We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fingals Boutique B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Dittisham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nr Oban
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully welcoming”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here in late September for a weekend and had a wonderful time. we had an incredibly warm welcome and were very well looked after. The breakfast was huge and delicious. The atmosphere enormously relaxing and totally un-corporate and hence very refreshing. If you are expecting branded goods and slick PR led "hospitality" this may not be the place for you. If you want to stay somewhere welcoming and relaxing here it is..

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamWhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    26
    18
    20
    14
See reviews for
76
80
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Given that Fingals is described as a peaceful haven of relaxation we were rather shocked and quite upset to discover a building site directly on the doorstep of our self-catering accommodation.

A roof construction was being carried out directly opposite which meant that we were subjected to drilling, banging and sawing on a daily basis, not conducive to the relaxation and peace we were seeking and expecting,or how the ambience is described on the website. We did voice our concerns and said we were not happy and the owners did apologise and agree to start at 10:00am instead of 9:00am. However the apology did not detract from the fact that not only did we have look out on to an eyesore, but we had three men on a roof who could look directly into our barn,whilst making one hell of a racket !!

Am I missing something here or would it not have been common courtesy to have warned us prior to our arrival, so we could have at least had the choice to find a more peaceful alternative??? I can't comprehend how this lack of consideration towards our comfort was deemed acceptable.

The builders appeared to also be staying at Fingals so clearly this project had been in the planning for a while. Surely it would be wise to close the establishment whilst building work is being carried out rather then take guest's money under false pretences.

Room Tip: When booking please check that a building project is not underway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a perfect weekend at Fingals with friends. Everything from the gorgeous chocolate brownies on arrival to breakfast as we left was perfect, it all lived up to the promise of a home away from home, we will definitely be back. Thank you Richard & Sheila and Leaf the dog!!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We had the pleasure of having a 5 day trip in this most oustanding secluded hotel in Diddisham in Devon. On arriving Sheila & Richard made the three of us (my husband and Archie the dog) most welcome. I have to say its a breath of fresh air to stay in a truly eclectic place where the pace of life is relaxed laid back and you have NO mobile phone signal. I never thought I could live without a mobile but the week was bliss. Breakfast was when you decided to wake up in the morning. There was no cleaners trying to get into your room or hoovering around outside the door. The evenings were spent sitting in front of the fire and we had two truly outstanding meals cooked by Richard which were 'second to none'. We will be back. If you need to chill and relax then the laid back approach of Fingals is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Actually the second night we had the small hotel to ourseleves so we had a good look around. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan7757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed two nights in Fingals with friends - their first visit though we've stayed several times before. Our friends had the stunning Stream Room, an oak barn construction overlooking the stream. We had the spacious Room 1 for the first night and rather cramped Room 3 on the second. Fingals is a great place to unwind - you are made to feel like a house guest. Comfy sofas, an honesty bar, dogs and cats, roaring log fires. I recommend having dinner at the communal table - we joined two other couples who were together plus a third couple and were soon [after a glass of good wine] getting on like a house on fire. The food is good, as is the service. There's plenty to help you chill - an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, billiards, tennis net on the lawn, billiards, a tv/cinema room, library and art gallery next door. It's not cheap, but well worth the value. The owners, Richard and Sheila, are very laid back - my wife and I always joke whether they will remember us on our next visit [guess the answer!]. Fingals is seemingly in hte middle of nowhere - stunning Dittsham is a lovely 20 minute walk away.

Room Tip: The Stream Room and Folly are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Enchanting place , in the core of Devon , very beautifull country side ; seems you are in the middle of nowhere - it's advisable to have a GPS to reach the place . Excellent food , beautifull garden ,
and nice welcome ! good place to explore the area and make nice walks .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre-Davide-Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed en famille at Fingals for a week in July to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday and loved every moment of it! In all we were 8 adults and 6 children and everybody had a good time. The only thing that let us down was the weather but Fingals provided so much to do for children and adults that you could never be bored! The children swam every day in the covered pool with it's quirky murals to look at whilst swimming. There was a little gym with machines for the keep fit addicts plus a sauna for sweating out all the wine you had drunk the night before! A grass tennis court saw some use in between the showers and the outside ping-pong table was also very popular. Inside in the sitting area all the board games were provided with chess and backgammon being played by old and young every evening before and after dinner.

The breakfasts and dinners were delicious. As we were such a large group we had a dining room to ourselves (there were two) so it was like eating in your own country house. The choice was small but we enjoyed every meal we had at Fingals (5 dinners and every breakfast) and especially the freshness of the vegetables and fish. Breakfasts were wonderful - a choice of local juices (apple and apple and pear), fruit compotes and yoghurts, good cereals plus childrens favourites. Cooked breakfasts were of the very best local sausages, eggs etc. and cooked any way you wanted - superb!

The rooms were very comfortable with top quality bedding and everything you wanted within. Bathrooms had good size baths (we were in the eco suite and had a bath in our room overlooking the river!) Products (all eco) were provided for bath/shower and body lotion - lovely!

Lastly but most important were the staff. They were all young and friendly and looked after everybody extremely well. We especially enjoyed Hannah from California's homemade brownies which appeared with tea or with coffee after dinner. Richard and Sheila, the owners of Fingals, have succeeded in creating a wonderful friendly atmosphere at Fingals which they have restored in such a comfortable and artistic manner. It's more like staying in a lovely relaxed country house than a typical hotel. Drinks at the bar are 'help yourself' if no one's around and sign a chit. You can stay up drinking and playing backgammon to the small hours should you wish with noone giving you dirty looks! Well done Richard and Sheila for such a quirky, comfortable and original hotel!

Room Tip: They are all comfortable, some in the main house, some like the eco suite on its own in the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gertrudeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Hello and thank you for such a super review! We loved having you all to stay - the children were delightful and we enjoyed your company very much. We will pass your compliments on to Hannah who is now back in California - no excuse not to return though as she left us the recipe! We do hope to see you back at Fingals one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dittisham
3.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
984 reviews
2.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
303 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
187 reviews
11.9 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingals Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingals Boutique B&B

Property: Fingals Boutique B&B
Address: Coombe Manor Farm, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eccentric, quirky, unique, relaxed, different - Fingals is all of these and much, much more! A handsome Grade 2 listed Devon farmhouse which is mentioned in the Doomesday Book, Fingals has been family owned and run by Richard Johnston for the past 30 years. Richard has lovingly transformed the farmhouse into a luxurious country house bed and breakfast with self-catering cottages nestling in a tranquil Devon valley set back from the River Dart. As soon as you step through the front door you experience the warmth, relaxation and comfort which seems to hug you as you arrive! It is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fingals Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fingals Hotel Dittisham
Fingals Boutique B&B Dittisham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing