We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fingals Boutique B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Dittisham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Lovely quiet room; very comfortable four poster bed. Lots of spaces to relax quietly both inside and outside the hotel. Amazing swimming poool decor. Very friendly approach to bar and other service, - all there if we wanted it but no anxious fussing if we didn't! The owners have put a lot of work into finding and providing information about local walks, which was really helpful. Very impressive breakfast. We hope to return.

Room Tip: We chose from the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

Fingals is unique hotel with warmth, character and charm. Our accommodation in the Folly was very spacious and comfortable. Where else can you get a two-room suite next to a bubbling brook which also looks out onto a perfectly maintained grass tennis court in the middle of an English garden? Wow - positively surreal.

There are surprises around every corner throughout the buildings and grounds ; the decor has real artistic merit, with an abundance of lovely paintings, sculpture and original architectural features.

The hotel is nestled deep in the countryside in a large listed farmhouse which has been lovingly and sympathetically restored and added to. If you expect a concierge, £12 cocktails and a well-appointed shoebox for a room (I’m talking Four Seasons, Hilton or other 4-5 star hotel chain) do yourself a favour and get a dose of what Fingals is dishing out liberally - an almost tangible vibe that invites you to slow down, relax, and savour what is best in life.

There is a great wine list and deliciously fresh and inventive cooking served in a gorgeous dining room. The owners Richard and Sheila are a delight, and are just as likely to pour you a complimentary nightcap (..or two, thanks again Richard) as give you all the space and freedom you might need in their amazing hotel.

I think the few negative reviews on TripAdvisor are unjust. Anyone who wants to pick holes in the offering clearly “didn’t get it”. If you dislike quirkiness and want something mainstream, sterile and devoid of style, stay in one of those concrete monoliths. But if you have ever had a bohemian bone in your body or just want to immerse yourself in tranquillity, Fingals is the place to go.

Room Tip: "The Folly" is very private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MauiAgainPleaseUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Fingals is situated in the middle of nowhere!! Down lots of country roads you come to a gorgeous house with beautiful gardens. We had a family room booked which had a queen size bed and an upstairs which had 2 singles in so we had some privacy. We had an evening meal there on the first night which was cooked really nice. It was filling for us so we did not bother with dessert. Breakfast was nice too, not too much or too little. There were cereal or yoghurt or fruit, croissants and toast and anything you wanted cooked. Just the right amount again using nice food!!!
Richard and Sheila were welcoming. Kate was lovely too. They offered us help at any time. Not too in your face either!!! We had an enjoyable stay in a lovely house! Thank you!!

Room Tip: No tip needed for a good room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michyandmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have just had five very pleasant nights at Fingals. The style is relaxed but the owners make sure you have everything you want without over doing it. A lot of thought and hard work has gone into creating a balance between comfort and service but with a wonderful feeling that the guests can decide how much interaction they want.

There are no schedules at Fingals just a relaxed tranquil environment. The rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. The food is wonderful and the quality of ingredients second to none.

The property is just magnificent. It is in an excellent location and close enough to discover South Devon.

This is our third visit to Fingals and it remains a joy. I recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in South Devon, either a holiday or for a short break, you won't regret it.

Jerry Smith






The

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Having just returned from a lovely weekend at Fingals – I believe that the fingals experience is truly unique. A beautiful setting with individual charm and character make it feel, like you can really escape from the world.

We stayed in the folly and made use of the pool and sauna on a daily basis, the relaxed atmosphere is helped by serving breakfast up until 11am and the gorgeous scenery and grounds. We awoke every morning to the birds singing and the sound of the river running behind us – wonderful.

Although the booking was bed and breakfast we decided to eat in the restaurant on the first evening and had a gorgeous meal with relaxed and friendly service. We were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble.

Next time I stay I would like to try some of the other rooms – as each is completely individual.

There are plenty of places to visit in the area and the easy-come and go attitude of the owners at Fingals makes the whole experience truly special.

Room Tip: The Folly is very rustic – but that is part of its charm, you really feel at one with nature. Perhap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretchen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful break there., the atmosphere is welcoming and un pretentious. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. it is one large comfy home with energy and importance directed to the guests and their needs.
Certainly and thankfully without any of the 'Large Chain' initiatives of conspicuous sterility.I would highly recommend a stay to anyone who does not look for soul less anonymity.. Fingals is simply Fun, Happy and extremely cosy. (With the best Breakfast)
Liz Harrison

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

What a great stay! For those who are looking for somewhere unique and of real character; there is nowhere else like it - and we loved it. Charming, quirky, laid back, this old Devon Manor perfect. A roaring wood burning stove for chilly days, a panelled dining room, library brimming with books, and our lovely bedrooms, best described as smart boho chic .......... and everywhere there is art and sculpture – There might be the odd cobweb or fleck of dust but no one is perfect...... home from home really! Breakfast is just the best, and the evening dinner menu was delicious too – organic locally sourced vegetables, meat from the local butcher, and lovely fresh fish. As guests, we chose to mingle and eat together at the long refectory table in the dining room. The gardens are rambling and are a delightful place to sit in the evening sunshine with a glass of wine and a good book. There is a pretty conservatory styled heated pool which our grand-children adored. I recommend this delightful hotel to anyone who just wants to get away from it all, who are not in a hurry and just want to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 560SarahJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dittisham
2.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
323 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#4 of 5 in Dittisham
71 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fingals Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingals Boutique B&B

Address: Coombe Manor Farm, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range: £93 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eccentric, quirky, unique, relaxed, different - Fingals is all of these and much, much more! A handsome Grade 2 listed Devon farmhouse which is mentioned in the Doomesday Book, Fingals has been family owned and run by Richard Johnston for the past 34 years. Richard has lovingly transformed the farmhouse into a luxurious country house bed and breakfast with self-catering cottages nestling in a tranquil Devon valley set back from the River Dart. As soon as you step through the front door you experience the warmth, relaxation and comfort which seems to hug you as you arrive! It is a home away from home. Fingals offers 5 self catering units and 3 bed and breakfast rooms which share the facilities yet are all completely private. There is a heated swimming pool, grass tennis court, Games Room and Gym for all our guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fingals Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fingals Hotel Dittisham
Fingals Boutique B&B Dittisham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing