We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have stayed at the Langstone many times and cannot rate it highly enough. The staff are wonderful from the moment you enter reception and nothing is too much trouble. We love to sit in the lounge overlooking the sea. There is great free WiFi throughout the hotel which means it is easy to keep on top of work should you need to. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable with lovely hot powerful showers en-suite. The grounds are well maintained and we love to stroll down to the beach in the evening before dinner. Whether you eat in the restaurant or have a bar meal in the lounge, the food is delicious and hot.
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nessiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is the third time we have been and we had another very enjoyable and relaxing stay. The food was excellent as was the service and cleanliness. The lounge areas are extensive and very comfortable and the indoor swimming pool is very good.
The hotel is well situated for touring around but has everything you need if you don't wish to be driving. The walk to Dawlish along the sea front is easy and takes about 35 - 40 minutes. We walked to Starcross one day and caught the ferry to Exmouth, catching the local train back from Starcross to Dawlish Warren station which is only short walk from the hotel. There is also a bus stop at the top of the drive.
We will go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A much needed break for myself, my wife and our dog at this lovely hotel.The setting is great overlooking the sea and if you're lucky you'll see a steam train pass by! The grounds are beautiful and there is ample woodland to walk your dog or you can walk into Dawlish or the nearby village of Dawlish Warren.The staff are absolutely superb: so friendly and can't do enough for you.This is a family run hotel and it shows.The owner and family sit down to eat when the guests are finishing and are around in the evenings to have a drink and chat with.There is a really good feel to this place and I commend it to anyone who wants good old fashion service allied to a relaxed 'non -stuffy' atmosphere.Oh,and the food's not bad either!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl0s52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed with partner for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. The room was clean and tidy, the service from staff was exceptional, and the grounds were beautiful. Very friendly atmosphere around the hotel and a serene, relaxing setting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taarcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It is not very easy to find somewhere to take the dog and have something to drink and eat. This was a lovely setting over looking the sea and we went there to meet up with my daughter's boyfriend's father who was celebrating his birthday and his family. About twenty of us were there and ordered lunch. The food was hot and although they had initially forgotten two of the meals, it was an easy mistake as my family had tagged our meals a little later onto the main order. When my burger was brought out about five minutes later they had then forgotten the cheese. Nothing was too much trouble and they quickly brought out a big bowl of cheese for me. This did not spoil our time there at all and we will definitely go back again. The dogs were able to roam the grounds which was lovely but if you are not dog friendly then I can see some people would not like this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 91traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

For a holiday stay, a function or a special occasion the Langstone would be a good safe choice for anyone to make. The staff are friendly and customer focused giving you personal attention without is seeming to be a chore. The food is good, and in the event there is a problem it is resolved immediately. The location is good with easy access to the beach, local train station and Dawlish a mile or so down the road and the hotel parking is more than sufficient ,even when busy. Having had occasion to attend a small private party last week a better venue could not have been selected. The pools and other facilities were more than adequate for our needs and all the party guests were most complimentary of the hotel in general.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Friendly hotel, very good service excellent food.
This hotel has a wonderful view of the coast from the lawn where you can eat an relax all day.
Nice indoor and out door pool caters very well for all ages

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinead52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
10.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
963 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,130 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
251 reviews
17.8 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range: £73 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing