We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loveley Lunch”
Review of Ten Green Bottles

Ten Green Bottles
Ranked #31 of 56 Restaurants in Dawlish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The shop also has a vintage tearoom seating twelve people for afternoon tea (with or without champagne!), lunches and Devon cream teas (with porcelain cups - making a real ceremony out of drinking tea - Victoria Wood Would be proud). Also available as a private evening venue offering an innovative menu - ideal for celebrating birthdays, group meals and special gatherings.
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We have just had a lovely lunch at Ten Green Bottles, it is not open in the evenings, so the above information is incorrect, but what a lovely place to eat during the day. The staff are very friendly and it has a lovely homely atmosphere. We both had a cheese and chutney jacket potato and it came with plenty of lovely salad. The sandwiches also looked gorgeous from what we saw of other peoples. There was also plenty of hot water to add to your strong cup of tea. We live in Dawlish and will happily use this tearoom, which is also a lovely gift shop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Ten Green Bottles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Hi. Thanks for your lovely review. It was really useful that you pointed out our info on Tripadvisor needs to be amended. I am a bit of a technical fool but I am going to have a go at trying to change it right now. Fingers crossed! Thanks for taking the time to review your lunch and particularly, in this case, it may actually help me to get the right marketing message across. We are indeed no longer open in the evenings for food in Ten Green Bottles (except private parties). The same lovely chefs now cook at Jack Sprat's in the evenings so please do try our sister restaurant next door too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Ten Green Bottles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

just like to say what a absolutley gorgeous evening we had on News Eve, they really did them self proud. the 7 courses of food was so tasty and well presented , champange flowing to. the projection of the black and white movies on the wall made it all so special to. we go there regually, as we live in Dawlish, so pleased we have them here now for a truely lovely evening any time of the year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HplusR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Ten Green Bottles, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thanks so much for writing such a lovely review of New Year's Eve at Jack Sprat's. We did try and make it special but any event is only as good as the fabulous guests that attend. Everyone was such good fun and really took part in everything. So glad you enjoyed the food too! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. You have cheered us all up with your kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Birthday meal with relatives from reading food so good and welcome amazing they have wanted to go back since for a birthday meal. 200 miles worth travelling for.

1  Thank sanna_bate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Ten Green Bottles, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thanks so much for taking time to review our restaurant. We are so glad you had a great time. We are now trading from our sister restaurant, Jack Sprat's for the winter, and Ten Green Bottles if selling fabulous vintage and quirky gifts. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks for giving us your great feedback, It really helps. Sorry also it has taken us so long to reply to your review. I had posted a reply but it didn't appear. See you soon at Jack Sprat's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We went for Sunday lunch and had some very noisy girls at the large table .it is a tiny restaurant and the food is really good, and inexpensive .We had a delicious meal which was very good value .

1  Thank Eunever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Ten Green Bottles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Hi. Thanks for your great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the food and thought it was good value. As for noisy ladies - what can I say? We very lucky enough to have a lovely bunch of ladies from a Tangent group visit us for on Saturday and Sunday. We love people having a good time at the restaurant. I will have a think about our soft furnishings though - as I know that helps to soften noise levels. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. It is so important to help our tiny business to grow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We visited this restaurant whilst staying in Dawlish on a saturday evening, choosing this restaurant after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We would both highly recommend the restaurant. The restaurant is small and quirky. The food is sensational. Make sure you book in advance.

If we return to Dawlish we will definitely include a visit to Ten Green Bottles (Jack Sprats)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Ten Green Bottles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Hi. Thanks so much for your great review. You are the first to review the new merged restaurants of Ten Green Bottles and Jack Sprat's. We are so pleased you enjoyed your evening. It makes all the hard work so worthwhile. Please come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ten Green Bottles also viewed

 

Been to Ten Green Bottles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing