We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class for family meal”
Review of Jack Sprat's

Jack Sprat's
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$37
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A stylish, contemporary licensed restaurant using the freshest and best produce to create delicious food served by professional waiters with smiling faces. Try us for great coffee, fabulous stone baked pizza, pasta, homemade burgers (best ever!)and lots of daily specials. Good value, family-friendly and fresh tasty food. We are small so book if you can.
Reviewed 28 April 2016

There were seven of us, celebrating a 12-year old's birthday. I would advise booking well in advance - we were given the Lavender Room. The menu is varied, and for all ages (we were grandparents, parents and children 17,14,12). Everyone enjoyed the delicious fresh-cooked food and the friendly efficient service. Previously, we have been with friends (4 adults), and the informal bistro-style ambience is really relaxing. A refreshing asset to the Dawlish eating-out scene.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GeoffandPat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksprats2016, Owner Louise Theobald at Jack Sprat's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Wow . Thank you for your amazing 5* review ,it is so nice to read such a lovely review .
What great news for us here ,The Lavender room is great for family gatherings and special occasions ,and the menu has something for everyone ,including a daily specials board . Like you say all our food is freshly cooked to order and is locally sourced .so pleased you found our Bistro-style ambience relaxing too .
We look forward to welcoming you back soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 324 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2016

We booked for a birthday meal for 4 on a Saturday eve. Lovely atmosphere- not too noisy! great service, good choice on the menu- we had seafood platter (lots of it!), chorizo + chicken taglitelle (yummy!), uncle Buck's burger and pizza. Drinks ok- only 1 lager available which surprised us! Prices are reasonable- average £11-£15 per main course. Puds- lovely choice, would recommend Gluten Free brownie with toffee fudge ice cream!! Lemon tart lovely too! nice + sharp! no rush, chilled place! can't wait to go again! check out their website for current menu!

Thank elaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksprats2016, owner Louise theobald at Jack Sprat's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you chose Jack Sprats to celebrate your birthday here . We are really pleased you enjoyed our varied menu and loved our food. I too love the gluten free brownie a sure favourite ! The Jack Sprats Team work hard to provide great service and a relaxed atmosphere.
We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This is an intimate little place in the centre of Dawlish. It has character and the service is very good. The food is well cooked and there is a fine choice available.
We have been before and we will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksprats2016, Louise Theobald Owner at Jack Sprat's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

How we love a five star review . We are so pleased ,
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We have a talented team , delicious food with great service
it is everything we strive to be .
We look forward to welcoming you and your family, and friends
here again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Stopped her for lunch on the spur of the moment. Perfectly cooked with everything home made. Great Service all at a very reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksprats2016, Louise Theobald Owner at Jack Sprat's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Thank you so much for your amazing 5* review . It means so much to us here at Jack Sprats and mentioning our great staff , our Head Chef Ben prides himself on all our homemade dishes and thrives to produce great food using local produce
thanks again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Worth looking past the front... Delicious meal, family friendly. Fussy eating son ate full meal and pudding. Left to take our time and could have stayed all day

Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksprats2016, Louise Theobald Owner at Jack Sprat's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Thank you for your lovely review . We are so glad you felt relaxed and comfatable whilst enjoying your lunch .We look small from the outside but we comfatably accommodate larger groups and have plenty of seating through the back area . please let all your family and friends know . see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack Sprat's also viewed

 

Been to Jack Sprat's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing