We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Traditional Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I had booked a Shearings Hotel with my daughter and 2 very elderly relatives. We usually choose Shearings because in spite of being a little neglected, the staff are so patient with the idiosyncrasies of age. Unfortunately we had to change dates and therefore switch to a slightly more expensive hotel.

So glad we chose The Langstone Cliff, the hotel was clean and well maintained with pretty grounds and views to the sea. Staff were professional and helpful, even lending us a wheelchair for the duration of our stay. The facilities meant that there was plenty to do and in spite of working hard to look after our oldies, my daughter and I were able to relax a little. Families obviously love this hotel, there is plenty of space, a great soft play room, pools, gym, billiards, table tennis, hairdressers, spa therapy, tennis court and of course the beach. There were plenty of lounges to sit in, in spite of the hotel being full the atmosphere was relaxed.
The restaurant food was great, although service was very slow at times. I think next time I may choose bar meals, they looked good and there was plenty of choice.

Our rooms were modern, clean and well furnished. A refreshing change from hotels from a similar era.

The sea view balcony room was very relaxing although the toilet was not easy to access due to the opening of the bathroom door. Space was adequate. Our standard room was clean and comfortable with a tastefully updated bathroom. Due to the layout of the hotel there were several small flights of stairs dotted around, this will be a consideration for some. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful about wheelchair friendly routes around the hotel but I would advise asking for advice when booking.

All in all the hotel was great. It is clear from hotel literature that lots of thought goes into ensuring that all guests enjoy their stay. I would love to come back and confidently recommend this hotel to all types of visitors.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Happyhomelands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have been going to the Langstone for over 10 years - originally with the children and now they are adults we still love going on our own. It has something for everyone - excellent food, entertainment for the children outdoors and indoors and a relaxed, informal atmosphere.
It's also surprising how many other regulars you meet time after time as well - old friends!
Whilst it takes us around 5 hours to get there we wouldn't miss our annual visit for anything!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view - when the sun is shining you could forgive yourself for thinking you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I am a regular non resident visitor to this hotel, lunches, snacks and drinks and we use the pool. Yesterday's visit was a terrible let down, I have noticed that the quality of the food has slowly gone downhill, and yesterday day was awful, I ordered the crab sandwich and when it came the bread was wet because the side salad leaves had been washed and were still wet and what had they done with crab? It was running out of my sandwich! 25 minutes later the rest of our order came out, my daughters and grandsons chips were so hard we couldn't get a fork into them (I took them back to the bar) although we were offered more chips we had finished the rest of our meal by then, the previous time we came (a couple of weeks ago) my daughter ordered the coronation chicken baguette, that had thick butter and that was also running out of the roll because there was too much sauce. Most of your staff are lovely (I say most because some of the young ones need more training) the views are to die for, Mark is amazing but please sort your food out (you have hygiene issues around your coffee machine too you need a barista to come in and point them out and give a master class in making coffee) rant over

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank buntin1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your comments; we are obviously most disappointed to read them.
Firstly we would like to apologise for the shortcomings in your meal . We try very hard to ensure that all our food is prepared quickly and to a consistent standard but occasionally things do go wrong and when they do we try our best to correct things. You said that the chips were not to your taste and that we offered to replace them. You stated the bread of your sandwich was soft because the salad had not been dried sufficiently and the sandwich was overfilled again we would happily have replaced this. As to the extended wait unfortunately not knowing the particular circumstances it is difficult for us to comment other than to say that we should have produced all the food together.
Our Baristas are well trained in the importance of machine hygiene and our Espresso machine is normally spotless, in fact the engineers who service it complement us on how well we maintain and clean it. I can only assume that somebody had just spilled something and had not yet managed to clear up.
To put this in context we are currently serving around 220 bar meals each day in addition to the approximately 250 meals served in the restaurant each day, whilst accommodating around 150 guests. In order to achieve this we employ over 90 staff in a 24 hours a day 365 days a year operation. Your comments have been circulated to all departments. We do try very hard to get it right all of the time but with the volume of business we are handling inevitably mistakes will be made and for this we apologise. We have circulated your comments to all departments and will endeavour to prevent a re-occurrence.

Kind regards

Mark Rogers
Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The first thing one has to mention is the food. Having the option of poached smoked haddock for breakfast is excellent. Of course there is the usual bacon, eggs, cereal, juices, and so on.
The steak and kidney pie was the best I have ever tasted. The mackerel with radicchio was one of my son's favourites. The dessert trolley was always tempting.
The danger, of course, is over-eating. Lucky then that the hotel is in walking distance to Dawlish Warren, Dawlish town itself as well as Teignmouth.
The place is good for kids, as the lawn outside is large, there is an indoor as well as an outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, a somewhat cramped space for table tennis.

Only 4 stars? The evening entertainment is weirdly old fashioned. Could use a decent house DJ, even offer a weekend of electronica with a limited number of guests, perhaps off-season.
Plus this is not a cheap hotel!

The best thing of all? Dawlish Warren Railway Station is a five-minute stroll from the hotel. Leave the car at home, reduce your global footprint (or should that be 'global tyre mark'?), and take the train.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went for a dance weekend and were lucky with the weather.

The hotel is in a wonderful location with Dawlish within walking distance along the coast.

The facilities and food were good and the staff very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ted from Orp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hmm, tough one here, how can i write the best review i have ever written without sounding too over the top ?? Well here goes, due to my new wife having a fear of flying we booked the Langstone for our honeymoon, arrived late on Sunday evening with children in tow, at 12 and 15 they had there own rooms down the corridor from us. We had room 72 with a sea view although this was not apparent as we arrived in darkness. The following morning we woke to the sun coing through our windows and upon drawing the curtains were treated to a wonderful sun rise over the sea, sea view it was and a spectacular one at that.

Down to breakfast and not knowing what to expect we were soon under no illusions, Full English spread with either table service or help yourself buffet style. We were shown to our table and within 60 seconds we were approached by staff for tea or coffee, the food itself was of a very high quality and no attention to detail was spared. After a hearty fill it was off to explore the grounds, this place has it all, relaxing atmosphere, two pools, gym, snooker room, tennis, table tennis the list goes on and on.

Throughout our stay the food was amazing, not good, not fantastic.....amazing, the staff in the dining room could not have done anymore if they had tried, when the children didnt fancy anything from the menu, the bar menu was produced for them, literally nothing was too much trouble.

I know i might be going a little over the top here but i have stayed in some high class establishments throughout the world and i have never had customer service like this, it was simply incredible.

This hotel has the lot, great food, great staff, great rooms, great great great....One last thing, be sure to check out Mark the head bar man, he is a total legend and nothing was too much trouble, really was a shinning star throughout.

Anniversary stay already booked for next year and counting down the days already.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank burnsy133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was probably about the 12th time we had visited the Langstone in the past 20 years and, despite a few misgivings- more later- it still charmed and relaxed us, helped in no small measure, by fabulous weather. There is definitely something unique and special about the place and in my opinion it is worth paying the extra to book poolside rooms with balcony. The location is also amazing, with The Warren a few minutes' walk away.
The staff, some of them very young/inexperienced were, nonetheless, generally very pleasant and helpful.
Much as I don't like to criticise this favourite of the family, I have to say that I don't think the food is as good as it was.(The last visit was about 3 years ago.) There used to be a fantastic dessert trolley and when our boys were young, they would often be allowed a small portion of several puds. The trolley has gone and frankly, some of the creations coming from the kitchen looked like something from the 70s. The trifle we had on one night was particularly poor and consisted almost entirely of custard served in horrid little plastic pots, pots which also contained another, unimpressive dessert, namely a banana and butterscotch mousse, on another evening.
The other, major problem in the restaurant. this time- though I don't recall it as an issue before- was the temperature of the hot food. I love the concept of going up, having your meat or fish served, then helping yourself to veg,but when that food is consistently luke warm, so much so that the whole family group asked for their meals to be heated every evening, then there is surely something wrong. We spoke up about this and were assured that it would be passed on.
Overall we would always highly recommend the Langstone and look forward to our next visit- with hot food and proper trifle!!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for poolside balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank robcla_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hello, Thank you for your comments,
Firstly may we say we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us once again and that you all enjoyed yourselves. We are however very disappointed to read of your experience with the restaurant and will of course make every effort to ensure that this is not repeated. Your comments will of course be passed on to the chefs regarding the choice and range of sweets. It is of course still possible to have a selection of sweets if you so desire, even without the sweet trolley. The temperature of the carvery is regularly checked to comply with food hygiene regulations so we are not sure why this was not performing optimally but this being monitored even more closely now to prevent a recurrence.

Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind Regards

Mark Rogers
Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
10.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
954 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
10.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range: £73 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing