We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hazelwood Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Me and my family stayed at Hazlewood pk for a 4 night break one word rubbish.
The swimming pool on the pictures looks great, not the case when you actually see it what a dump, they don't tell you on the web that there is no entertainment until 7pm and that is in a shoe box of a room with rude ignorant staff and management who are not interested in wether you are enjoying yourself. They say a well stocked shop, it's half empty and very expensive.
Duck poo all over the place and they do not clean it daily.
The reviews on this website that say it is a great place are obviously people who work there or the owners putting false information to make you believe it is good.
Do not book, Dawlish warren is a lovely place and there are 3 other caravan and lodge sites in the same area that are much better.
Lakes they should change that to ponds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Hazelwood Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Came here with my kids and parents. The accommodation stank of WET DOG and there were tiny hairs all over the sofa . Oh and the SOFA NEEDS REPLACING. It was broken on arrival and has filthy stains all over it. Was not happy about that at all. Was told that was the only chalet available. It was a cheap holiday so can't complain too much although even for two stars the customers are disrespected by the filthyness of it all. The pool is outdoor - freezing water! And plenty of peep holes on the sides for the general public to peek in. The shop and shop staff on site were great. Good value for money. The geese need to go ! Too much poop everywhere my kids couldn't play football without coming back with poo stains ! My advice is - stay away. Book elsewhere and enjoy your holiday SOMEWHERE ELSE !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glorious2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed in a Hazelwood chalet (number 35) from 3rd to 10th August 2013. The only reason we booked self catering was because we were taking our dog, and it's really disappointing leaving our lovely clean home, and arriving at our chalet to find the chalet was so shabby! As my husband has a leg problem we opted for the chalet for disabled people as it had a walk in shower, rather than a bath. This overflowed the first time we used it, but having reported it maintenance unblocked the drain that day. When I reported it at reception, I commented that we found the chalet was really shabby, and the girl said Hazelwood was a budget chalet! Whereas we were sure it was listed as 4* so don't like to think what the 2 * ones are like. Cleaners should clean grout in shower, that wasn't clean, and for some reason there was no toilet lid! There was no shelf for toiletries either, and a tiny sink. The main bedroom was tiny and the bed was so uncomfortable, all lumpy springs. We covered the mattress with a duvet from the other bedroom and covered it with the bottom sheet, it was the only way to make the bed bearable. The furniture in the living room was really grubby, didn't like sitting on it! There isn't an area where you can let your dog off the lead on the park, and in any case there are so many ducks and geese in the park, and there is poo everywhere. We always clean up after our dog, and yes I know goose poo isn't the same, but trust me it's everywhere. Not nice for children playing.
Having said all this, if you have a family you may like this park, as it does have a small swimming pool, shop launderette pool room, and a child friendly bar with evening entertainment. The evening starts with children's games, then childrens prize bingo, adult cash bingo (which is boring) but then there's a quiz and showtime (but that doesn't start until 10.15) Jed and Glen (entertainers) in particular where really good and worked so hard. Staff are friendly in the bar too. Didn't want to give a 2 rating as the staff are good so have given a 3 rating, but the owners need to invest a bit and spruce up the chalets to a much better standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnieandtoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were recommended this park by friends. The wildlife is fantastic and they have large areas of open land with fishing lakes. Our accommodation was the Hazelwood bungalow which I think is their middle range accommodation.We were told to try and book the new ashwoods but they were full.
The chalet was loverly and clean and was good value compared to other prices we had seen on other parks.
The outdoor pool was great because we were blessed with sunshine.
All the staff were great.
I would recommend this park to anyone who is looking for great value British holiday park

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovemyfreetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed at Hazelwoods for a week with my husband and 2 children (ages 6 and 9) at the end of July. I was disappointed with our chalet. We stayed in Hazelwood number 1. Its advertised as their 4 * accommodation and a 6 berth chalet but I thought it was very small. The kids twin room was Ok but the double room was tiny, just enough room for the bed (which wasn't comfy). Not enough room to put your stuff and could just fit suitcase at end of the bed. The place definitely smelled musty and the bedclothes/duvets felt damp. The chalet itself was clean but the heavy net curtains did make it dark especially on the days when the weather wasn't great. On the plus side we parked just outside, we had a bath which was great for the kids and plenty of hot water. The shower wasn't electric and the only temperatures we managed to get were cold or a bit too hot. The park is close to a few shops and the beach. The clubhouse was Ok, not very busy, but a lot of kids running round unsupervised, kicking the 2p machine to get money out and generally being noisy when the bingo was being called. The kids 'disco' is basically the same music every night and then kids dance about or run off or whatever. The kids games were hit and miss. Some nights there would be an organised game but most nights the kids had to amuse themselves. Theres a playground right at the bottom of the park, quite a trek, but the field its in is absolutely covered in geese poo, really disgusting and I wouldn't let my kids go there again. The park is fairly quiet even though we were next to the road. The heated pool was cold and the photo on the website is misleading. The lovely bit of grass and seating it shows have been fenced off so the actual seating is limited to 2 picnic tables. The concrete around the pool was littered with fag ends and the bottom of the pool was dirty. The whole place could do with updating and cleaning. We wont be staying there again but Dawlish Warren was nice and maybe we will go back and stay in another park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We got a good deal booking online. The accommodation was pretty basic but as we spent the days offsite and the evenings in the clubhouse it wasn't really an issue. On the first night we discovered the shower plug was blocked but this was dealt with quickly and efficiently as soon as we informed the reception team of the problem. The evening entertainment was O.K. but the kids got bored during the bingo(they are 2 & 4), I personally think bingo 7 nights a week is a bit much(2 or 3 would have been better). Apart from that the kids were kept entertained allowing us to relax a little at the end of each day. We will most likely stay here again but will probably pay a little more for better accommodation!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have just returned from Hazlewood Park and we had a wonderful time. Even though the weather was not good we still had a great holiday. On arrival we were allowed into our accommodation at 11:30 even though the check in time was 4:00 which was a big bonus. The Hazelwood accommodation we stayed in was immaculately clean and modern with laminate floors throughout. The bedding was pressed to precision and all stain free. The children enjoyed the heated outside pool and the clubhouse was a nice size. In the evening their was prize bingo for the children and then cash bingo for the adults which my mother enjoyed very much. The overall entertainment was good although the show with all of the music from phantom of the opera etc was a bit intense and not really appealing unless you are particularly into that sort of thing. The staff were very friendly on all areas of the site from the cleaners, shop, bar staff, reception had really good customer relations. My family and I had a wonderful holiday here and the discounted price for July that we had our mid week break for made it an affordable holiday for the time of year. Will definitely be returning here on a bargain break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabmil2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
711 reviews
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
8.7 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
5.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelwood Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelwood Holiday Park

Address: Warren Road, Dawlish EX7 0PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range: £29 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazelwood Holiday Park is a 38 acre family run holiday park. It has plenty of room to play with fishing lakes and grassy areas. There are a range of different types of accommodations to suit all pockets from basic four berth chalets to luxury 3 bedroom Lodges with hot tubs. Week long stays and short breaks are offered all year round. Facilities include a heated outdoor swimming pool open May - September, a Bar and Clubhouse with entertainment during the summer season, 3 fishing lakes, a playground, a Fish & Chip shop, a Launderette and a Central on-site shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Hazelwood Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelwood Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Hazelwood Holiday Park Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing