We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Shame” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bailey's Restaurant

Bailey's Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 51 Restaurants in Dawlish
Cuisines: British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Shame”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had a really good cup of coffee, and have previously bought chip take-away that weren't too bad either. However the service is absolutely appalling, the wait staff don't actually wait, i had to balance a cup of coffee on a saucer to my table from the counter while walking on crutches and the two staff on premises just stood and watched. the previous time i had the pleasure of arriving at a shift change and stood at the counter waiting to be served whilst the two had a discussion of which one of them would be"out of this dump" first. The inside tables are dirty as too are the walls and the pictures on the walls. This is a well positioned business and with better management and hygiene it could have been good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kittyspaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    24
    19
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Appalled!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I can honestly say this was the worst meal I have even had. Not only was the food warmed up and was completely tasteless but he staff were moaning about working. The guy that served us said "for god sake, I'm fed up of cooking for other people. Following the meal I had a child throwing up all night which I would not be supprised if it was from this. It was appalling and would never recommend this place to anyone. In fact stay away unless you want to be ill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klkyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Needs to improve”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We were in Dawlish and decided to have fish and chips on the seafront. This chip shop is right next to the sea.

We went to the take out section. The staff were friendly towards us, however they were slightly disorganised.

We only ordered two fish and chips. The fish was lovely and cooked fresh. However the chips were tasteless frozen chips. We were so disappointed for a seafront chip shop

I think the owners need to re-think using cheap products as we would not return her or recommend this to others.

Helpful?
Thank lulaizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

As titled ,this place is in a prime spot and that's why its popular purely for convenience, as when you get the bill for your food you will probably won't return.Taking in to account ,the visitors will be mainly families or couples,so therefore will be pricey,food nothing special.Too be honest Dawlish does not have. such a thing a a good decent traditional fish and chip shop,this place certainly not ,I will never go back here ever

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“DONT EAT HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Rude staff, shocking attitude, food undercooked, and tasteless, people allowed to smoke inside,give them a wide birth, toilet disgusting,

Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bailey's Restaurant also viewed

Dawlish, Devon
 

Been to Bailey's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing