We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Short stay holiday”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Spent four nights here in a very comfortable room. Tariff included breakfast which was excellent. Beautiful undyed smoked haddock served to order .Fire was dealt with without any drama.Bar food not very imaginative and costly.Over the top prices for dinner. However there are better value ,more variety choices within easy reach. Not a dog lover and there were a few around but as we were out all day and we ate away from the hotel this didn't worry us. Leaflet in room convinced me to have a spa treatment but this was unavailable due to Easter holiday. I understand this but leaflet should not have suggested it was.Will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    187
    58
    17
    15
See reviews for
269
196
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Framingham earl
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

16 members of the family attended my parents golden anniversary with ages ranging from 4 to 78 . We stayed for 9 nights.There were some reservations by some members of the family owing to some pictures on the website making the place look a bit dated. All I can say is that we had a fantastic time and all the staff are friendly , helpful and cannot do enough for you . Even a fire did not disrupt them and they went over and beyond to ensure everyone was looked after during this time . I have never experienced this level of service in any of the corporate chains and if they ever want to see how you should be looked after then this hotel is the flagship. There are a few improvements that could be made especially around the time of the children's entertainment, maybe doing a little earlier to allow the kids to eat first and then be entertained whilst the adults eat rather than being left to their own devices for an hour before the entertainment started. Additionally it would be good if the kids could have the option to order off the kids menu and still sit with parents rather than just the carvery option. These are minor points and I would not hesitate in going back or recommending this lovely hotel and its staff to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennyr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Just got back from a last minute 5 day holiday while we where there was a fire in the boiler room on the roof one evening and the hotel had to be evacuated ,the staff where very efficient and well trained,but my wife had to leave me in the room because I had a bad attack of sickness and diarrhoea and could not leave the bathroom,the the staff where very under standing and looked after my wife and would keep checking on me and the firemen where informed about me.
The fire was soon brought under control and put out,I do not know where I picked up the sickness but there where some dogs in the hotel and I could have picked it up from them the only food I had was from the hotel but my wife was ok.
The indoor pool could do with improving and making it the same depth all the way along it slopes up very quickly halfway along the pool area needs a steam room and sauna.there are no omelettes on the menu in the morning the bar food is a bit expensive but very good and dinner in the evening is a bit expensive overall I would recommend the the hotel for a family with younger children due to the charges only starting when they are 12 but for a older person 2 weeks here is a bit expensive in the summer you can get a better deal going to Spain in a 3star hotel with all day sun

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanb585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I recently attended a family wake at this hotel. We were well looked after by the staff. The afternoon tea buffet was a splendid selection; just what we needed. We had a lovely private sitting room overlooking the sea which was a perfect size for our gathering.
I would recommend this venue for anyone in similar circumstances though I cannot comment on the value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzybee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We have been going to Langstone for many years and the benefits of a family owned are there to be seen. Nothing is to much trouble, food standards are always high and an excellent choice of menu to suit every taste. The entire operation is handled by the "family" from checking in to the kitchen - to the benefit of the visitor who is not presented by a "manager" who's loyalty is divided between guest and owner. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: If you want a lovely view, choose a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I came to the Langstone Cliffs for a conference. This is a good hotel in a good location overlooking the sea. Facilities are good, the beds and pillows comfy and the owners obvioulsy keep up with the maintenance. Food is wholesome and traditional, it is of a good quality and very reasonably priced as are the drinks. You are quietly very well looked after, Sandra in the restuarant is wonderful she really cares about her customers and makes sure you have everything you need. All of the staff are attentative and there is an ease to the service they provide. I will visit again, thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

stayed for 3 nights.
warming comfortable and really brilliant welcoming staff where nothing is too much trouble.
great selection for breakfast,
great selection of lounges and sitting rooms.
great sea views.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian1096726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
223 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
843 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,764 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing