We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fingals Boutique B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$404
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summerhill Hotel(Paignton)
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
132
26
19
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
26
19
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringgrass tennis courtother guestsswimming poolthe barntable tennisrelaxed atmosphereroaring firehonesty barquirky hotelsat navminute driveen famillerelaxing stayrichardfollydevon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

From the minute we were welcomed to Fingals Hotel in this stunning little corner of Devon to the moment we had to tear ourselves away we were treated like long lost friends although this was our first visit.
Needing a break we booked a last minute weekend and wish it could have been weeks instead of days. This place takes you to its’ heart - life here is for joyful living and not fussing. Supremely comfortable bed, delicious food, gorgeous and stimulating surroundings, lively conversation and charming people.
We have found our holiday nirvana.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppy186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Owner at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thank you so much for this delightful review. We truly try to welcome all our guest like this and look forward to seeing you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Great idea but not quite there. Lovely secluded spot and gardens but all tainted with pretentiousness and a touch of style over substance. No shower tho there could easily have been over the bath. And they like to tell you how relaaxed and laid back and friendly they are but the overall impression is one of bourgeois pent-upness. The tiny pool is hilarious - a mural of the owner looking disaffected and smug with lots of nubiles longing for his attention.

Sorry - loved the location and some parts of the house - but if they spent as much time loving their guests as they do themselves it would be amazing

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leostevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Owner at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thank you for reporting on your stay at Fingals, we were delighted that you liked the gardens and house. I am not sure which room you stayed in but all baths have showers over, if not separate showers and we have checked them all to make sure that they are working properly.

The mural was, in fact, a 50th birthday surprise from a very old artist friend who took great trouble over it – we honestly had no idea what he was going to show, I am sorry you didn’t find it to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed at Fingals for an old friends 50th. Having heard about this idyllic retreat for years, I very must looking forwards to my visit, and I was not let down.
Fingals surpassed my expectation. They catered for around 80 of us for two days, and everyone of us felt at home. The hotel is beautiful and aches for you to just settle in and relax. The gardens are beautiful, and you are never without something to see or do, if you would so wish. I encourage anyone who loves the out doors and a traditional feeling, relaxing break to head straight to Finals.
A very big thank you to Richard and Sheila, and all at Fingals.

Room Tip: Have a look on their website, do the online tour
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Its so comfortable, relaxed and easy going. A real home from home. If you want to find somewhere hidden away from the rest of the world but actually still near lovely towns like Dartmouth and with tons to do this place is perfect. Out of this world. A few words....
Friendly, comfortable, fun, lots to do, relaxing, interesting, good food, beautiful setting, just perfect.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I took my husband for a surprise weekend to Fingals, hoping it would reflect the positive reviews rather than the negative, and I was relieved to find it did! They have a laid back attitude that suited us perfectly. We were given a tour of the hotel and told to make ourselves at home in the comfy library, living room or bar with the roaring fires and old worn-in sofas. Coming down to breakfast in the morning to smell fresh croisants baking is always a good thing. The owners were away during our stay, but Rosie was brilliant and made us feel more than welcome. I'm not sure what the hotel would be like when very busy during the summer, but the weekend we were there we were the only residents - having the beautiful rose covered pool, and the sauna with a view of the river running behind it all to ourselves was brilliant! The bed (four poster corner room overlooking the gardens) was very comfortable, the breakfasts (the homemade croissants, fresh orange juice and full english plus more) were gorgeous, the staff (Rosie and Jane) were lovely, helpful and characterful, and the surrounding areas (Dittisham Greenway and Dartmouth) made for beautiful walks. The little touches (lavender in the corridors smelt beautiful and 'homemade' toiletries) made it even better. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holland_Loves_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews