We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We left without eating”

The Old Mill Tea Rooms
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Dawlish
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We left without eating”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stood by the counter waiting to be acknowledged, waited... waited some more... then 5 of us walked out.

At least acknowledge your customers even if you are busy and don't had a table.

Took our business elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank birdbrain71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Scones”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We just dropped into Dawlish on our journey home and went here for a quick lunch. We were most pleasantly surprised. Sandwiches on thick slices of proper bread with chunky good quality fillings and the most delicious cheese scones I've ever had. Yum yum & recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CreamCracked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely tea room”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Visited here on our trip to Dawlish for the famous airshow.
What a lovely tea room.
As the town was soo busy with people we struggled to get a table but just waited a few moments and a table was available.

We both had sandwiches and cream teas to all was lovely.

Considering the tea room was sooo busy you can't fault the service or food... lovely find.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xsummer82X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not disabled freindly”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We visited because that day we were in dawlish anyway and we wanted a drink and snack. Because we had someone in a wheelchair we had to sit outside. It was on a steep hill so we struggled. When we sat down we had a drink. The drinks were good. When we needed to use the toilet there was a big step inside that our disabled person struggled to do. There was no Disabled toilet and the normal toilets were very bad. Then we had to try to get out. When we come to dawlish next year we will not come here again unless it becomes disabled friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davew5705
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch Visit”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We visited for lunch and my wife and I had the savoury teas and our son had sandwiches. We have visited before when on holiday and had been very pleased but this time I have to say that the food was a little disappointing and the cheese scones were a little dry and not very flavoursome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davew5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Mill Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to The Old Mill Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing