We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick pint.”
Review of The Lansdowne

The Lansdowne
Ranked #25 of 51 Restaurants in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
510 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“A quick pint.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I called in while doing part of the Dawlish 'Ale Trail'. A large pub that was quite busy and showing both cricket and football on TV when I visited on a saturday early afternoon. Well presented, I would call in again if in this part of Dawlish

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Drinks”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Popped into this pub on a few occasions, good atmosphere and lovely outdoor area. Did not eat there, but looked like they did a good trade in food. Good for sports fans as even a TV outside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,182 reviews
821 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
“flew in”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

the lansdowne was handy to get away from the crowds on the sea front watching the airshow the locals were friendly and so was the staff.i did not eat but i did see people eating amd they had clean plates after eating.they have tvs for sport.worth a visit away from the crowds.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First visit to the Lansdowne”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We had spoken to a regular who we met at the Marine tavern as we were looking to have a meal and unfortunately they were not serving food on Tuesday so we made are way and we were not disappointed it is a proper pub which is nice to witness we ordered two rib eye steaks both cooked as we ordered and I must say as good as I have in much posher restaurants and a lot more expensive overall experience was it is what it says on the tin a very friendly local pub brilliant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Night Out intimidating door staff”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

While visiting the Landsdown in Dawlish last weekend i can only describe the venue as poorly run. I found the staff behind the bar to be friendly but the door staff were not welcoming.Oddly enough they had just taken these staff on well i can tell you these are not guys you would want at any venue.I have heard that the place had a nick name as a fight club which in most cases would have turned me the other way through being the only late night place open there was little to choose from. When i entered the premises the Door staff were very over bearing and intimidating they were joking about a customer which made me feel slightly un-easy as the night progressed i witnessed these doorstaff repeatedly threatening people and what i can only describe as un-savory behavior towards customers who were new to the premises drinking in street seemed common place whole heatedly Avoid!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lansdowne also viewed

 

Been to The Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing