We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dittisham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Downton Lodge Country Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Dittisham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Downton Lodge is tucked away in a quiet corner with marvellous views for miles and yet it is close to Dittisham and Dartmouth. Karen and Ian were extremely helpful, friendly hosts. The rooms are beautifully furnished and everything that you could possibly want was available. Breakfast was just how we like it - in fact it was the perfect find! - Melanie and Geoffrey from Cornwall

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melwill1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Downton Lodge Country Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Downton Lodge is an upmarket guest house in a very quiet location. Ten minutes by car from Dartmouth and a similar time from the nearest village which is Dittisham on the picturesque river Dart. Ian and Karen are very friendly and attentive hosts and the rooms are furnished to a very high standard. Breakfasts are substantial and freshly prepared and as an added bonus there is cake provided in the afternoon in the communal sitting area. It would be very hard to find anything critical to say about this accommodation so I'm not going to try. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: West side rooms have small balconies but the south side room is still delightful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I booked Downton lodge for a short break at the last minute. It was exactly what we had hoped for,a beautiful house in quiet,beautiful surroundings. A perfectly restored period style house, comfortable in every way with every little detail well thought out. Karen and Ian were perfect hosts, very friendly and down to earth, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice.Would love to visit again and would definitely recommend to anyone.
Lindsay S

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We decided on a short break in the Dartmouth area and booked Downton Lodge on the strength of all the previous reviews which were excellent. We too agree, the house is lovely, beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts are excellent and plentiful and there are some really thoughtful touches like "fresh milk" in the rooms for that early cup of tea. The hosts are great very friendly and chatty all in all an excellent place to stay.

Chris W

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My friend and I found Downton Lodge on the Internet and checked out the reviews. Sounded great so we booked for a short break. We expected the best and actually what we received exceeded our expectations.

This is a lovingly restored home, set in beautiful surroundings and run by exceptional hosts. Our tastefully decorated room had a balcony with distant sea views, a spotless bathroom with large, soft bath towels and really comfortable beds.

No wonder people return to Downton Lodge. This place is a real find and we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robina_every
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Downton Lodge is in an excellent location - perfect for visiting Dartmouth and Dittisham and for walks along the SW Coast Path?
Comfortable room, excellent breakfast and cake in the afternoon; this
together with friendly owners makes Downton Lodge the perfect B & B.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Miranda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Our second visit in two years. We booked for two nights but stayed for three! Ian and Karen warmly welcomed us back, and we thoroughly enjoyed the great breakfasts, cake in the afternoon which was very welcome after a long coastal path walk, and extra touches like toiletries in the bathroom. Beautiful views, wonderful weather, and a peaceful location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dittisham
1.9 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,029 reviews
2.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
124 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downton Lodge Country Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downton Lodge Country Bed and Breakfast

Address: | Dartmouth, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range: £80 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful base from which to explore the beautiful South Hams. Set in a secluded position down a peaceful farm lane, convenient for the charming village of Dittisham, the River Dart and "Greenway House" the former home of Agatha Christie. The historic port of Dartmouth, with its fine range of shops, restaurants and cafes and the Britannia Naval College, is just ten minutes drive. Great walking with great views all around the area. Ample safe parking. Wi Fi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downton Lodge Country Bed And Breakfast Dittisham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing