We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty dishevelled what could be Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fingals Boutique B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Dittisham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The animals in and out of the kitchen is very off putting! Shame with a thorough clean could be gorgeous! Needs money spent on it and the blinkers taken off the owners!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rosebud07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

The best hotel in Devon. location superb, food wonderful, ambience is just wonderful. Rooms are all diferent and cosy,,,,,

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidsgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was our second visit to Fingals, (11 years apart). We booked the self catering Barn for two of us and our well behaved dog, on arrival we were so disappointed there were 2 inch long white dog hairs everywhere!! all over the floor and the two rugs and on the worn out sofa's. It was obvious that the floor had not been vacuumed at all! our dog travels to top places everywhere with us she comes complete with her own bed - we expected for a charge of over £850 at the very least clean accommodation. Place was well equipped, and the location is fantastic however accommodation was generally at an unacceptable level of cleanliness and generally had a run down feel - a lot of time and money needs to be spent to bring this accommodation up to standard. - very disappointing.

Room Tip: In future I would only travel to accommodation using the star rating, because then at least it must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JennybabeBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Owner at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

We were sorry to read your review especially as you never mentioned anything to us while you were here, even when we asked you if everything was alright. We only realised that you were not happy after you had left, when we read what had been written in our guest book. We did immediately refund you £100 but we would have liked to have been given the opportunity to put things right at the beginning of your holiday! Fingals is a very old 17thC Grade 2 listed building and we take great pride in what we do and we do our very best to keep everything up to as high a standard as possible. Guests staying in the self-catering do have the use of all the hotel facilities which includes the heated swimming-pool, a sauna, hot tub and gym and the grass tennis court. We do allow dogs to stay and sadly not all of them are as well behaved as your dog but what can we say...?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was our 3rd visit to Fingals. As we got out of the car after a 5 hour journey I felt the stresses and strains of London life drain away. It really is the most relaxing and wonderful place and I was so very pleased to be back.
We are a family of 4 with 2 girls aged 11 and 14. We booked to come back last August and the girls had been looking forward to it all year. They were, of course, not disappointed. Richard and Sheila have created a wonderful environment for families without turning it into the kind of 'family friendly hotel' that feels overrun with small children. My girls felt instantly at home, taking themselves off to the games room to hunt for other kids to make friends with. They enjoyed the tennis and swimming pool whilst we enjoyed the chance to read and chat in the beautiful gardens. Our week was everything we had hoped for, peace and quiet, lot's for the kids to do, lovely people and very delicious food. Sheila and Richard and are wonderful hosts, ever helpful as are the rest of the Fingals staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_Asa-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I had my doubts when we were driving down the one lane road. I still had doubts when it wasn't perfectly obvious where "Reception" was. And still more when no one was around to help us get checked in. But once we were checked in and shown to our room, all the doubts were erased. The room was large, comfortable, and overlooked the beautiful grounds. The bathroom had a separate tub and shower (none of those horrid, clingy shower curtains), and two sinks.

There is a cozy bar to sit it (it is the only place where the wi-fi works) and if no one is staffing it, you are welcome to help yourself and write it down. We loved the "make yourself at home" attitude.

We were on an outing with three other couples, so our group got the big table in the dining room for breakfast and dinner. The meals were wonderful. (I've even had to take back some of the things I've said about British beef.) If you asked for something they didn't have, (horseradish sauce or kippers for breakfast) it would be there the next day. Our first day there, we didn't realize that they only did breakfast and dinner - no lunch. Sheila made sandwiches and salads for our group that were fantastic!

There are interesting things to look at tucked into every nook and cranny. (That goes for the interior and exterior.)

The one thing I would change - I'm not much of an opera fan. I find it distracting. I would play something else in the afternoons.

But overall, all of us loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BarbaraE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was our 10th visit to Fingals. With a statistic like that it should be enough to just leave it there, but each time it seems to get better. We go to Devon pretty much every year and finish our holiday with a couple of nights here as a special treat; the kids (2 girls, now 8 and 11) look forward to it more than any other part of the holiday - meeting other kids there, the animals, the pool, the food and general all round friendliness have all consistently hit the mark - and we (the grown-ups) can relax safe in the knowledge that with them entertained there is nothing to stop us completely chilling out for a final couple of days before returning to the humdrum routine of life in the smoke. All in all, a fantastic paradise of a hide-out (because the real world will never find you here). Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

it's difficult to describe this place... When we arrived i felt ridiculously relieved to the point of shedding a tear. When you holiday with children things can be, well, a little fraught. If expectations are high then your know that your own anxiety levels will be also. But not at Fingals. It isn't that it is slack but the grounds, facilities and type of service meant that our children were, simply put, happy. It was just great. We loved the tennis court, the swimming pool, the endless breakfasts and Monica. The way that Richard has put the place together is fantastic. Sort of fearless. I could have done with less naked women adorning the walls but you can always claim that it's art. It is magical really. My only hesitation is that it felt at times rather like a club that i wasn't a member of, but they can't stop me from going back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katrinaToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dittisham
3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
194 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
493 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingals Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingals Boutique B&B

Address: Coombe Manor Farm, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range: £91 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eccentric, quirky, unique, relaxed, different - Fingals is all of these and much, much more! A handsome Grade 2 listed Devon farmhouse which is mentioned in the Doomesday Book, Fingals has been family owned and run by Richard Johnston for the past 34 years. Richard has lovingly transformed the farmhouse into a luxurious country house bed and breakfast with self-catering cottages nestling in a tranquil Devon valley set back from the River Dart. As soon as you step through the front door you experience the warmth, relaxation and comfort which seems to hug you as you arrive! It is a home away from home. Fingals offers 5 self catering units and 3 bed and breakfast rooms which share the facilities yet are all completely private. There is a heated swimming pool, grass tennis court, Games Room and Gym for all our guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fingals Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fingals Hotel Dittisham
Fingals Boutique B&B Dittisham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing