We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When it's good it's good, when it's bad it's horrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“When it's good it's good, when it's bad it's horrid”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have been here several times before and had a nice time. Before going again we read reviews and wondered if they were over critical. We were on a group trip on a half board basis and it was value for money as our coach was included in the cost. Our room was modern, clean & comfortable but the bed was small. Bar staff were pleasant & helpful. Food is very good. There was noise throughout the night from the air con unit outside the room. We might have asked for a change but knew the hotel was full. I heard a member of the reception staff being a bit unkind to a colleague in front of customers. Our main disappointment was that the reviews we read regarding restaurant service were correct. The restaurant waiting staff were painfully slow or absent. Come on Langstone, you cater for groups, get your act together. Don't get complacent just because you books are full.at the moment. It would be nice to see you respond to some of the negative reports regarding the service in your restaurant.
Perhaps individual bookings get preferential rooms & service?

Room Tip: If you are at the back you may get noise from the air con unit. At the front there may be noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreySKIers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hello and thank you for your kind words about the Langstone Cliff Hotel. As you will know the hotel is family owned and personally run. There is almost always a member of the family management team available to talk to at the time of any problems and we would prefer to be able to address any of these concerns at the time.

To respond to your comments:

The Single beds in the hotel are a standard 3’ by 6’3” and the double beds are the standard 4’6” by 6’3”. We are considering the introduction of larger King sized beds in some rooms.

You are correct that the member of reception staff should not have been unkind to a colleague in front of guests and we are sorry about this.

We are sorry you were disturbed but noise is hard to comment on when not knowing the room’s location or the time but we should be pleased to discuss this personally by telephone, letter, or e-mail.

As to the restaurant service whilst we are particularly concerned to hear that you were not satisfied with the speed of service we find it problematic to respond to comments regarding speed of service when, as often the case of Trip Advisor reviews, there is no indication of time, date, or circumstance. There are senior members of staff on duty in the restaurant for each service and these are easily identifiable by their different uniforms and badges they are only too pleased to addresses any concerns at the time. Failing this a member of the family management team is almost always on site and would be pleased to talk to you. As you will know we also place guest satisfaction forms in all the guest rooms and these are responded to personally when required.

Speed of service is a personal preference with some guests requesting a slower pace of service as they are on holiday and others wishing a quicker service as they may wish to be ready for a conference, meeting, entertainment or some other event. We try and cater for all situations and if we have not succeeded we wish to know as all of the management and staff at the Langstone Cliff hotel are committed to providing the best levels of service we can at all times and we are most definitely not complacent .

In general we feel that to serve a meal, with a choice at each course, of starter, main course , sweet, cheese and coffee and the guest is finished within 90 minutes is acceptable until we are told otherwise and many of our guests are quite content taking longer over their meal. On the other hand we can and have served the same sort of meal in under an hour on request.

We make no distinction between guests in groups or individual travellers.

Yours faithfully

Mark Rogers, partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    186
    57
    17
    15
See reviews for
268
195
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
matlock
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A really good holiday had by all my family.

Food fantastic, staff top notch,entertainment first class, hotel impeccably clean, room delightful, location A1, pool nice and warm, superb for kids as there are safe indoor and outdoor play areas, great wine list, beer kept very well and priced extremely fairly,

I would and will go back and so should you! probably the best place to stay in Devon

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooks56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nlorthampton England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have just celebrated our Ruby Wedding Anniversary here on Easter Sunday. We made all of our arrangements with Geoff who was very courteous and caring. We had our celebration lunch for 16 in the Verandah Room which looked lovely and our lunch was very good. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Our four grandchildren made full use of the Easter entertainment and really enjoyed the magician and disco. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as it exceeded our expectations on the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithandginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

As it was our Wedding Anniversary, we decided to push the boat out and have a better class (we hoped) Sunday lunch somewhere nice, and I remembered this Hotel from many years ago as having a nice view....so decided to enquire if Sunday lunch was available to non residents just passing.....it was , at £17.50 a head. I baulked at this, being a tight wad, but well, it was our anniversary, so decided to go for it, and hopefully score some brownie points.
Very glad I did, and definitely scored brownie points ! The price was for FIVE courses. We got a (modestly priced) drink at the bar, having booked for lunch, and were advised that we had until 2 PM to take our table, so would we like to enjoy our drinks on the sun terrace......which we duly did. Amazing view, attentive service from the waiting staff, we loved it.
Eventually ambled in to eat, and the food was superb, amongst the best I can remember in this country. Courteous, helpful staff, reataurant that was nice and cool, plenty of space between tables, and sensational food. We had our coffess (with cream) back on the sun terrace....and really didn't want to go home !
ALL the staff we came into contact with were helpfullness itself....the icing on the cake for me was a "Happy Anniversary" card on the table as we sat for lunch, a lovely touch I thought.
Will definitely be back for more. I cant wait.
I see there are a few awful reviews on here about the Hotel, but notice that they are rather historic now. Would seem to me the management have taken note of concerns, and addressed the relevant areas.
Note also by having the full blowout for lunch, it also entitles you to a swim in the indoor pool....suggest you swim before you eat, unless you want to impersonate a sumbmarine !
Thanks to all for a splendid few hours which felt like we were on holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brixhamrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have just had a lovely dancing weekend at this hotel. The rooms were excellent -we did not mind the blankets as you could adjust the number used - the food was good but the service was not. We also were halfway through our cooked breakfast before we were offered tea and toast. The supper in the evening was started at 7pm but not finished until 9.30pm just
so long sitting around waiting and the young man who was sent to hear our complaint was quite rude. We were all rather shocked by his attitude. I agree with Philip S that this could be an excellent hotel if only some of the staff in the dining room were trained a little more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paticia_crompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is an excellent hotel - especially for families.
We have stayed at the Langstone Cliff many times and never been disapointed. Our children always loved it and have been back now they are older.
You have to recognise that this is not, and does not claim to be, a five star hotel. But the freindliness of the service, value for money, facilities and location produce a fantastic atmosphere.
Again the food, though generally very good, with a very good and varied buffet, is not gourmet. But it is well prepared and very tasty and good value - the price includes four courses and coffee. The bar prices and wine list are very reasonable - not like many hotels.
They run some excellent speciality weekends. We have been to two jazz weekends where the music was great and fantastic value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midaged-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey
Level Contributor
239 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Having just returned from a 2 day experience at this hotel, I would like to share my comments. The location is excellent and views from terrace spectacular with outdoor swimming pool in summer months. This is a good hotel and I would recommend. However, if they paid a little more attention to detail, it would be a very good hotel! The rooms are well furnished but what lets them down, is the old fashioned blankets instead of the more modern duvets - I didn't know hotels still used blankets! The heating was not on on when we arrived, but to their credit, they did supply a free standing electric heater, which made all the difference. Also on arrival, the toilet, when flushed, made a horrendous noise and they did send someone to fix it, together with the blown light bulb by bed. The food is quite adequate, but the staff need more guidance/training - I was 75% through my breakfast on first morning before tea and toast arrived which spoilt a nice and excellent cooked breakfast. The reception staff could also need a course on customer service with a smile! but I have to say that the bar staff are excellent, their knowledge of their products does them credit and their customer service is unrivalled. Yes, I would definitely revisit and would recommend. If they just improved on their bed covers and get all staff trained up to the standard of their bar staff, it would be a first class hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
221 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
496 reviews
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
839 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,748 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing