We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over cooked chips”
Review of Chippy Chaps

Chippy Chaps
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Over cooked chips”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

No where near as amazing as we expected based on the reviews here. Main thing for us was that the chips seemed over cooked. The fish and batter was cooked perfectly but somehow lacked flavour.. I think we possibly just expected too much, as it wasn't bad...just not what we expected.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodney2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    33
    13
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best fish and chip take away I have ever had”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very friendly staff laughing and joking all the time they were serving
Spotlessly clean
Excellent food
Need I say more
Will be back soon

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank polly03280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner and a show”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I went in Friday and it was very busy due to the fact that this was the only chip shop open in the Warren. Ordered chicken and chips which was lovely and well worth the wait. The staff are always very friendly and cracking out jokes (it's like dinner and a show!). Would happily go there again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Didn't discover the takeaway until last night but we'll worth the wait (it is popular so a queue often forms). Highly recommended

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dozymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“the best in devon”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Will call in after a day at the beach or after a cycle ride, have tried many others but have not found anything to beat the chippy chaps, not just great food but you can catch up on all the local gossip from the friendly staff, well worth going out of your way for.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chippy Chaps also viewed

 

Been to Chippy Chaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing