We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only a one night stop, but very comfortable, welcoming and clean.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langstone Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Only a one night stop, but very comfortable, welcoming and clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We will look forward to staying again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone especially if you can bag a room with a balconey and a sea view! Ample space in the drawing rooms for a quiet read or the TV room with large screen ideal for sport. If the weather is not good there's a playroom for the little'uns.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryHolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    180
    56
    14
    15
See reviews for
248
187
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West midlandss
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Room lovely - clean, comfortable and spacious. Food excellent and staff friendliness exceptional. Don't look further - a really lovely hotel with excellent reasonably priced meals and superb value for money

Room Tip: Just ask for any special needs before you book and they will try their best to assist. All rooms sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. Whilst the location, rooms, facilities and service are absolutely fine - even great on occasion we have some serious concerns as to the evening menu. Afraid it's just uninspiring and old fashioned. Would like to see more adventurous menu using fresh local products. Wouldn't take much effort to lift the meals to meet the standards of the rest of the hotel? My personal feeling is you have no real competition when it comes to the food.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry that you were disappointed with the style of the evening menu on the occasion of your visit, whilst we would agree that our menus to tend to be on the popular side rather than adventurous the menu does change every single day, so we do have an enormous variety of dishes served each week. We are always looking out for new dishes to try and introduce.

We do use fresh local produce, all of our fruit and vegetables except peas are fresh and sourced from a Torquay commercial green grocer, whilst most of our meat comes from a national firm of catering butchers, we are even provided with the details of the UK farm where the meat originated. Our sausages are sourced from an award winning Cullompton Butcher, Turton’s of Devon, who again use assured British meat sourced in the West Country. Our fish is sourced from the Uk’s Largest Independent seafood supplier.

Kind Regards

Mark Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth , Devon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have been to various functions here over the last few years and always enjoyed the food , service and friendliness of the staff. We recently stayed two nights and were made to feel totally 'at home'. Breakfast was lovely, followed by a splendid walk along the coastal path. We enjoyed a swim in the indoor pool which was just the right temperature. Dinner was delicious and the entertainment very enjoyable. This hotel is family run and the functions and dinner dances/tribute evenings are always well organised and well attended. We had several conversations with fellow guests in the lounge, most were returning guests which says it all! We always enjoy ourselves here and will continue to visit, as dogs are welcome, we may even treat ours to a day out at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Not rooms over function rooms, balcony is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacemma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Seven adults and five children the best xmas day ever, service superb, food excellent, entertainment first class staff could not do enough for you cannot praise it enough for making the day so special.

Thank you very much Langstone Cliff for a lovely day we will see you again next year!!!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank julian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

stayed here for a family wedding in a family room. much better value if your staying as a couple but we weren't impressed by the facilities given the prices. we have stayed in much cleaner places.

the staff and views are lovely but the hotel doesn't quite match others in its category for value for moeny. we were woken by pumping house music at 7 in the morning due to the hotel hosting a national dance competition which was awful, they didn't tell the guests this would be taking place either.
The breakfast was cheap and watery.

i would never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Hello

Thank you for your comments.

We endeavour to offer excellent value for money and are very disappointed that you feel that this was not the case. This is even more confusing when you state you booked a family room as children sharing family accommodation are free of charge for both meals and accommodation.
We are sorry that the cleanliness did not meet you expectations and would like to assure you that this is not normally the case.

As for your comments about loud music early in the morning we are a little at a loss, the only dance competition at the hotel in 2012 was at the beginning of July. The event was for young children and did not commence until after 9.00 am in order that the room could be cleared following the previous days event, there would not have been any music until after this time. We have not had any of this type of event since this time.

I am also sorry that you thought that breakfast was not as good as expected but again we get lots of compliments on our breakfast and it is very difficult for us to correct this after the event if we had known of your disappointment at the time we would have made every effort to correct this.

Once again we are sorry for you disappointment and we would love to have been to given the opportunity to address the shortcomings you perceived. We invest very heavily in the hotel and have done so for the last 65 years. We the “Family” are almost invariably on hand and try to surround ourselves with a team dedicated to your enjoyment of any visit to the Langstone Cliff Hotel

Kind Regards

Mark Rogers

Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

I have never been to this hotel before , but what a treat in store you have ....Nothing is too much trouble for the staff , as we stayed overnight for the Starcross Yacht Club Dinner / Dance . Everything was more or less exactly right , and a tribute to the owners of this family run hotel .
Coastal footpath goes right past the rear of the hotel which is worth a visit.
Ideal for families too , as several children were staying there , with indoor & outdoor pools , & play equipment .

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the coast , for a great view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian-engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
15.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing