We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there a better way to end the summer?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fingals Boutique B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Dittisham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Dropping in on Fingals Hotel before we returned home from Cornwall was the best idea we'd had. This place wraps you in a sort of magic bubble where honest, old fashioned pursuits like croquet, jigsaw puzzles and 'high tea' still exist. My daughter thinks that the front door of Fingals leads to Narnia. On just our second visit we were treated like old friends and sent home with cosy, jolly memories to give us the strength to cope with the real world of jobs and school uniforms!
As we left there was a marquee going up on the croquet lawn for a wedding reception - we wished we'd been invited - what a magical place to stage a party.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poppy186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hello Poppy, Of course we were thrilled to see you again and to meet your gorgeous children this time - hurry back to Narnia just as soon as you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel is full of charm and character and really out of the way. Great location down narrow winding Devon lanes. Breakfasts were interesting; no marmalade, empty HP sauce bottles, poor attention to detail.

The rooms were OK if you like dust and cobwebs. Housekeeping could do with a shake up - towels put in the bath for changing were merely folded and put on the cold towel rail. Net result a wet and dirty towel (& no certainty it was yours in the first place!) for the next shower. Shower tiles need cleaning of mould.

A quirky place, shades of Fawlty Towers

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinclair0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

We’re rather surprised at your comment about breakfast when you said at the time how delicious it was and laughed with us at the fact that our lovely Austrian girls thought that apricot jam was the same as marmalade! We rather wish that you had asked at the time if you needed clean towels every day instead of writing about it after you have gone home, you could have had as many as you liked.
I hope you find somewhere not quite so 'quirky' for your next hotel visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have just returned home from a recent week long stay at the Mill with my wife and two of our three daughters.

Fingals will live long in our memories; the pool, the gardens, honesty bar, indulgent dining rooms, lovely breakfasts and excellent dinners. Guests interesting, intriguing and company was good as were the staff - all friendly and very helpful. Special note of thanks are due to Richard and Sheila - your hard work and geniality are very much appreciated.

Location, hotel and grounds all stunning. Within hours of arrival the humdrum of life a distant memory........a unique experience.

Fingals, genuinely, enriches our lives. We shall be returning again.

Room Tip: Cannot see a downside to any of the rooms - all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrRelaxed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi Mr Relaxed – we’ll be really happy to welcome you back any time. Your visit with the girls was such fun and it was wonderful to see you all joining in with everything and making friends with everyone here. We’re looking forward to your next visit already.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I recently made a booking over the phone and was very disappointed by the poor customer service - Richard was far from the convivial and welcoming host one would expect from a higher range B&B. Furthermore, during the middle of our phone conversation, he answered another call from another customer which I thought considerably discourteous. I was left fuming and after some 24 hours of reflection, I decided I did not wish to depart with my £140 for a man who could barely summon up the interpersonal skills one would expect from someone in the hospitality trade. I've booked through many places recommended by Alistair Sawday but on this occasion, my experience on the phone left me unimpressed. They also charged me a £20 administration fee despite being within the 2 week cancellation period which also left me reeling.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank TarkaTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We’re not quite sure how to reply to you as you obviously have a completely different impression of our brief telephone conversation upon which you base this extraordinary review. It was very difficult to understand and to hear you so that when our other line started ringing the politest thing to do was to answer it and take a number to call back, we were then able to give you our undivided attention.
Saying that you stayed in August and travelled with friends is obviously completely untrue as, by your own admission, you have never been anywhere near Fingals.
We hope that you found somewhere more suitable to your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The other reviews are correct about the location of Fingals - it is peaceful and surrounded by beautiful countryside once you have negotiated the narrow overgrown lanes praying that nothing is coming the other way. The first impressions are good with the tennis court and beautiful gardens. It is described as a unique experience and it certainly is that. First impressions of wonder do begin to diminish when you really look at how tired looking the place actually is. It is desperately in need of a lick of paint in many places, an investment in some newer furnishings and more importantly a complete spring clean. Our bedroom had dead flies in the bathroom and in one alcove in the bedroom there was some broken glass or similar which had been there so long it had gathered its own layer of dust surrounded by more dead flies and cobwebs. Under the bed it was truly unpleasant given that the bed was on castors and could be easily cleaned underneath if housekeeping had taken on the task. A positive - the bed was comfortable and clean but in the five days we were there we had the same towels and not once was the bath or wash basin cleaned. Not good enough - this is not cheap accommodation. Granted the beds were made but that was it. Another positive was the toiletries made by Sheila they were very nice. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss about whether you would get what you ordered but when it did come it was of a decent quality and there was an array of nice preserves and juices. Although toast and croissants could come at any time. The dining area by the cinema had some pretty impressive cobwebs up the window and we wondered each day whether they would be removed but they stayed put for our whole stay. I know its an old place and spiders will work wonders but seriously these cobwebs had been there for some time. We did not stay for evening dinner because we went out each day and didn't want to commit to returning at any given time and also the cost was too expensive particularly when having to pay for four. We felt that this excluded us some what from the hospitality that others rave about. We were clearly not worthy of Richard's time but his wife was pleasant and did make conversation. Yes it is laid back but that is no excuse for uncleanliness. It was disappointing to encounter a very grubby indoor play area with its cobwebs and the table tennis by the back kitchen door was surrounded by broken furniture. As for the hot tub you could not sit on one chair in the lobby area because it was literally covered in many dead flies. They had laid in situ for some considerable time. The floor was filthy not just by a few days of wet feet but muck and debris for some time. Similarly the swimming pool had seen better days and needed a good sweep although the water was warm. The photographs and web site are very impressive and actually sold us on this property but the shots are clearly not recent so be warned. On a positive we liked the cinema room and the vast choice of dvd's and the library was very impressive. It was a shame the place had such promise but really it does need a shakeup with the housekeeping. We understand people return on a regular basis and yes there are some good points but we expected better - so overall it was not for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

What a shame that you felt unable to talk to us during your stay and tell us that you were disappointed. We would have investigated your worries and if your room was not being cleaned properly would have sorted this out immediately. One of our team has, in fact, just left the hotel and the other members of staff have been made aware of your complaints and apologise but would much rather have helped you while you were here.
The ‘broken glass’ in the bedroom alcove is, in fact, a delicate, antique stained glass panel which is to be installed as part of the window. We’re sorry it was left in your way.
Our narrow, overgrown lanes do ensure that we don’t have speeding drivers which adds to the peace and charm of our secluded position, but they do, of course, worry those of a nervous disposition.
We did enjoy meeting you all and hope that you enjoy the rest of your summer holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent a very enjoyable weekend at Fingals. Genuinely different but being able to share the time with our children was great. From the moment we arrived and were able to enjoy a G &T on the lawn in the sunshine, the kids loved their supper and slept soundly enabling us to fully appreciate ours later. Lovely food, lovely location and a pool. All great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williams76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

We're delighted that you all enjoyed your weekend - cherishing memories of happy times spent with your family is what Fingals is all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Special place - we had a wonderful time. The sailing lesson at Dittisham (twenty five minute walk away) recommended by hotel was brilliant. Loved the honesty bar, the breakfasts, the hot tub, the tennis court, the general vibe. No phone signal (hooray) but there was wifi. Father and son loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damien t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

We're delighted that you both enjoyed your Swallows and Amazons weekend so much - do come back again for longer and do some more exploring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dittisham
3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
194 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
494 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingals Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingals Boutique B&B

Address: Coombe Manor Farm, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range: £91 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eccentric, quirky, unique, relaxed, different - Fingals is all of these and much, much more! A handsome Grade 2 listed Devon farmhouse which is mentioned in the Doomesday Book, Fingals has been family owned and run by Richard Johnston for the past 34 years. Richard has lovingly transformed the farmhouse into a luxurious country house bed and breakfast with self-catering cottages nestling in a tranquil Devon valley set back from the River Dart. As soon as you step through the front door you experience the warmth, relaxation and comfort which seems to hug you as you arrive! It is a home away from home. Fingals offers 5 self catering units and 3 bed and breakfast rooms which share the facilities yet are all completely private. There is a heated swimming pool, grass tennis court, Games Room and Gym for all our guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fingals Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fingals Hotel Dittisham
Fingals Boutique B&B Dittisham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing