We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again for our 9th year dance weekend...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This year...2013 is our 9th year staying at this fantastic hotel...we go for our annual dance weekend breaks in the spacious Washington Ballroom...with it's large dance floor...fantastic lighting displays and sound systems. If you are thinking of booking a venue for a dancing week/weekend in Devon...then you need to look no further. The staff are always courteous, and friendly I cannot fault the hotel in anyway shape or form... the rooms are clean and spacious, the food excellent..and the hotel facilities are second to none. The service is 100%...highly recommended! This year we had room #56... enormous room with both bath & shower..plus a 40" TV and a sofa to sit on to watch it! Absolute luxury! I do love this hotel...can't you guess?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenandgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Langstone Cliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

A friendly, family run hotel in a lovely part of Devon. It is spacious, comfortable and clean. The food is excellent and efficiently served. The staff were courteous and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We found it a great place to relax and unwind. I am sure I will return for another stay before long.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed three nights inc dinner each night.
We had no problems and will return again.
the hotel was clean, bright and warm. The room we had was the same. Changed each day, modern, bright and up to date.
Food was of a good standard though perhaps the breakfasts could do with a shake up.
Staff were friendly and helpful. An old fashioned hotel which has been modernised sympathetically.

Room Tip: any i saw were good
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciaran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Super hotel with a lovely view of the sea from our bedroom window! We had booked a twin room and were delighted to find that one was a double bed (which I quickly nabbed for myself!) - really comfortable too! All the mod cons - WiFi, telly, all the stuff to make a cup of tea which we made full use of, astro-turfed balcony with table & chairs. Also enjoyed having a bash on the table tennis table! :D

Dinner both the night we stayed was fab! Self service so you can cut out what you don't like and have more of what you do! (which suits me). Breakfast was as you would expect, all the usual stuff on offer and all very tasty.

I would definately stay again, I didn't find it spotlessly clean but it felt welcoming and cozy which a lot of places don't, with the right balance between checking you're ok without mithering you!

All topped off with the fact we could wander off down to the sea from the back gate!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiny_teen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is such a lovely old fashioned hotel set in gorgeous grounds looking over the sea.The staff are over and above helpful as we discovered when we were told we had failed to actually book our room! It was Sat night, there was a wedding party staying and ,although they were full, as we had come all the way from Leeds they kindly found us a room for the night in a bungalow in the grounds and moved us into the hotel the next day The food there is excellent too and it's a good place to explore S. Devon.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea viewbut they get booked up first!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamelahayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Wonderful break in a great location hidden away in Dawlish Warren. Great walks nearby and the hotel is very dog friendly. The building is not pretty and looks tired in places but attempts have been made to smarten it up. The hotel has good facilities like a pools indoors and out and tries to cater for all ages. The room with balcony had a great view and comfortable bed. Bathrooms very small. Having two beds in the room made it feel small but I guess this makes it family friendly. The balcony needed a good pressure washer to smarten it up. Breakfast is institutionalised in that you have to checkin with the restaurant manager and you are allocated a table. If you want haddock etc you can have it but order well in advance. The hotel is very busy with coach parties so I guess they have to be very organised. Didn't use the restaurant - bar food big portions and good but very over complicated to order. Good hotel in a great setting at a reasonable price - ring direct and negotiate. Gets very booked up at weekends.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view or balcony - more expensive but will negotiate on price. You might get line dancing...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Legolander706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I started going to the Langstone back in the mid 80's with my grandparents and have very fond memories of the hotel and grounds. I recently returned with my grandmother, mother and 2 year old son. Over the past 30 years it has got better and better. The hotel has timeless charm that comes from a well run family hotel. You then have the restaurant which caters for all and has very friendly and helpful staff. The pool and hotel grounds are wonderful and kept 4 generations very happy and entertained during our time there. I will definitely return again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chippenham84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
248 reviews
10.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
551 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,948 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range: £78 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing