We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically good”
Review of Leadstone Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leadstone Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Basically good”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night camping trip.

The campsite itself is in a great location, within walking distance to the beach and also Dawlish which is beautiful. The beach is not fantastic but it's close by.

The camp site itself is very basic, clean and perfect for a few days.

You have to pay 20p for the showers which I think should be free but the shower block is new and 20p is enough for your shower. There was often a queue in the mornings and they were quite dirty at times.

Overall we would return for the location and simplicity.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jules6525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeadstoneCamping, Manager at Leadstone Camping, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. It is good to see your note about our lovely clean site. Oh dear, I am sorry you had a problem with the shower controls. The water pressure on site is huge - we have to use “pressure reducers” to protect the taps, showers, etc. It was a pity you didn’t call in at Reception expressing your concerns about the flow – we could have sorted it out there and then. The “20p for a 5 minute shower” helps to keep any queue as short as practicable. Sarah and I hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    27
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from Leadstone after a week of camping. The campsite was everything we were looking for, quiet, family friendly and near to the beach. As a family of four who simply wanted to chill out this campsite was perfect for us. No tacky evening entertainment or bar which in our experience leads to noise and disruption.
There are a number of rules which are made clear in the booking process as are the cost of showers, hair dryers and washing machines so we knew what to expect. We didnt experience any ques for showers or toilets, but we go slow on holiday so probably didn't go at peak times.The staff are friendly and helpful and the amenities were kept clean. The field we were in did slope but not in a way that created problems we just turned the air bed around.
The children loved using the play park and we felt safe letting them play while we got to read or prepare dinner.
There is a lot to do in the area so we enjoyed exploring.
All in all I would recommend Leadstone camping to any one who wants a quiet, relaxing holiday. We will hopefully get to return.
Many thanks Andrew and Sarah.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeadstoneCamping, Manager at Leadstone Camping, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. What lovely feedback. We all work hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday so thank you again and for your recommendation.
Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for a week and although not experienced campers yet have found it to be the best place we have been to so far. The owners/ staff were friendly and helpful, the grounds were tidy and well kept and the facilities were superb. The condition and cleanliness are a credit to the owners. For disabled people there is what is basically a wet room which was wonderful for my Wife. Will be definitely returning for future visits.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limbo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeadstoneCamping, Manager at Leadstone Camping, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. You don’t know how much those 5 words mean to us… “How it should be done”. Since 1974 we have strived to offer the best possible service. Dad started this business back then and although retired, keeps a watchful eye on Sarah and I! Just to make sure we remain “on track”. Thanks again.
Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I spent 6 nights here with my 14 yr old son Freddy at the end of July. I booked on-line through the camp-site's dedicated website and it was a fairly easy and trouble free. The site was easy to find using satnav. On arrival after completing payment we were shown to our pitch. There are several fields (3 I think) and they were reasonably level or gentle sloped. We were in the field with the play area which proved to be fairly noisy in the evenings but not oppressively so and it was quiet by sunset as the little cherubs were summoned to their tents for bedtime!
The facilities (including washing up sinks and wash room with tumble driers) were in good repair and regularly cleaned......however there was not enough! There were not enough urinals, toilets or sinks in the gents to cope at peak times. Even worse was the lack of showers. These were "unisex" and there was almost always a queue. I forgot to count but I think there were only 6 showers for the whole site.
I paid about £20 a night for me and Fred. We had a hook-up and an awning. The owners need to consider adding another toilet/ shower block as the one block could not cope at peak times. That is why I am only able to award 3 stars.
As a p.s., one night there was a bit of commotion as the staff tried to keep a noisy tent quiet. I think it must have been in the field behind us but quite close. To be honest, they weren't too noisy and not really bothering me. The problem was in my opinion made a lot worse by the attitude of the the staff member trying to sort them out. Each time he went back to them at 01:00, 03:00 and 04:00 and so on it got worse. I don't know the details and I don't really care and there is no excuse for antisocial behaviour on any site but having told these people to leave the site in the middle of the night, you shouldn't be surprised if they then make more noise. Top this off with trying to get their car keys off them and you manage to keep a good part of your customers awake all night!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeadstoneCamping, Owner at Leadstone Camping, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. Leadstone Camping is set just ½ mile from the beach and in an Area of Great Landscape Value. It is with this in mind that we are limited to the size of building. We have made what we believe is the best use of the space we can. I am sorry you were disappointed with the queues. Agreed, there can be queues at busy times but the “20p for a shower” (lasts 5 minutes) system means they are kept as short as practicable. We have 9 showers (7 unisex and 1 in each Ladies / Gents privacy room).

The grossly inconsiderate behaviour of a couple that you mention went against our “No noise after 11pm” rule. Having been called a number of times the Night Warden took what he considered appropriate action. If we do not act to try and resolve the issue there is no point in having a rule, one that I am pleased to say that is respected by the many families that return to stay with us year after year – many have “25 years service” with us because of the peace and quiet they find here. Occasionally we have an awkward moment and I am sorry if it spoiled your stay.

Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham uk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights . Nice clean toilets and showers . Room for the kids to run around ( although it was out of school hol time ) . Small feel as different fields. Beach 10 min walk but not the nicest , couple of coves on rd to Torquay much better that the people in the farm shop next door told us about . Shaldon def worth a visit .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank claireuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeadstoneCamping, Manager at Leadstone Camping, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. Even when we are busy there is plenty of room for children to play games, etc. Most evenings there is a game of cricket or similar going on somewhere on site. We have the free Devon Map/guide in Reception which shows all the beaches (inc dog friendly ones) and tide times. Just mentioning the Farm Shop next door has got me hankering for one of their steak and ale pies!

Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

stayed 2 nights had leaking tent owner very happy to help. good clean toilets and showers and nice new shop and reception. a basic site but highly recommended. it also has a cheap laundry room and kids good play area

Room Tip: good location and close to shops and beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darren r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeadstoneCamping, Manager at Leadstone Camping, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. That was bad luck with the leak, but pleased we could help with a waterproof sheet (left by another camper!). Hope you have better luck on future camping trips. Hope to see you at Leadstone again.
Kind regards
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited the site in May and arrived late afternoon, the campsite was tidy and well organised. The shop contained a few essential items other than that mot much on offer. There was a portacabin that was labeled store but wasn't open during our stay.

The shower we used in the female block didn't give more than a trickle of water down the tiles and all the showers were coin operated at 20p.

The beach was very difficult to walk to with a young family up a steep hill and through a building site the alternative was across a railway line.

Other than a few moans nice site and well set out with friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeadstoneCamping, Owner at Leadstone Camping, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for your comments.
As a traditional campsite which opens for the summer months we only stock the basics - milk, bread, eggs, etc. There is an excellent farm shop within 50 metres and other shops in the village. The unit labelled "Store" is a "shed" rather than a shop - apologies for any misunderstanding. I have checked the shower you mention and could find no fault, the water flow is adjusted using the control on the front panel.

We are the closest camping site to the Blue Flag Beach (16th consecutive year) at Dawlish Warren - just 10 minutes walk from our gate to the sea front. No one seems to notice the slope going down to the beach! Stopping at the Mount Pleasant Inn for a drink, on returning is an option some campers take.

The "Orange Army" have been busy re-building the sea wall and railway line following the winter storms here. The TV pictures of the storms were amazing! They have been based in part of the Car Park at Dawlish Warren and hopefully their work here will soon be complete and the car park returned to normal.

Look forward to seeing you again.
Happy Camping
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
662 reviews
2.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Exmouth Country Lodge & Prattshayes Campsite
14.1 mi away
Oakdown Holiday Caravan Park
1.3 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#4 of 12 in Dawlish
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leadstone Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leadstone Camping

Property: Leadstone Camping
Address: Warren Road, Dawlish EX7 0NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leadstone Camping 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leadstone Camping which is just a 10 minute walk to a "Blue Flag" beach, is a traditional, uncommercialised camping site in South Devon, and one where the owners have built a reputation for their friendly, personal approach and are always ready to help should you have any questions or problems.Just over Seven acres of rolling grassland in a natural secluded bowl.Plenty of level pitches for tents, motor homes and caravans, many with electric hook-up. Parking next to unit at all times.Pre-booking system to insure the best pitch.BRAND NEW toilet and shower block for 2012 with free hot water to basins.Privacy rooms with shower, toilet and wash basin in both Ladies and GentsAccessible room with shower, toilet and was basinHairdrierBaby changing unitLaunderette with commercial washing machines & driers and Irons/Ironing boards.Clothes hand wash basin.Washing-up facilities. Free hot waterChemical toilet disposal point.Water points in fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Leadstone Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leadstone Camping Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing