We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

The Castle Inn Restaurant & Pub Holcombe
Ranked #25 of 51 Restaurants in Dawlish
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Called in for lunch ok don't expect a modern interior, in fact don't let that put you off, food is first class and the stage very helpful and attentive, good beer and good wine as they say what more do you want will be back

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a lovely little pub with an excellent restaurant.
We have been there twice recently and both times really enjoyed the food.
The presentation is excellent especially the desserts. Very friendly staff and certainly on our list to introduce to visiting friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Went for dinner here a couple of weeks ago. We were really impressed at the quality of the food. They also had some interesting veggie options. Staff were very friendly and it had a good atmosphere. The only criticism we had was that it was a little expensive, but good quality and we would go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Seemed like as nice enough pub and after a long walk, we were planning to have lunch there. But with limited selection for kids and dishes in our view about £2 over what we would typically pay for a fairly ordinary menu, they lost out on the lunch order for 14.

Helpful?
Thank caversham43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and drink”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Good choice of real ales. Excellent menu. Very good chef. Mouth-watering steaks. Very tasty desserts. Popular with locals.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandalarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn Restaurant & Pub Holcombe also viewed

 

Been to The Castle Inn Restaurant & Pub Holcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing