We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hen Party Fiasco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fingals Boutique B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Dittisham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hen Party Fiasco”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Richard and his wife Sheila are, without doubt, the worst example of hoteliers any of our party had ever met anywhere. They were rude, intolerant and actually assaulted three female members of the group. Richard took one of our phones to erase video footage of his appalling behaviour and his wife locked the gates to prevent us from leaving while he erased the video! Reports to the local tourist board and the newspaper have been made and contact with the police is pending. Great place, good facilities but outrageous management. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Eccentricity has its limits

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank christ-p1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Owner at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
What can we say - Fingals is and has always been a quiet family hotel in a beautiful peaceful location, not the place for a stag or a hen party and consequently we would never normally take them ....However, when you are confronted with the following over the telephone when the booking was being made, "I am in the same business so totally understand - we are definitely not going to be noisy and badly behaved. We just want to have a dinner party on the Friday night and will be going out for our hen night on the Saturday, so no noisy, loud behaviour, promise.... " what do you do? More fool us for believing your word that you would not be noisy or boisterous. We allowed you to take two self-catering units for the weekend which are attached to the hotel. The hotel was full with other guests, one of whom had to vacate a room at 10pm on Friday night, but we left you to it .... for a while. Occupancy of our self-catering units does not give anyone the right to play the hifi at top volume and dance and scream the whole night long unless you take the whole hotel and then only by special arrangement. This would be very inconsiderate in the early evening, but at midnight ... it was beyond a joke and needless to say, fuelled by excessive alcohol, it showed complete disregard and indifference to others.
After complaints from guests, I, the owner, told you to cease the noise, stop the music and settle down. Unfortunately as you started the noise and music up again at 12.30 I had no option but to switch off the power.
With no apologies in the morning forthcoming from any of you, except for a winge about your cheese "going off" in the fridge, I gave you the option of staying as long as you paid for your two nights together with a deposit to ensure against any further disruptions.
You felt you had the right to leave there and then as I had "stopped your party and ruined your cheese" and you started loading your cars ready to drive off with less than half of your £600 paid (for ten people staying the weekend) without coming to us to discuss it and leaving us with vomit on the duvets in the barn and the outside steps to clear up as well as all the other mess.
If what you call 'being assaulted' was three young girls grabbing a case that I, a 70 year old, was holding along with a tirade of verbal abuse you would not expect from a lorry driver, then I think you are deluding yourself. As for deleting a video - as if I would know how to or had any reason to do so!
In 33 years of running a hotel I have never encountered such inconsiderate, rude, disrespectful behaviour, and for anyone reading this I can assure them that a booking like this will never ever happen again and our policy of "you can do what you like at Fingals as long as you are respectful and considerate to other's sensitivities" will always stand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    26
    17
    20
    14
See reviews for
74
80
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, Dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you are looking for Gold standard service Fingals is not for you but if you want a laidback, some might say a quirky break you have found the place. We have just returned from a weekend break and it has been fantastic. Peaceful, tranquil, hidden away down typical Devon lanes and the mobile phone does not work! Believe it, you do relax as soon as you arrive and then enjoy food you would die for. Richard and Shelia I take my hat off to you (if I had one!) Thank you from the bottom of our hearts and I know everyone says it but we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PopsWimborne_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
What a treat it was to have you here - and I know we say it all the time too - but please do come back, returning guests become friends for life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The love and devotion put into this place over the years by the owners is there for all to see. A beautifully quirky property which defies categorisation or comparison and triumphs as a result. There are glorious gardens and an abundant eclectic mix of art all over the place. If you like the certainty and uniformity of big brand hotels then this isn't for you - if only there were more hoteliers willing to follow their own path rather than try and adhere to a convention. The greeting, for my late last minute arrival, was personal and friendly. Immediately offered a drink (told to just help myself if in need of a top-up and mark my own bill) and shown to a comfortable and cosy room with a clever and luxurious bathroom. Breakfast was superb, with the tastiest mushrooms and bacon I can recall. Travelled with my dog, who was made equally welcome, and only wish we could have stayed longer. Takes some finding down the Devon lanes but isn't it always the case that the best things in life are worth a little effort?

Room Tip: Make use of the excellent website, which provides a clever insight into each of the individual rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chas29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for putting up this super review. We are always delighted when our informal style and the effort involved in making our guests feel at home is appreciated. Now that you are going to have your own home nearby you must still feel welcome for a drink at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If you are a stubborn perfectionist this might not be your kind of place. But I love Fingals for their artistic love to art, life, nature and animals. The stay there is to be celebrated and not rated really.

If you do find a spiderweb it only shows that you truly are in the deepest Devon surrounded by the trees and the stream.

Our dinner experience with them has been over the moon. Worth the price for out of the box people. Can't wait to go back and will book *the Stream* this time

Room Tip: There is a hidden surprise in most family rooms (private balcony at the Stream or private garden are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Perfect - you get it! Fingals was built for folk like you. Please come back soon - the Stream Room is awaiting your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The perfect place that combines unobtrusive service with great food, hygenic attetion to important detais i.e. Bedroom and Kitchen etc and old fashioned ambiance.

Our Boarder Collie 'Hamish' wants to go back soon to continue his education.

We were treated more like visiting best friends than new Hotel guests. Within ten minutes we were following a simple but accurate map to Dittisham over the hills and far away while our room aquired hot towels underfloor heating and flowers etc ready to greet our return.
A romantic candle lit dinner with to die for seafood selections amid the warm oak panelled dining room made our choice of venue a very happy one.

Peter and Evelyn Dilloway-Thompson Telescombe East Sussex

Room Tip: our room No4 had a great view of the garden and evening sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary treat here. It was a real pleasure to meet you - and to listen to your piano playing. Hamish seemed to make himself right at home - please bring him back next time he needs a little holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were invited to Fingals for a friend's wedding where we overtook the whole hotel. What a beautiful beautiful venue. Breakfast to order, gorgeous toiletries in the bathroom, stunning location and the perfect weekend. Loved our room, all of the gorgeous artwork and the ease with which everything was handled!
Thanks for looking after such a big group of us and making the bride and groom's day so special!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20JKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely remarks about Fingals - weddings have to be special don't they? You were so lucky with the weather - although I did hear that the Bride's mother had buried a silver fork in her garden 3 months to the day before so maybe that did the trick! Any time you fancy time out from London give us a ring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I recently stayed at Fingals hotel for the weekend as I had been invited to a family wedding so we had arranged to go all out and stay in The Barn. Upon our arrival on the Friday, we were welcomed by friendly staff who were all rushing around busily setting up the marquee and getting bits and pieces ready for the weekend. We were shown to The Barn which we fell in love with - it is decorated throughout with beautiful antiques including singer sewing machines. We had an ensuite bathroom and a family bathroom which were well equipped and clean, and they included some lovely toiletries which were made by fingals themselves, some
Of which were so good purchased to give as Christmas presents! The beds were incredibly comfortable and I had the best nights sleep I have had in a long time. The staff of the hotel set the marquee and lawn area up fantastically for the wedding we attended and no request was too big or small. They provided good quality vegetarian food which made a nice change from the usual vegetarian food you find at normal hotels ! Overall, fingals is a fantastic hotel and we are looking for any excuse to go back as soon as we can ! It's a great place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily5572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Hello Emily, It was really lovely to meet you and all your family and to see the fun you were having at the wedding. Fingals loves throwing parties so we had a great weekend too! Any special diet is never a problem and vegetarian food is a pleasure to cook so we're delighted that you enjoyed it. You don't need an excuse to indulge yourself - come back any time you like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dittisham
2.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
2.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 52 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kerswell Farmhouse
Kerswell Farmhouse
#2 of 3 in Cornworthy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingals Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingals Boutique B&B

Property: Fingals Boutique B&B
Address: Coombe Manor Farm, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eccentric, quirky, unique, relaxed, different - Fingals is all of these and much, much more! A handsome Grade 2 listed Devon farmhouse which is mentioned in the Doomesday Book, Fingals has been family owned and run by Richard Johnston for the past 30 years. Richard has lovingly transformed the farmhouse into a luxurious country house bed and breakfast with self-catering cottages nestling in a tranquil Devon valley set back from the River Dart. As soon as you step through the front door you experience the warmth, relaxation and comfort which seems to hug you as you arrive! It is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fingals Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fingals Hotel Dittisham
Fingals Boutique B&B Dittisham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing