We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great camping and touring site.”
Review of Cofton Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cofton Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is a great camping and touring site.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This really is a lovely site.
We had a great family holiday at Cofton the site is very clean with lots to do and many different areas to keep different holiday types apart giving them lots of fun things to enjoy. The new leisure complex is great.
However little things niggled. It may have been the time of year but there was no heating in the very clean shower blocks. The dining selection was very varied but with drinks, meals got a bit expensive. The site is very big and devided into different areas but without any pitch divides kids run through at night making noise. It really is the best site we've visited but not perfect.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank yogachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    206
    51
    17
    10
See reviews for
469
197
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our camping trip so much last year we've went back for 2nds and it did not let us down. We found a perfect place to pitch our tent and had the perfect spot to be Everything is still clean and well presented and did not fail our expectations. Well done Cofton for another fab camping trip!! Shame it rained!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nk12butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I'm reluctant to write this review because I almost want to keep Cofton a secret so that it doesn't become too big and popular!
Cofton was recommended to us by a friend and I can honestly say it's the nicest holiday site we have been to in the UK. We stayed in an Avon caravan which was practically brand new, very tastefully decorated and very reasonably priced. The whole site was immaculately kept and the indoor pool was lovely. We didn't venture into the outdoor pool as it was a bit too chilly to do that mid May.
We had one meal in Amelia's which was nice, but mainly ate off site at a couple of local pubs while we were out and about.
The children's facilities were great - soft play, outdoor play area and the adventure area.
We did go out of season so they didn't have any entertainment on that suited a young family - but we were happy with that.
A great holiday and we will definitely return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We invited some friends and family to join us and had a great time. The inside pool was great and despite the odd down pour we all got to enjoy the facilities.

Well laid out for big and small campers friendly staff and a very handy fish n chip shop on site

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gamblins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned today having spent a week at Cofton, in Mobile home 60. I love the place, the peace and quiet, the nice views but mostly the fishing. I managed 24 carp out this and some nice bream. I heard the usual grumbles about the fish being hard to catch!, are they? or is it people are just not trying hard enough? The last two times I have caught on Chick peas this time it was bread or prawns and mussels. The fish are there, you have to work for them, thats why they call it angling not catching! We have booked again for 2015, its a great holiday venue, the park is set out nicely for families and of course caters well for the angler. Thanks again to all at Cofton.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed a couple of nights at Cofton when the weather forecast suggested access to some indoor facilities would be a good idea. The new indoor pool complex is fantastic: very safe and lots to occupy children.
The food in the cafe area was surprisingly good with some very interesting things on the specials board. My daughter enjoyed the soft play area too.
The RADAR key to get in to the family bathrooms is a great idea and the facilities are warm and very clean.
We like a bit of privacy so ended up camping at the far end of the site, which was very quiet but there is lots of opportunity to stay closer to the facilities if you want.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in a touring caravan from 17th-22nd May 2014. The park is beautifully laid out & the grass pitches are huge. Shower (free) & toilet facilities are spotlessly clean and there is plenty of hot water.We only went for a drink in the bar on one evening, prices a bit high but thats not unusual. The indoor & outdoor pools are lovely, well appointed and looked immaculate. All the staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The only downside for us was that reception on Vodafone was iffy to say the least but that is not the fault of the park & tv reception not brilliant but adequate. We would definitely use this site again when we next go to Devon.

Room Tip: We were on a grass pitch at the far end of the site, lovely & quiet with nice views. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
659 reviews
2.8 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
9.6 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
220 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,748 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofton Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofton Holidays

Property: Cofton Holidays
Address: Cofton, Dawlish EX6 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cofton Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning setting surrounded by rolling meadows, mature woods, fishing lakes and just minutes from Dawlish Warren’s Blue Flag beach. Fantastic four star facilities in clean, tidy surroundings with swimming pool, play areas, Swan pub, park shop, take-away, games room and WiFi. Holiday homes, cottages, apartments, touring and camping pitches. Special offers and short breaks out of season. Online booking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Cofton Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofton Country Holidays Hotel Dawlish
Cofton Holidays Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing