was 80 on the second day of our stay , and when we returned from our days outing we found a little cake, card and candle on a tray in our room! Dawlish is a delightful seaside town, with the strand gardens ,stream running through and of course the black swans. You can visit many places from there by bus our train , and an easy coastal walk to Dawlish Warren. We loved it!

Room Tip: room 2 fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosieret1, Owner at Dunluce House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

We are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed visit to Dawlish and your stay with us, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Third break at Bob and Josie's Dunluce House and again can't fault for anything, usual excellent service from big full English to spotless accommodation, we shall be going again, thanks Bob for your attention and thanks Josie for your outstanding breakfasts.

Pete and Angela.

Room Tip: Rooms one and two come with an attractive view over the town and seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldbillharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for the bank holiday weekend at the beining of may. I had been searching the internet for different places to stay when I came accross dunluce house. I emailed Josie and Bob and they seemed welcoming even in there emails. We found out all we needed to know and booked our 3 day weekend stay with them. We were traveling from london to dawlish and on the friday so it was going to take 4-5 hours, we arrived at dunluce house at about 9-10pm Bob welcomed us in and was very hospitable even that late at night. We settled in to our beautiful room with an en suite bathroom.
The next morning we went down for a full english breakfast, we had PROPER english tea not a tea bag in sight, and helped our selfs to as much fruit, cerals, yogurt and juice as we liked before our breakfast. I wasnt expecting to share the bearkfast table with other guest but once we were there a few days the convesrtion flowed. Josie made excellent breakfasts and Bobs hosting skill were inpecable he made use feel like nothing was too much and so welcoming.
Bob made conversation with everyone and even took the time to tell us about dawlish, surrounding areas, events going on and himself.
There was a small amount of parking so you should check before you travel if going by car. But we could fit our car there and leave it when we didnt want to use it.
The next day we had salmon for breakfast and it was beautiful my partner loved the toast and Bob and Josie were more then happy to make him as much as he liked.
Bob and Josie were renevating a self catering apartment whilst we were there thay showed us around inside it was juat as beautiful and the main house so if your thinking of a self catering holiday definaty check it out.
I cant bost enough about this guest house it was absolutly great and Bob and Josie were excellent hosts they made you feel so welcome and like you knew them for ages.
Only piece of advise I would give to people wishing to stay if you are driving check the parking and there is a few stairs to get to the rooms and it is up a hill so make sure your fit enough for the climb :)

Room Tip: Room 3 has the view or the garden Room 2 had the sea view Room 1 is in the loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosieret, Owner at Dunluce House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was a pleasure to have you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed for just one night en route to our final holiday destination and it was the perfect start to our break! Bob and Josie were extremely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotless and very tastefully decorated, with lovely views of the coast. On arrival, we were asked if we wanted a cup of tea to which we happily accepted. 10 minutes later we were presented tea and warm scones (delicious!) - a lovely treat. Dawlish is a quiet seaside town, on first glance, there didn't seem much going on, but then we did stay on a Sunday night. We both agreed that it would be a great base for exploring (the train is very reasonably priced) and after a wonderful breakfast of smoked haddock and poached eggs, we'd love to return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosieret1, Owner at Dunluce House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Bob & Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A two night break to the lovely town of Dawlish only made better with the top notch Bed & Breakfast at Dunluce House. We stayed in Room 1 on the top floor which was stunningly decorated with a lovely view from the Velux windows. Bob & Josie who own/run the Dunluce House were brilliant, they made you feel so welcome and Josie's Full English Breakfast was stunning. We are definitely going to book again for at the very least another weekend break (hopefully with a bit better weather next time). I would highly recommend this B&B and now they have added the self contained apartment for people who want to stay that little bit longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Wonderful rooms, hospitality and location made this a perfect weekend!! The fresh fruit salad was very moorish and so was the cooked breakfast( we took a long time over breakfast!). Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Our two night stay was to visit relatives in the neighbourhood. We were made very welcome in a smart Georgian town house. The top floor bedroom was spacious, and the bed very comfortable. A pink sky announced the sunrise over the sea which we saw through the dormer and Velux windows.
Breakfast was generous and beautifully cooked and Bob and Josie were good hosts.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dawlish hotels
1.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
727 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Beaches Bungalow
#12 of 13 in Dawlish
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#5 of 12 in Dawlish
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coombe Brook
Coombe Brook
#7 of 12 in Dawlish
26 reviews
1.5 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunluce House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunluce House

Address: Dunluce Priory Road, Dawlish EX7 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range: £65 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunluce House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovingly restored four storey Georgian house with modern en-suite bathrooms in each room. Rooms 1 & 2 have lovely sea views. Five minutes from Dawlish town centre and the mainline railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunluce House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunluce House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing