We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Dunluce House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunluce House
Ranked #6 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Stayed three nights - a perfect place to stay. Bob and Josie are fairly new to the business but should be proud of what they have achieved in such a short space of time. Nothing was too much for them and the cream tea on arrival set the tone for the stay. Perfect hosts, perfect accomodation

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinGun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

You could almost copy and paste the comments already made from the previous reviews.... We have just stayed with Bob and Josie for the last 3 nights and have reluctantly returned home after enjoying the best B&B stay ever. Dunluce House is the house you would always want to live in and the perfect hosts you could ever hope for.

Bob and Josie ensure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable which nothing is too much trouble for them. Providing ice cold water and fresh milk each day to accompany the many choices of tea and coffee available with the nice added touch of biscuits in your room.

We stayed in the double room that faced onto the delightful courtyard which was beautifully decorated with lovely pieces of furniture, which we wanted to take home with us (inc. 'Shirley' the duck), with a comfortable king size bed, an extremely well fitted bathroom with an amazing power shower.

The breakfasts are served in the dining room enjoying beautiful sea views, with the relaxing tones of classic fm in the background. Breakfast is prepared to order however you like it which we can highly recommend the full english breakfast, as well as the poach eggs on toast. The scrambled eggs and smoked salmon also looked good too which one of the other guests had ordered. There are all sorts of jams, juices, cereals and fresh fruit with yogurt to choose from.

Bob and Josie thoroughly deserve their 4 star ratings and sets the standards for B&B's, which a lot of hotels could also learn from especially with the personal touches.

Thanks again Bob and Josie for a wonderful time, which we have started to look at the calendar to plan our next visit to your beautiful home.

Matt and Michele

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We had a short stay for 2 nights at the Dunluce and thoroughly enjoyed it. I can only echo the good things said about Dunluce on tripadvisor. Our room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. The cream tea on arrival was a nice touch which set the tone for a pleasant stay. I can recommend the Salmon & scrambled egg breakfast. Bob and Josie have clearly set the benchmark for other B&Bs with attention to detail and nothing too much trouble. Bob and Josie are the perfect hosts - Bob clearly enjoys drying the dishes (you needed to be there).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StudentMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

What can we say that hasn't already been said. The welcome and hospitality were second to none. The proprietors Bob and Josie went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The cream tea on arrival was a very good start and the breakfast set you up for the day.
The room was beautifully decorated and comfortable with a wonderful view over the town and sea.
Dunluce House is ideally situated for easy access into town and exploring the surrounding area.
We shall certainly be going again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Had a short break for 3 nights at Dunluce House Dawlish Devon.Found the hosts Bob & Josie very friendly and welcoming. Nothing seemed too much trouble, even loaning a portable heater to our Daughter and family who were staying at a nearby camp site when they couldnt find a shop open to buy one.We had booked the twin room with a sea view and we were not disapointed with the room.It ranks as one of the best we have stayed in ( and there have been many ) for comfort and amenities.This was matched the next morning with an excellent full english breakfast cooked to order.All in all a B&B I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wattsp1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

What a pleasure it was to stay in this B&B, and so much nicer than a lot of other stuffy B&B's we have stayed in. This is a modern and freshly decorated B&B, with elegant matching furniture in all rooms, and within 5 mins walk from the town, railway station and Beach.

We stayed as a large family group and had all 3 rooms. We took my In Laws away for a joint 60th birthday treat, and what a wonderful place to suit all our age groups.

My husband, young son and I stayed in the magnificant room on the top floor with it's large bed for us, a put you up bed for my son and a sofa and chair. The Tv could be seen from all areas of the room. The views from this room are absolutely stunning.

My In Law's stayed in the twin room below us, their room was slightly bigger than ours and shared the same views as us.

My Sister in Law had the other double room with her husband and although they never had a sea view they did have a view over the lovely garden/courtyard area.

The complementary tea and homemade cake on arrival was extremely welcome and came in addition to the tea and coffee making facilities in each room (with fresh milk and iced water each day).

Nothing was too much trouble for Josie and Bob, they even offered to cook dinner for us as they knew in advance it was a special occassion. Although we ate out, Bob and Josie also offer you to take food back to the B&B to eat in the lounge/dining area and they provide the plates and cutlery.

This really is a B&B that caters for all your needs.

We look forward to our return visit. Thank you for everything Josie and Bob.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassettbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed in early August (Barbara and James), we had been doing coastal walks around North Devon and South Cornwall for most of the summer and stayed in many B&B's and hotels as a result, if there was a better B&B (or hotel) with better hosts than Bob and Josie, then we can't think of one.....this place was the best by a country mile......

It was actual quite sad to leave as they made our stay welcome beyond the call of duty, the room was lovely, breakfast great and when we came back after a hard days walking they would ask if we needed anything, basically nothing was too much trouble.....

This place should be used as a model for how a B&B / hotel should be run, most do not meet the expectation they set, this place exceeds the expectation set.....simply marvellous....

We wish Bob and Josie all the best for the future.....

Barbara and James.....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesp045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dawlish hotels
1.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lammas Park House
Lammas Park House
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
234 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Beaches Bungalow
#12 of 13 in Dawlish
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#5 of 12 in Dawlish
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunluce House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunluce House

Address: Dunluce Priory Road, Dawlish EX7 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range: £58 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunluce House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovingly restored four storey Georgian house with modern en-suite bathrooms in each room. Rooms 1 & 2 have lovely sea views. Five minutes from Dawlish town centre and the mainline railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Dunluce House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunluce House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing