We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cliffden Hotel(Teignmouth)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Royal Beacon Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashton Court(Exmouth)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Manor Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
457
208
63
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
457
208
63
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelsnooker roomtable tennisfamily hoteldance weekendcheese and biscuitsbuffet stylewashington suitetennis courtsdawlish warrenindoor poolsea viewbar mealsbreakfast and dinnercoastal pathsea frontenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 760 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Lovely location within walking distance of the beach with a railway adjacent. This is definietly a bonus for those who like trains. We arrived at the same time as a coach party but were very efficiently processed by the reception staff. The room was large and comfortable with a sea view. Nothng was too much trouble for the staff. We requested duvets instead of sheets and blankets and a mini fridge. These were supplied very promptly. The breakfast was very good with a wide range. I was able to have porridge with soya milk; not often available. There was plenty of comfortable seating and two pools, one outdoor. It was very pleasant to have the personal service which is only available in a family run hotel. My only criticism was the standard of food in the restaurant in the evening, and the noisy disruption caused by a wedding on the Saturday afternoon. Despite this I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaspirit44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

First stay at hotel, very impressed overall. Great location overlooking sea, decor very high standard, including bedroom. Lounges great position overlooking sea, very comfortable.
Resturant decor, ambience etc high quality, breakfast excellent. Dinner experience a little bizarre, no one explained it was a carvery until we questioned why only the starter order was taken. Had to request bottle of wine 3 times, food quality good but questionable value for money.
Staff all excellent.
Hotel rates verging on the pricey side for an October break, overall though very positive feedback.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Visited for lunch on a Saturday afternoon; family treat. We decided to eat where the outside tables were situated, next to the child play area. We were treated so rude by a barman for visiting the bar, ordering food and spending our hard earned money at this hotel. There was then lots of dog and rabbit faeces on the lawn next to the childs play area, which is a definite health hazard. What was not a health hazard however was the £8.50 deep fried cod in breadcrumbs that had obviously come frozen and out of a box (are there no chefs in this hotel?) and was cooked so much it was hard to cut, with frozen peas that had lost their colour. The chips, also frozen and out of a bag were dry and were perhaps left over from another customer, and reheated. Shocking place!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank DevonNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Hello,
Thank you for your comments which you have posted on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed and very upset to read this and have spent some considerable time investigating this incident which is complicated by not knowing the correct time and date. Especially as the last few Saturdays have been very busy with Multiple Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, holidays and weekend breaks all taking place at the hotel.

We pride ourselves on our friendly but professional approach and if one of our team was deliberately rude to you this is unforgivable and for this I humbly apologise.

You state you were disappointed in the quality of your food and location; this is not normally the case as we receive many compliments on our food and location.

If this had been raised at the time we would have done our utmost to correct any shortcomings.

Kind regards

Mark Rogers
Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed for two nights, the rooms was spacious and clean. Lovely location and easy to find (although my Satnav took me down a windy bumpy lane to save a minute off the journey). Dawlish itself was a disappointment so we went back to the hotel for an evening meal which was perfect.

Breakfast was good, plenty of it and the staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Lovely welcoming but unobtrusive hotel very near to beach. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Food was very nice and plenty of it. Reasonably priced. Rooms were comfortable with all the usual requirements. Would be happy to recommend and will definitely go back again. Perfect for couples and families alike.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thank you, we hop to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews