We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Cofton Country Holidays”
Review of Cofton Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cofton Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had some camping cheques to be used up by the end of October and went on the internet to find a UK site that accepted them, and came across the Cofton Country holiday site, which did.The reviews were good and the site looked great so I rang and booked. I explained we had an 8 metre long motorhome and was told that was no problem. We arrived at the site and were taken to a lovely large grass pitch with electric hook up, which was huge and big enough for us and our awning. The site was fabulous. The staff were all so helpful and nothing was too much trouble for anyone. They were always ready with a smile, no matter which part of the site you visited. So lovely and pleasant! The shower and toilet blocks were absolutely spotless with a constant supply of hot water irrespective of how many showers were occupied at any one time. The swimming pool was great and very clean and a lifeguard was in attendance during the day. The restaurant was spacious and very clean and there was a good choice of food available. There was also a fish and chip shop on site. At Cofton there is something for everyone. There are super play areas for the children if you have them and there was also organised entertainment each evening, and although we didn't take advantage of that, there was certainly a variety on offer. We also followed the walking trails into Dawlish Warren, and Dawlish town which were well signposted through the campsite. We enjoyed our stay so much that we extended it by another two days. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves during our stay and will certainly go back. I would recommend this site to everyone, and in fact have already recommended the site to our family and friends. Well done Cofton.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from a week at Cofton (Aug 14), great weather gave this large site a Mediterranean feel around the complex and pool area. On arrival we were directed to our pitch by friendly staff on golf buggies only to find that it was too small for our 8m van (had booked h/s pitch and stated 8m t/a van). No problem came the reply from the office - free upgrade to fully serviced RV pitch as one was not booked for the week, thats how to keep first time customers happy, will definitely be back.
Now for a minor bad point, we are a family with kids and dog, although kids are well catered for, dogs not so well. The kids wanted to use the pool and not wanting to leave the dog in the van on such a hot day found we couldn't take the dog anywhere near the pool to keep an eye on the kids. I think they should cordon off a section of the grassed area for people with dogs to be closer to the pool.
Overall though a very large but also very clean site with immaculate toilet blocks. Another nice touch I haven't seen at any other site was hand washing facilities at the toilet disposal points.
The onsite shop was well stocked with most things, you could stay here and never have to leave the site.
Indoor pool and sauna you have to pay extra for but good value for money as it resembles a spa facility.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanner46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

So we decided after reading reviews to take the plunge and go to Cofton, we were not dissapointed one bit...every single member of staff from all areas of the site including reception, groundsmen, bar staff, waiters/waitress's, security, management, entertainers were all AMAZING in that they were all polite, smiley and very helpful people. The entertainment was good family fun, the showers/toilets all very clean, great that they had family bathrooms with baths for the little ones which were always treated with respect, good washing up areas with hot water, clean site, good size pitches all with electric, friendly campers and for us brilliant weather. It all runs like clockwork and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It was our first trip and our only annual holiday for myself and my husband, 10 yr old daughter and 2 yr old son. The pools are both lovely, the food was good and reasonably priced for what you got. Don't hesitate to come here you will not be dissapointed. The only bad thing for us was the 8hr journey to and from...enjoy :0) and thank you to Cofton for making it a special trip for us, don't change you're perfect as you are :0)

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Danzica1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We camp a couple of times each year in various sites and this is our second time here. I strongly recommend cofton as the toilet and showers are spotless and there's lots for the children to do as well.All the staff are friendly and the entertainment is spot on. Book up as you won't be disappointed

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Camped for the first time here, we we're allocated the overflow field which was perfect for us. Far enough away to feel like real camping but close enough to all facilities should we need them!

The weather was amazing whilst we were there, the outdoor pool was lovely and clean. The bigger pool was also heated. We also tried the indoor pool with steam room and sauna. This cost £7.95 for family of four.

Beautiful grounds. Bathrooms and showers (with the exception to the overflow field) lovely and clean with plenty of hot water. Also a separate cubicle facing each shower with sink and mirror. Very well thought out.

Amelia's pantry upstairs was lovely the first time we tried it but the second time (few days later) not so good. My husband order steak and as he came away from the til realised he'd order the wrong one, he asked if this could be changed only to be told it was already on the grill! Wow we thought, won't be waiting long then.............unfortunately, over an hour later we were still waiting! Don't get me wrong, its not the length of time we waited as we understand it was busy but the thought of a steak being sat there that long! When our food arrived it was all cold (and a cold rubbery steak)! We along with many others complained about the food. I must add this was the only fault we found at this lovely site and it won't stop up returning again.

We met some lovely people here and look forward to returning.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank xxborn2holidayxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from Crofton in our Touring caravan.
To say we enjoyed our stay would be an understatement, we have already booked up again for the same week next year!
On arrival, if you have a tourer take the exit off the M5 for the A379. That takes you the best route to site.
Arrival team are friendly, prompt and professional and even though the site was very busy took the time to find a pitch near our friends.
You are guided to your pitch by a team of people on golf buggies and they'll even help you onto your pitch (if you're struggling).
We stayed on the 'Front field'. Our pitch backed onto a lovely park and a 2 minute walk to showers etc.
The showers, loos and facilities were spotlessly clean. Also offering family bathrooms. A visit to the on site 'Chip Shop' is a must - value for money & excellent quality. They also serve a take away breakfast and various other foods at lunchtime and evening.
The outdoor pools are beautiful, clean etc. but do get busy. We used the indoor pool also, which my son adored, as it had a water play area with jets & all sorts. It had a real palatial feel as the changing area, steam/saunas, showers & pool felt like you were at a Spa. The views are breath taking.
The upstairs eating area & cafe is lovely. Sofas inside & out as well as 'proper' tables & chairs. Staff again friendly and professional. Prices manageable.
The Onsite shop stocks every type of spare a tent/caravan or holiday maker could possibly want. Has fresh bread etc. but would hand liked to see some local produce (if I had to find something).
Evening entertainment was thoroughly enjoyed by my 2y old but the area was far too small. It could hand been four times bigger. It was heaving in there & people could still order food there - would have been better to stop food and serve only upstairs in the very large area.
For a huge site (which we usually shy away from) it was only when you explored the 80 acres - you realised how busy & popular it was. Pitches are large & we got our large caravan, awning, car and wind breakers on with ease.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank The_Luxury_Hunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I cannot recommend Cofton enough! We have just returned from our first family camping holiday and all of us loved it and did not want to come home. We stayed in the 10 acre tents only field with an electric hookup.

The facilities are brilliant, appear brand new, were super clean and plentiful so you never had to queue for the showers or toilets at any time of the day. The outside and inside pools were both warm and even on the hottest day, weren't too crowded.

The food is Amelia's Pantry was fab and really reasonably priced, and situated right next to the soft play area we could give the kids a little freedom without them being out of sight. Every member of staff we spoke to was friendly and helpful.

We had an absolutely fantastic holiday at Cofton, with so much to do onsite aswell as in the area, we were never bored. The kids even had lie ins which they never do at home and was bliss for us! They have already asked when we can go back and we most definitely will be. Thank you Cofton.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LadyNoblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
743 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
1 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 26 in Paignton
644 reviews
14.6 mi away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 26 in Paignton
886 reviews
15 mi away
Whitehill Country Park
Whitehill Country Park
#2 of 26 in Paignton
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofton Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofton Holidays

Address: Cofton, Dawlish EX6 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range: £16 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cofton Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning setting surrounded by rolling meadows, mature woods, fishing lakes and just minutes from Dawlish Warren’s Blue Flag beach. Fantastic four star facilities in clean, tidy surroundings with swimming pool, play areas, Swan pub, park shop, take-away, games room and WiFi. Holiday homes, cottages, apartments, touring and camping pitches. Special offers and short breaks out of season. Online booking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Cofton Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofton Country Holidays Hotel Dawlish
Cofton Holidays Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing