We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cliffden Hotel(Teignmouth)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Royal Beacon Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashton Court(Exmouth)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Manor Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
457
208
63
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
457
208
63
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelsnooker roomtable tennisfamily hoteldance weekendcheese and biscuitsbuffet stylewashington suitetennis courtsdawlish warrenindoor poolsea viewbar mealsbreakfast and dinnercoastal pathsea frontenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 760 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed for the weekend with group of line dancers all agreed that the service was very good, plentiful food and good choice of menu at breakfast and,evening meal the rooms were very good and everything you wanted was included. The staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble, we would certainly go back again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roscwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is the second dance holiday my wife and I have spent at the Langstone Cliff Hotel. The holiday was organised by our dance teachers the Dance Mavericks (Gareth and Lisa Taplin) all we had to do was turn up and enjoy the facilities. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the breakfast was first rate. each evening we had a wine reception followed by dinner which was 'hotel quality' but with a good choice and the service was friendly and efficient. There were a number of famillies staying and childrens' entertainment was provided each evening.
There were a few minor problems, the bath in the en-suite was too small for me and would be best replaced by a shower cubicle. The shower over the bath was powerful and there was plenty of hot water.
All in all this is a very good hotel which I can recommend and we enjoyed our stay immensly.

Room Tip: Our room was at the side of the building, there was some day time noise from an air vent, but no noise at night, We slept very well.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My family also stayed at the Langstone Cliff at the same time as the dance guests and I feel I must disagree with almost everything "TimberJohn" has written. It's as if we stayed at a completely different place! We have been visiting this hotel with our children for over 10 years and, in our opinion, it's consistently welcoming, comfortable, clean and serves great food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the Langstone Cliff Hotel for a mid-week dance break, with the dancing aspects being organised by an excellent couple from the south-east of England, rather than being organised by the hotel itself.

The hotel has a tired appearance, and a complicated layout. Getting from our room to either the main entrance or to a fire escape involved a number of turns and multiple steps. I don’t know if there are rooms suitable for wheelchair users etc, but I would recommend anybody with mobility issues checks this before staying. We always walk the route to the fire escape when we arrive at a hotel - in this case, I would not have liked attempting to do this in a true emergency, with smoke-filled corridors, due to the complicated route.

Our room was almost over reception, so facing towards the car park. Thankfully, the car park was quiet overnight, although sound did carry from downstairs and from neighbouring rooms (I could identify TV characters from the sound coming through the wall from the TV in the neighbouring room, even after midnight). The room itself contained both a double and a single bed, both of which were very comfortable, and came with equally comfortable pillows. There was little available space, with nowhere sensible to put suitcases for easy access to contents. Although there was hanging space for shirts, jackets etc, there was minimal other storage space, so easy access to the suitcases would have been useful. Although the radiators were not on and we left fanlights open (in October), the room was far too warm. This was true of much of the hotel, the one exception we noticed being a corridor to the ballroom. The room contained the usual kettle, tea bags, and sachets of sugar and coffee. These were re-stocked as part of the daily servicing of the room and more supplied on request. It was, however, very apparent that the room was not vacuumed as part of the daily servicing.

The bathroom contained a bath with a shower over it. The water pressure was poor, and the water temperature inconsistent. The lighting at the mirror was not great, although when the bulb blew, it was, at least, replaced quickly. The bath had a couple of grip handles, but there were no grip rails on the walls. A good quality mat (not manky like in many hotels) was provided to avoid slipping whilst using the shower.

We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant. Both were disappointing. This was the third hotel I had stayed in this year – the other two provided very good food, the Langstone Cliff did not. It was reminiscent of the lunch provided at school many years ago. As somebody who suffers from a couple of food allergies, I found the menu did not handle common allergies at all well, and all that was done to cope with allergies was to remove elements from meals – very unimaginative. Even so, I still had a reaction to something on the second night (as I ate an almost identical meal on the last night, but with one extra element removed, I assume it was that element that caused it). Other than one waiter on the first evening, I had no confidence in my allergy being taken seriously. On that basis alone, I personally would not stay at the Langstone Cliff again. Safety takes precedence over other things, and if I do not feel safe eating at a hotel restaurant then it ruins the stay.

The hotel likes guests to dress fairly smartly. I don’t have a problem with this. However, if the hotel wants guests to dress reasonably smartly, it would be good if the waiting staff in the restaurant had a smarter uniform, and kept tops tucked in. Whilst some were reasonably smart, others were not. Expecting guests to dress smartly when some of the staff do not, is something that should be addressed.

For the dancing activities, the hotel usually provided water, tea and coffee, although not always. The water provided had a strong flavour, which people compared to chlorinated, swimming pool water. Whatever it was may have made the water safe to drink, but it was unpleasant. As part of the dancing activities a couple of competition dancers performed a very fast and accomplished demonstration. Unfortunately, a member of the bar staff took this moment to clear cups, saucers etc from tables around the dance floor. This certainly distracted the audience, it could easily have distracted the dancers, one of whom did take a tumble at one point.

The ballroom is a good size, and the floor is apparently sprung. However, for people doing a lot of dancing, it didn’t feel as well sprung as we are used to.

The leisure facilities include a swimming pool, gym and table tennis table. I believe there is also a snooker table. Entertainment was provided for younger children each evening. The swimming pool and gym open from 7am, but both close at 7pm. I would have found it useful to have them stay open later than that, as we were busy during the day. The gym itself is very limited, giving the feel of being an after-thought, with a few machines squeezed into a tiny space. The pool is small and very shallow – ok for young children to play in, but not good for anybody who swims to keep fit.

Generally, the staff were friendly and helpful, although the restaurant staff could do with some extra training.

For a fairly cheap holiday, particularly for those with young children or dogs (which are allowed in the rooms), the Langstone Cliff may be ok. For me personally, I would not stay there again – I did not have confidence in my allergies being taken seriously, the food was not to the standard I would expect, the leisure facilities that I would normally use were very limited, and the whole place gave a very tired impression.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimberJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Hello,
Thank you for your extremely comprehensive review.

We would like to address your comments in order:

You say the hotel has a complicated layout upstairs but it is basically a hollow square with a staircase approximately in each corner, with two additional wings running straight from two of the corners. There are fire exits at the end of all but one corridor which itself ends in a staircase. It is even possible to exit the hotel from the first floor on the level. There is a floor plan located on the back of every bedroom door showing the room’s location and all of the 6 fire exits and 4 staircases on the first floor. The nearest fire exit was 35metres along a straight corridor from your room. There is also a lift from the foyer adjacent to the ballroom. There is only a ground floor and a first floor surely this must be better than a high rise building. There are 10 rooms located on the ground floor of the hotel and several of these are suitable for users with mobility issues.

We are sorry you did not find sufficient storage space, we believe the room you occupied had one 4 foot wide wardrobe with full length hanging and a shelving unit, 2 bedside cabinets with drawers, a 6 foot wide dressing unit with 2 deep and 2 shallow drawers with an integrated hospitality shelf and luggage shelf. We could have provided additional storage on request or possibly offered alternative accommodation. We are sorry the room did not get vacuumed daily as it should have been and will of course draw this shortcoming to housekeeping’s attention.
With regard to the inconsistent water pressure we fairly recently had a computer controlled pressure regulated water system installed, at not inconsiderable expense, and this maintains the water pressure throughout the hotel at a constant 1.5bar. Unfortunately the room you occupied’s bathroom is fitted with an electric shower which it now appears to conflict with this system. Thank you for bringing this to our attention we will correct this as soon as possible along with the missing high level grabs.

We cope with many special diets throughout the year and endeavour to cope with special requirements we are made aware of. As you will have noticed our dinner menu changes every evening and we offer a choice of 5 starters, 5 main courses (including 2 vegetarian options), a selection of vegetables and choice of 4 or 5 sweets every day. Our chefs also produce food for special diets as long as we are provided with sufficient notice. Unfortunately it is not practical to list all of the ingredients in each dish on a menu of this length which changes every day.

Thank you for drawing our attention to the staff dress shortcomings. As you will have noticed we provide uniforms for all our staff and when they are rushing to serve they can occasionally become un-tucked but we will be more vigilant in the future.

We provide fresh water as provided by the local water company free on request and we rarely have complaints about the chlorination but this is of course entirely outside our control. Teas and coffees and soft drinks are provided as requested by the organisers. We do have two fully stocked bars in the hotel and keep a range of bottled Devon spring water as well as wide selection of other drinks.

The Ballroom does indeed have sprung strip maple dance floor which was completely replaced only 4 years ago.

The swimming pool opening hours are as recommended by the local authority health and safety department but residents may use the pool outside of these hours on request – again for health and safety reasons. The fitness room is small granted, but was purpose built and was in fact completely re-equipped in July.

The indoor Pool is 10 metres x 5metres and is 1.5metres at the deep end rising to 1.0 metre at the shallow end. We also have larger outdoor pool which is open in the summer months this is 1.2metres deep. It was deeper but we were advised to reduce the depth for health and safety reasons.

Thank you for the kind words about the staff we really do try very hard to please.

We are sorry you felt the hotel looked tired but we are constantly investing in the hotel and for example this year we have re-furbished the indoor pool and re-equipped the fitness room. We have replaced all of the hotels bedding and have replaced almost all of the hotel beds, some were replaced the year before. We have upgraded 10 of the hotel’s balconies and plan to complete the remaining 7 shortly. We are also in the process of upgrading the ballroom air conditioning. Six of the ground floor rooms are in the process of being upgraded with new bathrooms and an additional 6 rooms are scheduled to be re-decorated in the next few weeks.

Thank you once again for your comprehensive comments.

Kind regards

Mark Rogers
Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We enjoyed our fourth trip to the Langstone in 2013, extended to 10 days from 7 days. The high standards set by the family owners are so apparent - standards that cannot be attained by hotel groups where profits take precedence over the care and comfort of guests.

Room Tip: The view over the River Exe estuary is stunning. Make sure your room enjoys this vista
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews