We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“apperance”
Review of Gresham House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gresham House Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“apperance”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

when arriving we thought oh no we might have made a mistake quite grubby on the outside,once we got into our room it was nice well preasented lovley decor nice big bath lovley comfortable bed,at night time the room could do with blackout curtains as there is a street light outside the window,for the price also £60 was a little high breakfast wasn't included with the price

Room Tip: the room we stayed in was no:2 big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpfc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
The curtains issue is one we're looking into as the lights outside stay on till quite late.
The painting of the outside has been started but the painter in question has not been back to finish off the job, the problem being the road and ladder angles required. When we took over the whole place needed refurbishing. It's a long job and some parts have not been done yet, but we're getting there.
With regard to your not having breakfast, it is available, you just have to choose that option when booking.
Overall I'm glad you enjoyed your stay - come back in a few months and see how we're getting on with the redecorations!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
16
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My partner and myself stayed here for 1 night just after the late May bank holiday. The room was very big and very comfortably furnished. After spending the day sightseeing around town, we decided to visit the bar here last thing, and were very pleasantly surprised at the great choice of (very local) real ales on offer (we were disappointed to learn that they had just finished their Real Ale Festival the weekend before!). We had a great time here - with the owner and locals being very friendly. The room was very quiet to sleep in, despite being above a bar. The next morning we were treated to a huge belly-popping breakfast. Must also mention that you get free wifi here as well, so I could browse the online papers in the morning. We would wholeheartedly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review Linda, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We always try to keep a couple of real ales going at all times and Dave does like his festivals - usually done for charity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just come back from a week in dawlish. Had a fantastic stay couldn't fault anything . Location is good ,rooms are large and have everything u need, loverly little b.b and pub.
David and Jackie made us welcome and are a loverly couple we will definitely stay again if we decide to to come back ,I think it was the breakfasts ( full English) that swayed me!!! thanks Jackie hope to come back next year .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrylwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your review Cheryl, it was lovely meeting you both and we'd love to see you again sometime. Glad you liked the breakfasts, I do try to give my guests a good start to the day!! All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

thankyou for great stay, we were visiting family for the weekend , not one thing to complain about really looked after. Jackie & dave were really nice & helpful the food was superb & the room was lovely

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you, it was lovely meeting you and We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We've just spent 3 nights at this great B&B and can't fault it. We were warmly welcomed by David and Jackie and the locals also made us feel very welcome in the bar. Room was cosy, clean and surprisingly quiet despite being above the bar and bed was amazingly comfy. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and was huge, delicious and set us up for the day.

We'd left the car at home for a change so the closeness from the B&B to the station and buses made trips out really easy. Will certainly be recommending and if we return to Dawlish will definitely be rebooking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review Di, it was great meeting you both. We do have some lovely regulars in the bar and they're very good for a warm welcome and local knowledge.
we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights to visit our daughter...chose by chance but could not have been more . pleased. Usually go for farmhouse but this suited us very well...A super room an amazing breakfast and lovely hosts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you Fiona, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Visiting my sister who lives just round the corner, Just stayed for 3 nights during the Bank holiday weekend for The Dawlish Airshow. Well I could have not been more delighted when showed to my room By Dave...Lovely large room, airy and light, comfy double bed a couple of arm-chairs, great on sweet...Tea, Coffee etc., just felt right at home. The breakfast was very good, plenty of it, Cereal, Toast, Tea and full English to set me up for the day. Nice friendly pub with separate access to the accommodation, which even though over the bar was still nice and quiet. You just cannot fault this place, talk about value for money...did not even have to pay the normally very annoying charge for being single I get with a lot of places. David and Jackie have got this place spot on and this will always be my first choice place to stay in Dawlish, just brilliant.

Room Tip: Apparently I had the smaller of the two current rooms (They are adding a 3rd room) but it was still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackyM61, Owner at Gresham House Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you Mick, it was great meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
699 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
238 reviews
3.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lammas Park House
Lammas Park House
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham House Inn

Property: Gresham House Inn
Address: 1 Commercial Road, Dawlish EX7 9HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Gresham House Inn Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing