We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not judge a book by its cover, the more pages you read the more hooked you get!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not judge a book by its cover, the more pages you read the more hooked you get!!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Could do with some modernisation to the entrance of the hotel, signage at entrance is very dated this modernised could give a different overall impression and balcony rooms are not attractive but we had a fantastic holiday and we will be back!!!!!!! Overall fantastic would just say to the hotel do not get to comfortable with full bookings keep on top of what your guests require and you will be in business for ever...... X

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    186
    57
    17
    15
See reviews for
266
192
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had a great holiday, liked the restaurant at the hotel, and the location was perfect. However, we were very disappointed when we experienced problems with our room.

We found the carpet in our room was soaking wet and the room smelled damp when we arrived (Sunday 28/07/13). We called the manager who told us to give it a couple of days to see if it dried out and to call back if we experienced any further problems.
On Wednesday, after all feeling ill due to the smell, we again called the Manager, the smell was no better and the carpet still wet.
The Manager agreed that there was a problem and explained that we could move to another room for one night and would then need to move again for the remainder of our stay. We moved rooms on Wednesday and again on Thursday.
Whilst in the process of moving for the second time on Thursday we ordered a coffee from the bar, the receptionist told us not to book it to the existing room but to wait until she had moved our bill across which she promptly did. We thought a complimentary coffee may have been in order due to the circumstance.
Our disappointment was escalated the same afternoon when we overheard the bar staff apologizing to a customer who was chasing a bar snack, and offering him free complimentary drinks while he waited.
We just though a complimentary gesture, bear in mind this holiday had cost in excess of £1500 for a week, may have been appropriate considering the hassle we had been through and the fact that we lost a day of our holiday moving rooms. We were also travelling with a disabled family member which meant that they couldn’t visit our room when we were moved from the ground to first floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review and we are very glad you enjoyed your Holiday.
We are very sorry about the problems which you experienced with your initial room whilst you were with us and would again like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience this caused.

Kind regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had a pleasant room, seaview, balconey. Clean well organised. Very good food, reasonable prices. Staff very friendly, and customer orientated. Everyone catered for, dogs, children welcomed. Very nicely situated, close to beach. Other towns in easy reach of visiting. Very pleased we chose this hotel

Room Tip: Family rooms are much larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddie75187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We attended a function at the hotel and can only say the service throughout was excellent from the time we arrived to the time we left. The meal at the function was served in an exceptional manner and was certainly of a very high standard.

We will certainly return to this fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you very much, when catering for over 260 people at an event it is very pleasing to hear such high praise.

Thank you once again for you custom and we look forward to welcoming you once again.

Kind Regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for a mid-week getaway, just the two of us, based on the reviews on here. The hotel didn't disappoint - friendly staff, great breakfasts and close to the beach and lovely surroundings. Lots of things to do for families, especially on the lawn and in outdoor pool, so would really recommend this to families. Only downside we found was the noise of the plumbing - taps, showers and toilets, from other rooms. Got woken up several times in the early hours by other people using their bathrooms. However this did not spoil what was a very nice break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel is very pleasant and located in a great spot for all local attractions. Close to the beach and ideal for lovely walks. Facilities are great for families and include an indoor and outdoor swimming pool as well as a soft play area for younger children. There is also a tennis court, table tennis and snooker room for the older children. Our room was clean and tidy although a little dated in terms of décor although there was all the amenities that you would want such as digital TV, hairdryer, alarm clock and trouser press. Staff were generally attentive and accommodating although the standard of service seemed lower than the previous year when we stayed. The change in the menu also seemed less appetising with some dishes advertised but not actually provided on one particular day. However, overall the Langstone Cliff Hotel provides a good place for a family holiday.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor which is great but it was at the back where the bins were and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My first visit to the Hotel was as a baby only a couple of months old back in 1969. Family holidays growing up and many visits as an adult in my own right, always ensure I will go back for more. The staff are always very polite and helpful, the food always freshly cooked and tasty and the rooms always clean. The weather this year ensured we had an even better time. Unfortunately, there was one negative point, on the day of our departure, after only being home for a couple of hours, I received a call implying that I had left without paying. Never had this experience before and was a little upset by it. After I told the lady that called that I had in fact settled up when we checked out and could produce the receipt, she was going to go away and check her till. Would have appreciated a call back to confirm that she had found the payment and an apology, but no call received. After many many visits to the hotel, this slightly soured our experience. Obviously, just an error, but an upsetting one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
10.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing