We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem - 15 to 18 July 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our Pearl Anniversary. We arrived a bit too early to get into our room, but we spent the spare time in the indoor pool which was great after the journey. Everything in the hotel was super - room, food, staff, gardens and sports facilities. If we had known just how child friendly the hotel was we would most likely not have booked, but the children (from 3 months to teens) were so well catered for that we hardly knew they were there.

Generally, we holiday overseas, but have promised ourselves a return trip for our 35th anniversary.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies and great views were overlooking public areas and not very quiet but the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayburke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our group of 64 ballroom dancers stayed for a weekend of dancing, Please note that the dancing was organised by our own leader not the hotel. The hotel is good but lacks air con in the rooms although fans were available from reception. In general staff are excellent, we never saw our room cleaner as she was really efficient and thoroughly cleaned the room. The waiters and bar staff were so friendly and nothing was too much for them. However the reception staff seemed aloof and there was never a "good morning" or even a sign of recognition, they definately let the hotel down. The food was good and service superb, the waiters do make the stay special. The dance facilities are brilliant, a good sized dance floor and I would recommend the hotel to other Dance groups. The hotel is an easy walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony rooms have better views and are able to keep doors open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed with my husband for a 4 night birthday break. Staff very friendly, breakfast fantastic and bar meals delicious. Love the location, lawns, easy walks to the Warren and Dawlish.
Weather was fantastic so loved being able to sit outside until sundown. Noticed how family friendly this hotel was and wished I had discovered it when my son was young.
Really want to return for another battery recharge.

Only downside was that air con in bedroom was very noisy so we switched it off at night and so room was hot. If it had bothered me too much I would have reported it - weather was extremely warm so probably normally would not have been an issue

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Langstone is probably the friendliest, relaxing, scenic and quality hotel in Devon. The staff are great. The food is unbelievable, mmmmmm. The place is clean and tidy with lovely rooms and has a beautiful sea views.

Strongly recommended.

Also, it is within walking distance of Dawlish Warren train station so you do not need a car.

Room Tip: Book a sea view with balcony near the outdoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeicesterPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I've stayed at the Langstone Cliff Hotel on many occasions and I have never been disappointed. On arrival last week the receptionist was very efficient and mentioned that I had visited before which was a nice touch.
My room didn't disappoint; it was spotlessly clean and had everything I could need including a trouser press and tea/coffee with lovely quality biscuits. In the bathroom there were little complimentary bottles of shampoo; conditioner & shower gel.
I used the restaurant for breakfast and dinner each day during my two night stay. The staff in the restaurant are friendly without being intrusive and some of the ladies have worked there for a number of years and have lots of advice on the hotel and places of interest within the area. The food was good with a buffet breakfast and a choice of buffet or waitress service at dinner.
The facilities are good and the grounds are lovely with the lawns looking down to the sea.
Free Wi-Fi and ample car parking. I didn't get an opportunity to use the swimming pools or other facilities as I was there on business but hopefully on my next visit........

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeTravellersWife00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for one night, two adults and four kids, in two rooms, one beside the other, as we asked in advance.
The rooms are not too big and the air condition didn't work well due to blocked filters.
All the rest was great, the facilities are wonderful for families with kids (tennis court, two pools, playing room).
We were really glad that we booked this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Nir N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We came across this hotel whlie searching the usual internet accomodation sites and must say we were delighted with our stay. All staff members were extremley polite and friendly and our room had a superb sea view across the Hotels lawn and outdoor pool area. Food at the hotel was reasonably priced and very very nice. Check in was very smooth and included being offered a complementory newpaper which was a nice touch. The indoor pool was was excellent and our room {No. 31} was ideal. The breakfast was superb with lots of choice. Free parking is always nice and the Hotel's Wifi, again free, worked perfectly. The amount of people who we spoke to that return here on a regular basis is testament to good feeling and great service the hotel provides.
Untill the next time............

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
19.6 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
254 reviews
17.8 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,064 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range: £71 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing