We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Base”
Review of Gresham House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gresham House Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We've just spent 3 nights at this great B&B and can't fault it. We were warmly welcomed by David and Jackie and the locals also made us feel very welcome in the bar. Room was cosy, clean and surprisingly quiet despite being above the bar and bed was amazingly comfy. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and was huge, delicious and set us up for the day.

We'd left the car at home for a change so the closeness from the B&B to the station and buses made trips out really easy. Will certainly be recommending and if we return to Dawlish will definitely be rebooking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Di186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review Di, it was great meeting you both. We do have some lovely regulars in the bar and they're very good for a warm welcome and local knowledge.
we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights to visit our daughter...chose by chance but could not have been more . pleased. Usually go for farmhouse but this suited us very well...A super room an amazing breakfast and lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you Fiona, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Visiting my sister who lives just round the corner, Just stayed for 3 nights during the Bank holiday weekend for The Dawlish Airshow. Well I could have not been more delighted when showed to my room By Dave...Lovely large room, airy and light, comfy double bed a couple of arm-chairs, great on sweet...Tea, Coffee etc., just felt right at home. The breakfast was very good, plenty of it, Cereal, Toast, Tea and full English to set me up for the day. Nice friendly pub with separate access to the accommodation, which even though over the bar was still nice and quiet. You just cannot fault this place, talk about value for money...did not even have to pay the normally very annoying charge for being single I get with a lot of places. David and Jackie have got this place spot on and this will always be my first choice place to stay in Dawlish, just brilliant.

Room Tip: Apparently I had the smaller of the two current rooms (They are adding a 3rd room) but it was still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you Mick, it was great meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed here for three nights in July. The two rooms are newly refurbished and very nice indeed. David and Jackie were kindness itself, the room was beautiful and the breakfast enormous-and delicious. The Gresham is central and they even managed to squeeze my car on their single parking space. The bar is lively but not noisy for the room above. I didnt spend much time in the pub but it seemed a pleasant place and Ralph the barman was lots of fun. I shall certainly plan to stay again when I am next in Dawlish.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you Julia, it was lovely meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay here, breakfast was spot on couldn't fault it at all. The Inn is close to the town center and a stones throw from the rail station.the room was light and spacious and the bed, Oh! the bed never had such a great nights sleep ( must ask where they got their mattress from).We will be going back and have asked for a weeks stay again this year.keep up the good work Dave & Jackie..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you Steve, it was lovely meeting you and Sandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Booked this place for a 1 night stay on our way to Cornwall. When we arrived we were told the hosts were away for w/end ,not a problem , we were shown to our room by the relief manager Ralph.
Access to the rooms is by a private door so you dont need to go through the pub (great idea).The room we had was absolutely fantastic,large bed ,large en-suite , plenty of room ,and very clean and well kept up to,recently refurbed i would say.
Down in the well stocked bar there are 3/4 real ales of a very good quality and very reasonably priced too ,also very friendly locals and staff (Ralph), when asked to turn the music up he said sorry not tonight we have guests staying upstairs , as our room is above the bar area i thought this was very considerate.
As for the noise someone commented on on here, i have to say we didnt here a thing .
At breakfast Ralph asked what we would like , 2 full english please , he then said this was the first breakfasts he had done (oh dear wheres the nearest macdonalds when you need it ). We didnt need to worry , this man knows how to feed people ,what a plate full, cooked to perfection and very well presented , did us for most of the day.
Although our room was on the road side the double glazing certainly took care of any traffic/people noise at night .
This is a great place to stay when in Dawlish and we will return again sometime , although we didnt meet the hosts, Ralph's friendliness and helpfulness were excellent.
Look forward to staying again .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you Mick. Sorry we didn't get to meet you, but glad Ralph looked after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Have stayed here a few times and very happy with the B&B. The room is a big size, comfy beds, great shower and very clean. The owners are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The massive fry-up breakfast is amazing and you'll not be hungry for the rest of the day! Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallie400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you Sallie, it was lovely meeting you and Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
719 reviews
3.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.4 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#6 of 12 in Dawlish
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lammas Park House
Lammas Park House
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham House Inn

Address: 1 Commercial Road, Dawlish EX7 9HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Gresham House Inn Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing