We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic family evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jack Sprat's

Jack Sprat's
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A stylish, contemporary restaurant using the freshest and best produce to create delicious food served by professional waiters with smiling faces. Try us for great coffee, fabulous stone baked pizza, pasta, homemade burgers (best ever!)and lots of daily specials. Good value, family-friendly and fresh tasty food. We are small so book if you can.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic family evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Happened across this gorgeous oasis by chance, with our 2 young children last night. Lovely atmosphere, friendly and personal service, thoughtful and intimate. Food was fresh and delicious. Definitely the best choice in this town. Loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annalouearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Jack Sprat's, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time out to write such a brilliant review. Reading lovely things like this in the morning makes up for all the rain and quiet times this summer. I am particularly glad that you enjoyed the experience as a family. I really enjoy eating out in Italy where children are so much a part of the whole experience. We love children eating at our cafe and are really pleased when they enjoy it as much as their parents. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    92
    33
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“At last...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

At last a stylish establishment serving great quality food in Dawlish, friendly staff... nothing else as nice as this in Dawlish... we are local and so would definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Jack Sprat's, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
We LOVE your review. Stylish and good food - thanks for appreciating what we are trying to do. Still smiling about the stylish... Really hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had the seafood platter, it was delicious. A great place for some lovely food and friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrtomrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Jack Sprat's, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thanks so much for writing such a lovely review of our restaurant. A seafood platter, a chilled drink and a glimmer of sunshine - it almost feels like summer! We really look forward to seeing you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic little restaurant adjoining an equally great shop, (ten green bottles), with equally lovely staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was an impromptu lunch for 7 of us. (3 small children included)! The restaurant made us feel very welcome and accommodated us all. The waitress was brilliant at getting the childrens meals out quickly and all meals, (including the children's, which isn't always the case in other places), were of excellent home made quality and portion.
We would all definately recommend jack sprats and eat there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebarnetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Jack Sprat's, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your lunch at Jack Sprats and shopping at Ten Green Bottles. Our super, fantastic shop manager Serena has lots of lovely new things in stock so keep checking out our new lines. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. Great customers really do make a restaurant so thanks for adding to the fun atmosphere at Sprat's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had such an enjoyable lunch here. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their selected dishes. My salad was fresh and flavoursome, my husband described his club sandwich as "yum" and my daughter described her spaghetti bolognese as "scumdiddlyumptious"! All portions were very generous too! However, we did go back 3 hours later for a shared cream tea! We will definitely be back next year!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVRD003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Jack Sprat's, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thanks for your great review. I know you came in on a really busy lunch and our hard working manager, Chelley, was rushed off her feet. She mentioned how fab you were and how much she enjoyed serving you. Thanks for being such lovely and easy customers to serve. We are super grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack Sprat's also viewed

 

Been to Jack Sprat's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing