We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A terrific place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dittisham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fingals Boutique B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Dittisham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A terrific place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We're just back from a first trip to Fingals, and our heads are full of memories of its loveliness. Our room was great, with a blissfully comfortable bed and amusing Beryl Cook pictures on the walls, and our three children loved their attic area - teddies awaited on each quilt. We all had a wonderful holiday - the children loved playing barefoot on the grass tennis court, the pool and the games room and going down to Dittisham to catch crabs; the adults adored the beauty of the gardens and the atmosphere of the panelled dining rooms (Classic FM pouring forth over a Full English each morning). The only reason I'm not giving four stars for value is that dinner at £30 a head felt a little bit steep.
In many ways Fingals doesn't feel like a hotel - no uniformed staff hover about, there's no one behind the bar, you just help yourself and use the honesty tab - but for us that was all to the good. I hope we'll go back many times.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoppyandroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    26
    17
    20
    14
See reviews for
74
80
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Firstly we arrived to be told that they had quoted the wrong price for B&B/self catering for a week and then we got told “well that’s that – self catering and no breakfast” – no apology, no “well you can have breakfast on such and such days”- nothing. If we wanted breakfast it was £15 per day per person extra.

On the whole this place just does not deliver. The owners are less than welcoming (particulary Richard) – they have this supremely pompous bordering on arrogant attitude. The hotel is definitely not “shabby chic” – it is definitely “shabby”. They try to - but do not do self catering very well at all in our opinion (in our room – cannot speak for the other self catering rooms). Our so called self catering room (room 8) was quite dirty. We also saw that in some places in the hotel it was bordering on filthy.

The so called pool is something of a joke. Again it was dirty with a generous amount of leaves in the pool from the large amount of weird, messy and crammed amount of plants around the pool side –they seem to think is a unique selling point! We don’t think health and safety would agree. The several broken bits of a bust on the floor which seemed to have been there for some time - coupled with the triffids clearly indicated to us that we should definitely not try the pool - much to our disappointment as this was one of the reasons we booked it.

Mobile phone users beware there is no mobile phone reception for over a mile away. To be fair there was a phone in our room which we were told we could use – but that did not help us and our requirements.

We did not try the food - £15 pp for breakfast – (the Dart Marina Hotel charges £12.50 and is superb) - and £30 pp for their one choice only 3 course meal – is totally overpriced.

We booked for a week and stayed one night for a number of reasons – some of them listed above. We will say one nice thing – the bed was comfortable.

We can see why some people buy into this - we get the concept, we bought into the concept – but in our opinion they do not deliver. In our opinion this place was a huge disappointment, overpriced for what it is and what they offer - as well as being dirty in the places that saw when we were there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank chuchudog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Owner at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Guest,
We are sorry you left Fingals prematurely after booking one of our self-catering suites for £550 for the week (this was a last minute special deal after someone had cancelled and it is not normal to include breakfast when you are asking for self-catering). Fingals is very special in that we offer both self catering apartments by the week and hotel b&b by the day.To stay in a hotel bedroom, without a sitting room and kitchen, but including breakfast would have been over £1000 as we offer a heated pool, grass tennis court, games room and gym. We try to accommodate all our guests wishes and yours was, unusually, to run your business while on holiday. Our free internet access was not sufficient as you needed a mobile signal as well. We are not sorry we don't have a mobile signal as most people who come to stay on holiday find is a blessing, however we did offer you free use of the land line in your room.
The pool is as advertised 8m x 4m, enclosed in a conservatory (which opens up in the summer) surrounded and overhung by colourful exotic plants - bourgenvillia, monstera plants etc. - and our efforts are appreciated by our many contented guests but in our 30 years in business you are the first to express a fear of plants. The temperature is kept at 28 degrees and the pool is checked daily and kept at the correct level of sanitation by the owner himself. We love plants and gardening and we are sorry about any leaves falling into the pool but we do try and keep the pool clear at all times.
We are sorry it didn't work for you but it is difficult to please everyone all of the time. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your working holiday and appreciated our only charging you for your short stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

My family and I have been coming to Fingals for over 5 years, we try to come for a few weeks every year during school holidays. Fingals is so unique to any other place we have stayed, this is reason we always come back. The feeling when you walk in the door is one of complete relief - an instant feeling of being at home but away from stresses of busy city life. We think of it like our holiday 'mansion' and have many amazing memories from our holiday here, and think very fondly of Richard and Sheila.

My two girls love the freedom to run around and play with other children and the two resident dogs, Fennel and Leaf.. also to visit Sheila's baby goats in the garden! This is perfect for my husband and I as we can also have alone time to have dinner or relax in the garden.

Richard and Sheila are always welcoming and very helpful, last year richard took all of the guests on a boat trip up the river dart for a wonderful picnic by the river. Fingals mentality is very individual.. mostly down to the owners interesting upbringing and life; often we would sit for dinner round a long elegant candle lit table with up to 16 other guests, the communal homely style and feel to the place is certainly like being at a friends manor house! Dinner is always locally sourced and delicious.

The facilities in the hotel are excellent; the pool is relaxing with a lovely sauna beside the stream, there are flowers growing inside, the grass tennis court is a gem and the gardens are beautiful.

We have stayed in almost all of the rooms over the years, they are all individually decorated in varying styles, while some of the bathrooms are a bit dated, the beds are extremely comfortable. Fingals is one in a million you will never find anywhere like it in the world, it is very hard to describe; its interesting, relaxed (sometimes a little too much) and extremely unique in its character and style.

Fingals are especially great for big events such as family reunions, weddings, birthday parties ect. I recently had my 40th birthday party in January with about 20 of my friends and family. It was a lovely weekend with a big birthday dinner in the dining room and the bar was later transformed into a disco room, where the kids enjoyed a 'kiddy' disco and the adults had a more grown up disco when they went to bed.

I look forward to my next visit to fingals.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matildarose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We had a good time at Fingals and enjoyed staying there. We booked a room for two nights and decided to stay for another night. Fingals Hotel certainly is an unusual place and has lots of charme. To us, the main disadvantage is the price: This place is pricey.

The location is gorgeous, the gardens are well maintained. We enjoyed sitting in the garden, reading and having a cup of coffee. The sauna is nice with a view to a creek and a pool. There are bougainvillea branches over the pool, so there are some leaves in the pool and the pool area in general is not an example of cleanliness. We didn´t care.

Our room was spacious, the bathroom was modern and quite large as well.

Both dinner and breakfast were excellent. One day, it was sunny and we had a lovely breakfast in the sun on the terrace.

The staff is nice and helpful. However the owners, especially Richard, are all but warm and welcoming. The laid back attitude of this place is somewhat pretentious. But we don´t stay at a hotel to become friends with the owners.

I can understand, why there are people, who love this place, while others seem to dislike it. If you expect the standard that you normally get in a hotel of this price range, you might be disappionted. And the attitude of the owners is certainly not everyone´s cup of tea. On the other hand, if you are looking for something special, different from the standard, you are likely to fall in love with the Fingals.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radgivare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Owner at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Fingals - we were pleased that you say the hotel was worth paying for an extra night. Thank you too for the lovely comments you made about our gardens, bedroom, bathroom and food. We do try not to be overbearing to our guests and to give you time to yourselves to relax in privacy but hope that all your needs were attended to by our staff. We would be delighted to welcome you back if you are holidaying in Devon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

From the minute we were welcomed to Fingals Hotel in this stunning little corner of Devon to the moment we had to tear ourselves away we were treated like long lost friends although this was our first visit.
Needing a break we booked a last minute weekend and wish it could have been weeks instead of days. This place takes you to its’ heart - life here is for joyful living and not fussing. Supremely comfortable bed, delicious food, gorgeous and stimulating surroundings, lively conversation and charming people.
We have found our holiday nirvana.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Owner at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you so much for this delightful review. We truly try to welcome all our guest like this and look forward to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Great idea but not quite there. Lovely secluded spot and gardens but all tainted with pretentiousness and a touch of style over substance. No shower tho there could easily have been over the bath. And they like to tell you how relaaxed and laid back and friendly they are but the overall impression is one of bourgeois pent-upness. The tiny pool is hilarious - a mural of the owner looking disaffected and smug with lots of nubiles longing for his attention.

Sorry - loved the location and some parts of the house - but if they spent as much time loving their guests as they do themselves it would be amazing

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leostevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Owner at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you for reporting on your stay at Fingals, we were delighted that you liked the gardens and house. I am not sure which room you stayed in but all baths have showers over, if not separate showers and we have checked them all to make sure that they are working properly.

The mural was, in fact, a 50th birthday surprise from a very old artist friend who took great trouble over it – we honestly had no idea what he was going to show, I am sorry you didn’t find it to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed at Fingals for an old friends 50th. Having heard about this idyllic retreat for years, I very must looking forwards to my visit, and I was not let down.
Fingals surpassed my expectation. They catered for around 80 of us for two days, and everyone of us felt at home. The hotel is beautiful and aches for you to just settle in and relax. The gardens are beautiful, and you are never without something to see or do, if you would so wish. I encourage anyone who loves the out doors and a traditional feeling, relaxing break to head straight to Finals.
A very big thank you to Richard and Sheila, and all at Fingals.

Room Tip: Have a look on their website, do the online tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dittisham
2.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
2.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 52 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kerswell Farmhouse
Kerswell Farmhouse
#1 of 2 in Cornworthy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingals Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingals Boutique B&B

Property: Fingals Boutique B&B
Address: Coombe Manor Farm, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eccentric, quirky, unique, relaxed, different - Fingals is all of these and much, much more! A handsome Grade 2 listed Devon farmhouse which is mentioned in the Doomesday Book, Fingals has been family owned and run by Richard Johnston for the past 30 years. Richard has lovingly transformed the farmhouse into a luxurious country house bed and breakfast with self-catering cottages nestling in a tranquil Devon valley set back from the River Dart. As soon as you step through the front door you experience the warmth, relaxation and comfort which seems to hug you as you arrive! It is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fingals Hotel Dittisham
Fingals Boutique B&B Dittisham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing