We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“delish food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mei Lai

Mei Lai
Ranked #14 of 51 Restaurants in Dawlish
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Fast food, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“delish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visit dawlish devon about 10 times a year & always have a take a way from here & its always excellent & you get loads for your money, we would recommend you collect rather than wait for delivery as it seems alot quicker....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traceynpaul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    33
    12
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Chinese take away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Everyone has a favourite Chinese take away and getting one on holiday is usually hit and miss. Found this place on Google whilst on holiday and what a find! Clean take away, friendly staff and excellent food! Wish it was my local!

Helpful?
Thank spanner1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Over-priced, tasteless, small portions and big delivery charges”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very expensive for extremely small portioned, tasteless food. £2.50 deliverly charge for under half a mile. Also not warm at all although we were just a couple of minutes away. Overall poor chinese would not recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MeechelleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeiLaiTakeaway, Owner at Mei Lai, responded to this review, 14 June 2015
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us here at Mei Lai. Since February of this year, we have been working hard to make some drastic changes to the business, both in front of house and in the kitchen.
As you can see from our more recent reviews, this has been well received, and we continue to gain fantastic feedback both in store and over the phone from many happy customers.

As we receive a consistently high demand for our delivery service, we charge a flat fee of £2.50 for all orders, regardless of proximity to our location. Given the convenience of being able to remain firmly on your sofa/get kids ready for bed/hone your chopstick skills whilst your food is brought to you, most of our customers agree that this is fair - and those who live within a close enough distance usually don't mind popping down if they cannot justify paying the fee.
Whilst we would love to provide free delivery within a certain radius, we pay our drivers both hourly and per drop in order to ensure that they are paid well and fairly; the delivery fee contributes towards these wages.
We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the less than perfect meal which you received however - we always aim to have food delivered from store as soon as it is cooked, and have recently introduced more drivers to ensure that fewer orders are taken in each drop, thus eliminating the possibility of food getting cold in transit.

We invite you to come back and experience the changes we have made since your last visit - please get in touch with us so that we can offer a discounted meal to you as an apology.

Best wishes

Mei Lai Takeaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“so dissapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I dont think ive ever wrote a bad review in my life purely because im one of those people that feel bad for complaining but not this time. Im also one of those people that like to read reviews and sometimes think oh what the hell lets give it go, but I kid you not this is the worst chinese ever. I think people who said this is nice have no taste buds as its the most bland tasting chinese ive ever had in my life. We got kung po chicken not spicey at all and so bland I left the majority and not the usual color kung po usually is. We also got sweet and sour spare ribs which tasted of sick and the prawn crackers smelt like cheesy rotton feet. Only nice thing was the rice but how can you go wrong with that. Both sauces seemed the same but couldnt be mofe different So for that it cost us 20 pounds. We usually spend way less than this but seen as though it looked busy and we didnt mind spending the extra as we were on holiday. I would suggest the hakaryu in Dawlish warren and im not a fussy eater.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank helen30Gloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I have eaten various dishes from this take away and the food quality is always decent however I have found them very expensive. Just a simple dish for one and it's best part of £7-8 where once it would be a fiver. Sign of the timed perhaps.....

Helpful?
Thank Pixiwhiteknuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mei Lai also viewed

 

Been to Mei Lai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing