We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The shangri-la of Dawlish Warren” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langstone Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The shangri-la of Dawlish Warren”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is a welcoming family run establishment. The food is excellent, the staff are polite attentive efficient and very well trained. The decor is extremely tasteful. The facilities are excellent The hotel is very clean
The main reason I chose this hotel was because I could take my dog it's a great place for kids and dogs with dog walks and plenty for kids to do. I will certainly return there and recommend it for a carefree happy break

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    180
    56
    14
    15
See reviews for
248
187
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Found this hotel on internet search needing somewhere at short notice to stay near where other family members were staying in Dawlish Warren.

The hotel interior has a periodic feel and decorated in keeping with this style but with a contemporary style.

The double room was spacious and well decorated had a large ensuite bathroom with a power shower.

Breakfast as much as you can eat across a variety of dishes fruit, cereals, yoghurt, full English, toast and a variety of preserves.

Would return and take advantage of all the facilities of the hotel.

Well worth the cost which was similar to Travelodge and premier inn but with comfort, styles and delicious breakfast and friendly staff

Room Tip: I had a sea view which looks over the sea. Small branch line train during the day time but it adds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dia1959ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We first came to the Langstone Cliff in the 1980's with friends from the Aston Martin Owners Club , all with our young families.We always enjoed it and came for about 15 years. Those memories prompted us to return 4 years ago with our grandchildren and the hotel is even better but not changed so much as to spoil the atmosphere. We have just returned from our 4th recent annual visit and can recommend the facilities and standards especially suitable for families. The variety of bedrooms, the facilities for all ages and the food arrangements and quality are perfect.
Thankyou for keeping the Langstone Cliff in your family and maintaining the quality.

Room Tip: All good but some have balconies or seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Lovely hotel. Nice friendly staff. Very clean.
Breakfast was good, varied choice, however, breakfast service was very slow, had to find a waitress to take our coffee order - may benefit from a visible presence of a manager to supervise (no manager visible during our stay during breakfast).
Would definitely stay again although I wouldn't pay the extra to upgrade to a sea view as where we were we looked out at more of the roof than the sea.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maisiemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton Le Clay
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I had booked a Shearings Hotel with my daughter and 2 very elderly relatives. We usually choose Shearings because in spite of being a little neglected, the staff are so patient with the idiosyncrasies of age. Unfortunately we had to change dates and therefore switch to a slightly more expensive hotel.

So glad we chose The Langstone Cliff, the hotel was clean and well maintained with pretty grounds and views to the sea. Staff were professional and helpful, even lending us a wheelchair for the duration of our stay. The facilities meant that there was plenty to do and in spite of working hard to look after our oldies, my daughter and I were able to relax a little. Families obviously love this hotel, there is plenty of space, a great soft play room, pools, gym, billiards, table tennis, hairdressers, spa therapy, tennis court and of course the beach. There were plenty of lounges to sit in, in spite of the hotel being full the atmosphere was relaxed.
The restaurant food was great, although service was very slow at times. I think next time I may choose bar meals, they looked good and there was plenty of choice.

Our rooms were modern, clean and well furnished. A refreshing change from hotels from a similar era.

The sea view balcony room was very relaxing although the toilet was not easy to access due to the opening of the bathroom door. Space was adequate. Our standard room was clean and comfortable with a tastefully updated bathroom. Due to the layout of the hotel there were several small flights of stairs dotted around, this will be a consideration for some. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful about wheelchair friendly routes around the hotel but I would advise asking for advice when booking.

All in all the hotel was great. It is clear from hotel literature that lots of thought goes into ensuring that all guests enjoy their stay. I would love to come back and confidently recommend this hotel to all types of visitors.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Happyhomelands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have been going to the Langstone for over 10 years - originally with the children and now they are adults we still love going on our own. It has something for everyone - excellent food, entertainment for the children outdoors and indoors and a relaxed, informal atmosphere.
It's also surprising how many other regulars you meet time after time as well - old friends!
Whilst it takes us around 5 hours to get there we wouldn't miss our annual visit for anything!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view - when the sun is shining you could forgive yourself for thinking you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I am a regular non resident visitor to this hotel, lunches, snacks and drinks and we use the pool. Yesterday's visit was a terrible let down, I have noticed that the quality of the food has slowly gone downhill, and yesterday day was awful, I ordered the crab sandwich and when it came the bread was wet because the side salad leaves had been washed and were still wet and what had they done with crab? It was running out of my sandwich! 25 minutes later the rest of our order came out, my daughters and grandsons chips were so hard we couldn't get a fork into them (I took them back to the bar) although we were offered more chips we had finished the rest of our meal by then, the previous time we came (a couple of weeks ago) my daughter ordered the coronation chicken baguette, that had thick butter and that was also running out of the roll because there was too much sauce. Most of your staff are lovely (I say most because some of the young ones need more training) the views are to die for, Mark is amazing but please sort your food out (you have hygiene issues around your coffee machine too you need a barista to come in and point them out and give a master class in making coffee) rant over

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank buntin1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your comments; we are obviously most disappointed to read them.
Firstly we would like to apologise for the shortcomings in your meal . We try very hard to ensure that all our food is prepared quickly and to a consistent standard but occasionally things do go wrong and when they do we try our best to correct things. You said that the chips were not to your taste and that we offered to replace them. You stated the bread of your sandwich was soft because the salad had not been dried sufficiently and the sandwich was overfilled again we would happily have replaced this. As to the extended wait unfortunately not knowing the particular circumstances it is difficult for us to comment other than to say that we should have produced all the food together.
Our Baristas are well trained in the importance of machine hygiene and our Espresso machine is normally spotless, in fact the engineers who service it complement us on how well we maintain and clean it. I can only assume that somebody had just spilled something and had not yet managed to clear up.
To put this in context we are currently serving around 220 bar meals each day in addition to the approximately 250 meals served in the restaurant each day, whilst accommodating around 150 guests. In order to achieve this we employ over 90 staff in a 24 hours a day 365 days a year operation. Your comments have been circulated to all departments. We do try very hard to get it right all of the time but with the volume of business we are handling inevitably mistakes will be made and for this we apologise. We have circulated your comments to all departments and will endeavour to prevent a re-occurrence.

Kind regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
15.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing