We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reccomended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reccomended”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The nicest, Friendly, and cleanest Hotels I have stayed in....Nothing was too much trouble.... Grounds are maintained well and tidy....lovely view...Was there for a School reunion the Buffet the Hotel put on was Grand in the function Suite...It is nothing but a massive credit to the Rogers family and their Staff.....Well Done and a Big Thankyou for an Enjoyable stay....Will certainly be booking a break down there again...

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Willyboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    197
    59
    17
    15
See reviews for
288
208
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at the Langstone in June 2014 with my two young daughters (2 and 4) and pensioner mum (74).
The main client group for this hotel is clearly pensioners, the kind of groups & coach trips that do 'tinsel and turkey' - dinner and dance, etc.
This meant that there is good access for people with mobility issues or pushchairs, as well as entertainment if you want it.
Nice play facilities for little ones - a play room with some toys & basic soft play (toddlers/babies only), climbing frames and slides outside for toddlers and older kids, and of course a lovely swimming pool including a splash pool for very young toddlers.

Nice range of rooms - wheelchair suites and singles, as well as family suites. Room 19 which we had is actually three bedrooms (double, twin and single) which share a bathroom, all behind one front door.
Great food, friendly staff. Not cheap, but better value if you book the half board option.

Room Tip: Room 19 is a suite which sleeps up to 5, in three completely seperate rooms - a double, a twin and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelly101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello,
Thank you very much for your kind review, however we should like to point out that we do not predominantly cater for Turkey and Tinsel breaks. In fact we cannot recall hosting any event we have called a Turkey and Tinsel break. We do have more older guests staying with us outside of the school holidays, especially now, with parents not being allowed to take children on holiday at all (sore subject with British family orientated hoteliers) during term time.

During the school holidays we predominantly cater for families with children and indeed at any time out of term time, we present a high proportion of children’s entertainment during school holiday periods. We have many family rooms (most of our rooms are in fact family rooms).We also have the indoor and outdoor play areas, the Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Tennis Court, Table Tennis, a Snooker Room, a Fitness Room, a Golf Practise area and a Driving Range. We even have an arrangement with our nearest club Dawlish Warren Golf Course for reduced green fees.

Throughout the year we host lots of families some on to the 4th Generation who visit us regularly. We host Birthday Parties, Christenings, Weddings, Golf Societies, Motor Clubs, Ramblers, Cyclists, Dance Holidays including Line Dancing, Ballroom Dance, Latin American and Sequence.

We cater for Conferences, Meetings, Exhibitions, Presentations, AGM’s, Masonic , Rotary and Round Table events and even Hashes (cross country runs).

We present a series of cabaret weekends, Christmas Parties, Christmas Lunches and we are open at Christmas and New Year - Father Christmas has never missed us yet!

Whilst we cannot claim to compete with the facilities of the likes of Center Parcs, and nor do we charge as much, we believe we offer something different it is as you say, “Something for all Ages”.

Thank you once again for your kind words.
Kind Regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights came home 16th June, everything about this Hotel is excellent, very clean, friendly Staff, lovely food, stayed in room. 51, from our Balcony we had lovely views of the sea, beautiful Lawns and flowers, and swimming pool, plenty of car parking, indoor and outdoor pool, Tennis Court, etc, would highly recommend,and would Definately stay at this Hotel again, Loved it :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just stayed here for two nights, room was spotless, as was everywhere else in the hotel. Didn't use the indoor pool but the grounds are well kept with a railed outdoor pool. ( great if you have small ones with you) Staff are lovely and polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 5. Room was lovely but had the window open and aircon or ventilation was rather noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife wanted a large party for her birthday, and as it would involve several elderly relatives, opted to have a mass birthday tea at the Langstone Cliff. Booking a bespoke party was easy, with the lovely Louise able to give us options, and meet the dietary requirements of the fussy amongst us.
On the day, wow !! The hotel kindly set aside the verandah room for our use (free of charge, how many hotels would do that?)....which gave us views out over the lawns, and the sea.
The food was superb, with home made scones, cakes and sandwiches. Many of our guests were knocked out by it all, especially when they had a stroll around the hotel grounds, and several are planning return visits of their own.
Special thanks to Louise for the organisation, young Mark for the excellent and attentive personal service he gave us, and the charming waitress (whose name I didn't get) for looking after us as well, My wife had the most unforgetable afternoon, thank yuou all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brixhamrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea.

Thank you very much for choosing the Langstone Cliff Hotel

Kind Regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend dancing break and had a great time, would have preferred a sea view room like some of my fellow dancers, but you cannot have everything maybe next year!! The staff were friendly and helpful, the food excellent, and the location perfect. Our room was at the back it was comfortable and clean. The location is good with a pleasant stroll into Dawlish, get the bus back as it is uphill, very friendly bus driver. Very impressed wold not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Ignore the sat nav which takes you up Weeks Lane, sea rooms with balconies, also beware the seagulls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceejay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayliing island
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely location, good facilities, Wonderful helpful staff. Good food something for everyone, big portions and I really enjoyed the vegetable side dishes they were perfectly cooked. The dogs and I enjoyed a cream tea on the terrace lovely warm scones and lots of jam and clotted cream. Yum.
My room with balcony overlooking the gardens was very comfortable , lashings of hot water and a good shower pressure. Very clean and a good nights sleep.
Everyone is made welcome here, young and elderly ,children and dogs, the spritely and the not so spritely. Yes it is rather dated but clean and comfortable lots of sitting areas and plenty of outside space. The staff are smiling and very helpful. A very relaxing,comfortable, good value hotel. I will be back.

Room Tip: rooms with balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
238 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,879 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,365 reviews
10.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing