We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langstone Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We had a lovely 2 day break at the Langstone Cliff Hotel, such a lovely location and easy access to Dawlish by train which we enjoyed, Staff were really polite and efficient. Rooms were very clean and a good size, I have to add the chocolate we bought from the hotel was delicious, had bought a couple for presents as well, wish I had kept them........
Loved it all will certainly return at some stage.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jemacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    180
    56
    14
    15
See reviews for
248
187
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Just spent a weekend here to celebrate a 40 the wedding anniversary with 19 in our party, in a variety of rooms.
This hotel had a stunning location, walking distance to the warren, beautiful grounds a plethora of well considered facilities to cover the needs of all aged guests. Tastefully decorated but not pretentious, comfortable and well kept.
Above all the staff were phenomenal. Especially Mark (bar manager) who treated our children like extra special guests, made us all feel extremely welcome, and to whom nothing seemed too much trouble. Also posey (reception) who tirelessly put up with my husbands 2 sound checks and then listened for our children.
I really can't say enough to praise the staff or the hotel. We will be returning again soon. Maybe family Christmas.
The food was excellent at breakfast, bar food and snacks were very reasonably priced and thoroughly enjoyed by all 19 of us. Our dinner (celebratory for the occasion) in the restaurant was a self service, was perfectly respectable and served at table at our request, Raspberry lemon cheesecake was heavenly.
Thank you langstone for making a special family celebration something completely unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Copperjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Lovely location within walking distance of the beach with a railway adjacent. This is definietly a bonus for those who like trains. We arrived at the same time as a coach party but were very efficiently processed by the reception staff. The room was large and comfortable with a sea view. Nothng was too much trouble for the staff. We requested duvets instead of sheets and blankets and a mini fridge. These were supplied very promptly. The breakfast was very good with a wide range. I was able to have porridge with soya milk; not often available. There was plenty of comfortable seating and two pools, one outdoor. It was very pleasant to have the personal service which is only available in a family run hotel. My only criticism was the standard of food in the restaurant in the evening, and the noisy disruption caused by a wedding on the Saturday afternoon. Despite this I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaspirit44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

First stay at hotel, very impressed overall. Great location overlooking sea, decor very high standard, including bedroom. Lounges great position overlooking sea, very comfortable.
Resturant decor, ambience etc high quality, breakfast excellent. Dinner experience a little bizarre, no one explained it was a carvery until we questioned why only the starter order was taken. Had to request bottle of wine 3 times, food quality good but questionable value for money.
Staff all excellent.
Hotel rates verging on the pricey side for an October break, overall though very positive feedback.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank menors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Visited for lunch on a Saturday afternoon; family treat. We decided to eat where the outside tables were situated, next to the child play area. We were treated so rude by a barman for visiting the bar, ordering food and spending our hard earned money at this hotel. There was then lots of dog and rabbit faeces on the lawn next to the childs play area, which is a definite health hazard. What was not a health hazard however was the £8.50 deep fried cod in breadcrumbs that had obviously come frozen and out of a box (are there no chefs in this hotel?) and was cooked so much it was hard to cut, with frozen peas that had lost their colour. The chips, also frozen and out of a bag were dry and were perhaps left over from another customer, and reheated. Shocking place!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DevonNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your comments which you have posted on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed and very upset to read this and have spent some considerable time investigating this incident which is complicated by not knowing the correct time and date. Especially as the last few Saturdays have been very busy with Multiple Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, holidays and weekend breaks all taking place at the hotel.

We pride ourselves on our friendly but professional approach and if one of our team was deliberately rude to you this is unforgivable and for this I humbly apologise.

You state you were disappointed in the quality of your food and location; this is not normally the case as we receive many compliments on our food and location.

If this had been raised at the time we would have done our utmost to correct any shortcomings.

Kind regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed for two nights, the rooms was spacious and clean. Lovely location and easy to find (although my Satnav took me down a windy bumpy lane to save a minute off the journey). Dawlish itself was a disappointment so we went back to the hotel for an evening meal which was perfect.

Breakfast was good, plenty of it and the staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Lovely welcoming but unobtrusive hotel very near to beach. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Food was very nice and plenty of it. Reasonably priced. Rooms were comfortable with all the usual requirements. Would be happy to recommend and will definitely go back again. Perfect for couples and families alike.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Thank you, we hop to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
15.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing