We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hazelwood Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just got back from a weeks holiday staying in the Hazelwood chalets at Hazelwood Park, DW. These chalets are located at the front of the site as you drive in and offer superb value for money accomodation. Our chalet was ready before 12 noon which was a bonus. It was clean, tiday, comfortable and spacious for the size of our party being 2 adults 2 toddlers. The staff were very friendly and always on hand to help if needed; didn't get to use all the facilities as we were out & about everyday from 9-9 taking in the sights and making the most of our holiday. Plenty to see and do come rain or shine, prime location for all transport; we left our car at the park and used the bus or rail; both provided an excellant service to wherever we went. Great for people of all ages given it's location in terms of the beach and amentities; the Boathouse Pub & Resturant on the beachfront serves excellent quality food and is great again for all ages. The beachfront amusements provided enough entertainment for my 2 toddlers without them being overwhelmed and the beach is just lovely too. Definately recommend this park and destination to anyone looking for a value for money holiday. Will be booking up for next year; might take take Grandad too :-)

Room Tip: Hazelwood Chalets suitable for parties of 4 or more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shellybelle40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    43
    27
    15
    8
See reviews for
133
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed in a brilliant lodge in Curlew . Lovely view, excellent hot tub and fitted out with everything you could possibly want. The park itself is very pretty with a lake and plenty of wild life to enjoy.We found that the staff were helpful and plenty of information in reception. The lodge was clean and the hot tub beautifully fresh. The onsite Londis supermarket has everything you need and the Clubhouse is reasonably priced.The entertainment is fun and the kids or in our case grand kids loved it. The fish and chip shop is a must. The local pubs are all different but you can get Sky sports in Lee's bar, a brilliant view and food at the Mount Pleasant and if you go a mile down the road to Cockwood there are two fantastic pubs there.We hired bikes and the cycle path is safe and goes for miles. Dawlish Warren Golf Club has great greens and is not too difficult and they made us welcome. We will be going back soon....

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a Lodge with a hot tub. They are fun even when it's raining!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nessyfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This was our second trip back here but what a disappointment. Staff miserable and club looking tired.

Served flat lemonade in the bar and returned it to the bar to be told the pumps were out and they were using lemonade from a bottle, left on the side to get nice and flat. Was given a new drink but with a slightly sarcastic comment from an older member of bar staff who made it seem I was putting them out asking for a new lemonade having to make them open a fresh bottle which wasn't flat!!

Children and tots attended and ran about in the club for hours in their pyjamas!!!!

Chalets hugely damp, in all our family chalets. Black damp spots all over the wall, broken handle in chalet. Unbearable smell of smoke in one chalet, when a complaint was made the answer from the staff was an old weak plastic air freshener which didn't cut the smell all week.

Musty smelling and damp has left all clothing and linens smelling foul. Have washed numerous times. This was staying in a larger expensive chalet.

Very disappointed, what's happened Hazelwood?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sophiesoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Very disappointed with the holiday.Reception staff were of the "don't care" attitude,as were the people in the shop.Very rude,no please or thank you's! The only friendly people were the ones in the bar!The chalet was very musty smelling,and had seen better days.But the plus side was it was clean.Beds were extremely hard,and the pillow covers were pretty grubby and smelly.
I know it was a budget chalet and we didn't pay too much for it being late season,but if I ended up paying the summer prices for this I would not have been at all happy!
Lack of places to eat was also a problem,a few pubs in Dawlish Warren,but all pretty pricey.
Won't be returning here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Our first trip to Dawlish Warren area and so we chose Hazelwood as it was close to the centre and appeared to offer very good value for the time we went - October 2011.
When we arrived at reception the welcome wasn't exactly on the warm side and our first look inside our Hazelwood chalet was slightly disappointing as it smelled a bit damp and obviously had a bit of wear and tear. The location next to the front car park also didn't fill us with the expectation of a quiet holiday.
However - first impressions don't always last and we warmed to the chalet and location as the week progressed.
The chalet was very clean and well equipped for cooking. Although the chalets have been on site for some time, all of the windows had been replaced, the bathroom was well maintained with new sealant and wall coverings and the kitchen area had what looked like a new cooker with all utensils as new and an obviously new electric kettle. The power shower in the bathroom worked well and also appeared to be new.
A rather small double bed in the main bedroom wouldn't suit tall people, but was comfortable and warm.
Electric heating in all rooms was a welcome bonus although the chalet kept its heat well and we didn't make much use of the heaters.
A musty smell was kept down by ensuring that windows were left slightly open most of the time - easy and secure due to the modern windows.
As to the location next to the car park - the few cars there didn't move all week and we found the location peaceful and quiet (as is Dawlish Warren at this time of year).
Size of the Hazlewood chalets is very good for 2 adults and 2 children and we soon felt quite at home.
The site overall has a mix of residential and various levels of holiday chalet standards with some lovely areas surrounding the lakes and some more basic groups of chalets. Having said that, the park compares very well in terms of space to other surrounding caravan parks where the caravans seems to have been packed in as tightly as possible.
Walking to the beach takes less than 10 minutes and there are supermarkets, take-aways and pubs within 5-10 minutes walking distance.
Dawlish Warren beach is great for kids with rides and activities in peak times. It's also a great location for walkers and cyclists as you can walk along the coast in the direction of Dawlish or Starcross (perhaps to catch the ferry to Exmouth). The walk along the coast to Dawlish is a must do as it is unusually located between the train line and the sea and is very unusual with the massive walls to support the train line. Catching the train is easy from the station next to the beach with good value adult day returns (£3.60) to nearby towns of Dawlish, Teignmouth or Exeter for a day out.
Overall the only slight negative to our stay was the slightly musty chalet - which can be helped by some ventilation. Everything else was fine and excellent value for the time of year - much more spacious and comfortable than a caravan.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luvawalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We had a great week, the chalet was clean and basic with everything you would need for a week, we loved the fish and chips on the site. The only thing that let it down was the wi fi, we could not get it to work at all and the chairs in the chalet were really uncomfortable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Had yet another great weekend break at Hazlewood Park with all the family 13 of us.
We opted for the basic chalets and they are fine, good value. Staff very helpful, chalets clean and tidy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.6 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelwood Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelwood Holiday Park

Property: Hazelwood Holiday Park
Address: Warren Road, Dawlish EX7 0PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazelwood Holiday Park is a 38 acre family run holiday park. It has plenty of room to play with fishing lakes and grassy areas. There are a range of different types of accommodations to suit all pockets from basic four berth chalets to luxury 3 bedroom Lodges. Week long stays and short breaks are offered all year round. Facilities include a heated outdoor swimming pool open May - September, a Bar and Clubhouse with entertainment during the summer season, 3 fishing lakes, a playground, a Fish & Chip shop, a Launderette and a Londis on-site shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Hazelwood Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelwood Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Hazelwood Holiday Park Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing