We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely cliff top setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langstone Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely cliff top setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

We enjoyed our three night stay since the hotel is ideally situated for the aresa that we wanted to visit. Superb facilities, an average sized room but with a spelndid seas view and very helpful and freindly staff.
Breakfasts were excellent (and quick) but when we return, we may mix earing dinner in the hotel with eating out. Nothing too wrong with the food but it was all pre-cooked or carvery (there is an option to be served at the table) whereas we would prefer to order in the bar and have food cooked to order. We had also looked forward (when visiting the coast) to some local sea food which did not materialise.
The hotel facilities are excellent albeit that most were not needed by us. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barney067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    177
    56
    13
    15
See reviews for
240
180
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

We visited the Langstone Cliff as part of a ballroom dancing break and can honestly say that the hotel was excellent from start to finish. The reception staff were always helpful and advised us on things to see within the area and also on the tide times. The food was both plentiful and of good quality and the room that we had was spacious, quiet and well equipped. The car park is excellent, in fact we left our car for the whole 5 days and it was perfectly safe and there always seemed to be plenty of spaces, and the ballroom was ideal. I would imagine that they have many wedding receptions there in the season and it seemed like an ideal place. All in all I couldn't fault the hotel in any way and am looking forward to spending another lovely holiday there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

This was an amazing find. I holiday each year with my Mum and sister and finding somewhere to accomodate us all is difficult. This hotel were amazing. They did a marvellous deal for us. We had a room with a view, balcony and all Mum's needs were met. The food was very good and again allowed for Mum to eat as she could. The staff were courteous and helpful and our stay was made very comfortable. I would thoroughly recommend this.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boats12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We found the hotel in the south devon accomodation guide it looked nice in the brochure and desperate for alternative accomodation we booked in . It lived up to all our expectations and more , the staff were friendly and professional The food was superb and the room was exeedingly comfotable. The only downside was that we only spent one night there before coming home.
The only other thing I will add is that if ever in the area again we will sample more delights of a stay at the Langstone Cliff

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BanburyDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

We spent the last night of our honeymoon here, as the previous hotel was like something out of Were Wolf in London.

Nice room, great location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We have just returned from a family holiday at the Langstone and yet again had a lovely time. I have been staying at this hotel since i was six months old with my parents and now enjoy family holidays with my little boy who is three and his first stay at the hotel was when he was only a week old. Some of the reviews make me really cross as its a fantastic family friendly hotel with lots to offer for all ages and i think people forget its a 3 star hotel and not a 5 star hotel!

My little boy loves the children's playroom and indoor pool, along with the outdoor playground and all the lawn for him to play on. The hotel also offers a children's tea which is brilliant as this means he can eat dinner early and doesnt have to wait to later to eat with us although he always has an ice cream when we have our dinner. A real benefit in the summer holidays is the children's entertainment as most evenings the children had a disco or magic show to go to and how many hotels in England offer this, its a great idea.

The food is good old fashion English cuisine. Dinner is 4 courses with a starter followed by a carvery most evenings with at least 3 main course options and to follow lovely puddings and then cheese and biscuit's!!! The breakfasts are great with lots on offer and if you need a snack in the day the bar has an extensive bar menu to order from.

The rooms are comfortable and well equipped and have flat screen TVs with preview so you have plenty of channels to watch. We like the rooms looking over the woodlands as they are nice and quiet.

The hotel also has an indoor/outdoor pool, tennis courts, small gym, playroom, hairdressers,beauty rooms and even a small pony called Toby you can go an see and feed Polo's if you wish along with beautiful grounds and lawns with a great view out to sea.

I can honestly say I love coming to this hotel and when i leave i look forward to the next visit which will be early next year for us. So if you are looking for a family friendly hotel this hotel has so much to offer and don't take any notice of the bad reviews as i think these people must of stayed at another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witneyoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crewe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

We have been to the Langstone Cliff hotel for the past 7 years. It is excellent value for money and despite searching long and hard, we have been unable to find a child-friendly hotel ffor anything like this tariff - most are at least £500 per week dearer. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly and helpful and the facilities are excellent. The food is not Nouvelle Cuisine food - the hotel caters for its regular clients who like honest, down-to-earth food.

I have no idea which hotel the last reviewer went to - it certainly wasn't the Langstone Cliff hotel that we know! The manager and owner (Mr Rodgers) is incredibly helpful - nothing is too much trouble for him - if you have even the slightest query it is attended to immediately.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
4.5 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing