We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jackpot !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langstone Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Jackpot !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

As it was our Wedding Anniversary, we decided to push the boat out and have a better class (we hoped) Sunday lunch somewhere nice, and I remembered this Hotel from many years ago as having a nice view....so decided to enquire if Sunday lunch was available to non residents just passing.....it was , at £17.50 a head. I baulked at this, being a tight wad, but well, it was our anniversary, so decided to go for it, and hopefully score some brownie points.
Very glad I did, and definitely scored brownie points ! The price was for FIVE courses. We got a (modestly priced) drink at the bar, having booked for lunch, and were advised that we had until 2 PM to take our table, so would we like to enjoy our drinks on the sun terrace......which we duly did. Amazing view, attentive service from the waiting staff, we loved it.
Eventually ambled in to eat, and the food was superb, amongst the best I can remember in this country. Courteous, helpful staff, reataurant that was nice and cool, plenty of space between tables, and sensational food. We had our coffess (with cream) back on the sun terrace....and really didn't want to go home !
ALL the staff we came into contact with were helpfullness itself....the icing on the cake for me was a "Happy Anniversary" card on the table as we sat for lunch, a lovely touch I thought.
Will definitely be back for more. I cant wait.
I see there are a few awful reviews on here about the Hotel, but notice that they are rather historic now. Would seem to me the management have taken note of concerns, and addressed the relevant areas.
Note also by having the full blowout for lunch, it also entitles you to a swim in the indoor pool....suggest you swim before you eat, unless you want to impersonate a sumbmarine !
Thanks to all for a splendid few hours which felt like we were on holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brixhamrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    180
    56
    14
    15
See reviews for
248
187
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have just had a lovely dancing weekend at this hotel. The rooms were excellent -we did not mind the blankets as you could adjust the number used - the food was good but the service was not. We also were halfway through our cooked breakfast before we were offered tea and toast. The supper in the evening was started at 7pm but not finished until 9.30pm just
so long sitting around waiting and the young man who was sent to hear our complaint was quite rude. We were all rather shocked by his attitude. I agree with Philip S that this could be an excellent hotel if only some of the staff in the dining room were trained a little more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paticia_crompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is an excellent hotel - especially for families.
We have stayed at the Langstone Cliff many times and never been disapointed. Our children always loved it and have been back now they are older.
You have to recognise that this is not, and does not claim to be, a five star hotel. But the freindliness of the service, value for money, facilities and location produce a fantastic atmosphere.
Again the food, though generally very good, with a very good and varied buffet, is not gourmet. But it is well prepared and very tasty and good value - the price includes four courses and coffee. The bar prices and wine list are very reasonable - not like many hotels.
They run some excellent speciality weekends. We have been to two jazz weekends where the music was great and fantastic value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midaged-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey
Level Contributor
239 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Having just returned from a 2 day experience at this hotel, I would like to share my comments. The location is excellent and views from terrace spectacular with outdoor swimming pool in summer months. This is a good hotel and I would recommend. However, if they paid a little more attention to detail, it would be a very good hotel! The rooms are well furnished but what lets them down, is the old fashioned blankets instead of the more modern duvets - I didn't know hotels still used blankets! The heating was not on on when we arrived, but to their credit, they did supply a free standing electric heater, which made all the difference. Also on arrival, the toilet, when flushed, made a horrendous noise and they did send someone to fix it, together with the blown light bulb by bed. The food is quite adequate, but the staff need more guidance/training - I was 75% through my breakfast on first morning before tea and toast arrived which spoilt a nice and excellent cooked breakfast. The reception staff could also need a course on customer service with a smile! but I have to say that the bar staff are excellent, their knowledge of their products does them credit and their customer service is unrivalled. Yes, I would definitely revisit and would recommend. If they just improved on their bed covers and get all staff trained up to the standard of their bar staff, it would be a first class hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Attended for a 3 Night New Year Package - Dinner/Lunch/Breakfast. First time at the hotel, but will return. Average size room, no sea view as all booked previously. Accompanying couple had a very large sea view room with A/C.
Lots of kids, but to be expected as the hotel obviously prides itself on encouraging families and has very good facilities and activity equipment for them. Don't stay if you like a quiet time, but the place is really big enough to get away on your own if required.
Staff were hard working and efficient.
New Years eve Dinner and entertainment was good and the meal was very nice - we had the Fillet of Beef and were gratified that it was cooked pink! Lovely.
Hotel location is great and loads of free parking.
Good job.

Room Tip: Room 38 is very large with great sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seawisedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Back again for our 3rd family get together at the Langstone Cliff Hotel and our expectations were met once more with good food, comfortable, clean accommodation and welcoming staff. Our party included 2 '65+', several grumpy teenagers and 2 lively dogs as well as several weary parents but the hotel offered something for all to ensure a relaxing time for everyone. Facilities include an indoor pool, full-size snooker table, and a table tennis room, very popular with many of our party. Copious food available throughout the day meant that regular dog-walks along the sea front right next to the hotel were a necessity if we were to get into our party clothes for the murder mystery event and pantomime held during our stay. Our senior party members and hosts for our family weekend have also stayed at the Langstone Cliff during summer months and report a consistency of standard delivered to match that offered during this special celebration package run by the hotel between Christmas and New Year.

Room Tip: rooms 42-54 have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This year...2011 is our 7th year staying at the lovely hotel...we go for our annual dance weekend breaks in the spacious Washington Ballroom...with it's large dance floor...fantastic lighting displays and sound systems. If you are thinking of booking a venue for a dancing week/weekend...then you have come to the right place. I cannot agree with any of the negative comments that I have read in these columns...I think that they must have got the hotel mixed up or something? The staff are always courteous,friendly and informative. I cannot fault the hotel in anyway shape or form... the rooms are clean and spacious, the food excellent..and the hotel facilities are second to none. The service is 100%...nothing is too much trouble to the staff at this family run hotel. Whether you are staying just for a long weekend break or for a weeks holiday... I am sure that you will be entirely satisfied with your choice. I have no hesitation in recommending this venue..and of course we shall be back again in 2012.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with balconies that face the gardens and the sea are the best...numbers 49 to 53...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenandgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
15.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing